We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat and historical village”

Landis Valley Museum
Ranked #7 of 72 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relax and roam through the authentic crossroads village and farms of Landis Valley as you learn the rich history of the Pennsylvania Germans of Lancaster County. Comprised of over 40 buildings on 100 acres, the museum is the guardian of 65+ varieties of heirloom seeds and the largest collection of Pennsylvania German artifacts in the U.S. Through costumed demonstrators, special events, group tours, award-winning exhibits, and educational programs for adults and children you'll come away all the more enriched by your experience here.
Roanoke
Level Contributor
255 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A neat and historical village”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I toured the Landis Valley Village and Farm Museum on Thursday, September 5, 2013. I enjoyed the wagon ride that was pulled by horses. There were some nice exhibits in the museum and the village. I enjoyed this historic hotel as well as the feel of the village. I would recommend others to take a stop by here and explore.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Touring16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    87
    24
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“There are a lot of better places to visit”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

On a weekday after Labor Day, few buildings were open. Very informative blacksmith and general store "manager", but that was it. Don't go with little ones; they'll be bored out of their minds. Call ahead to see if anything is open that day before coming. As other reviewer said, can't see how AAA rated this as a gem. Definitely NOT for our visit. May be of interest to the admirers of antiques and "old stuff" people. Farm equipment display would have been much better if we were farmers and/or the equipment all had labels to tell us what it was. There was nobody around even in the gift shop when we walked in there. Not sure what goes on there when the museum is actually "open for business"; but their main attraction appears to be as a banquet/reception location (barn and fire house). Skip it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice--but weather was too Hot to really enjoy”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stopped here on our way back home for our anniversary trip. It was extremely hot and humid. We paid the 12.00 each, and we went on a self guided tour. It was nice to see the buildings, but a lot of them we could not go into. There are picnic tables to enjoy if you want to bring your own lunch. (no other food is available, unless you by snacks at the gift shop) We liked the air conditioned exhibits inside and the general store, and the gift shop. I think we would have enjoyed it better on a spring/fall day. Also, they charge you to walk around and look at everything, but no one asked to see our tickets, and we could have just walked in onto the grounds, because there was a lot of easy access to the grounds with out even paying?--so what's up with that?--we probally could have saved 24.00 by doing just that!--but we were honest!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Do not go between 12-1”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Having been many interactive historical communities (Willisburf, Sturbridge, Shaker Mill, Plymouth, the DuPont property whose name is escaping me) I am shocked that AAA listed this place as a gem in their guide. First, the interpreters all take lunch between 12-1, and needless to say we arrived a few minutes after noon. Why they don't stagger things is beyond me. Also most buildings are closed -- the guide says self guided, but all that means it is looking through a window. My daughter was so excited to see the school house, but you can't enter that either. When the general store did open I will say that the guide was very nice and knowledgeable. The wedding dress exhibit in the visitor center is nice, but overall the price is a bit high for walking around pretty buildings that are predominately closed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suze412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice stop over”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were driving home and decided to take a stop over. We found this cozy little museum. There are volunteers in certain areas that give historical information about the period of time. It was wonderful to see how this farm area and homes have been preserved. It definitely gave a good perspective of how more simple times were. Really enjoyed this!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bklyngirl312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landis Valley Museum also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Landis Valley Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing