We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landis Valley Museum

Landis Valley Museum
Ranked #8 of 71 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relax and roam through the authentic crossroads village and farms of Landis Valley as you learn the rich history of the Pennsylvania Germans of Lancaster County. Comprised of over 40 buildings on 100 acres, the museum is the guardian of 65+ varieties of heirloom seeds and the largest collection of Pennsylvania German artifacts in the U.S. Through costumed demonstrators, special events, group tours, award-winning exhibits, and educational programs for adults and children you'll come away all the more enriched by your experience here.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Landis Valley Museum is a very interesting and large museum. It's basically a small town recreated for visitors--houses of different eras, a schoolhouse, firehouse, general store, blacksmith shop, and so on. We found the blacksmith shop to be the most interesting because the smith working was very informative. I wouldn't recommend it on a very hot day, or for people with mobility issues--when we went, the walkways were dirt/gravel. Small kids probably wouldn't appreciate the museum, but for older kids and adults, it is very intriguing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank weemurree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    83
    23
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice day , glad we visited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Visited here I for the first time. It was an interesting day. Landis Valley is a walk back in time about the German immigrants who settled in Lancaster County. It's a beautiful place to learn Early German culture. You start with a 15 minute movie to get an overview of the history of the area. Then you go out to explore. The museum posts a monthly schedule of artisans and who will be there for demonstrations daily on the web. It's best if you have a specific interest to plan your visit. We did not check the web. Today though, we saw how lace was made, leather shoes were made, the blacksmiths were in, baking bread demonstration in an outdoor hearth, a tour of a typical farm house and how eggs were dyed with natural products.....onions and a purple tree pulp. I found all of the history and culture very interesting . I especially liked seeing the old school house. There are also buildings for self exploration with written guide to follow. They cater to
school groups and with advance requests will take you to see inside the collection building for a private tour. The yellow barn can also be rented out for events. This museum is worth the visit.
I don't know the group rates but admission is $12 adult $10 senior 65 plus and AAA rate children $8. There is no food to purchase except for a limited selection of drinks. There is a large picnic grove where you can enjoy the farm and enjoy a packed lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TigerLily1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cool Place for learning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Landis Valley Museum is a great learning place for Families for PA History especially associated with the Colonial and Civil War era farming. A lot of artifacts to see and demonstrations to watch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMT131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, informative and enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The curators and everyone who works at the museum enjoys sharing its history and artifacts with a great deal of knowledge, reverence and enthusiasm. A hidden gem for families and solo travelers alike, full of interesting, practical information in the beautiful farmlands of Lancaster County.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
339 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Up close look at PA Dutch history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were able to visit Landis Valley Museum this past Charter Day, where admission is free. There are lots of buildings to see (some had guides in them). It was very muddy (obviously as the snow is melting). However, my children failed to take my advice and wear "mud" boots. So, they were more focused on how muddy their shoes were getting. All of the guides that we encountered were friendly and informative. I would think that Landis Valley would be ideal for families with pre-teen children.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank michellelynnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landis Valley Museum also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Landis Valley Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing