We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Museum for adults”

Landis Valley Museum
Ranked #8 of 71 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relax and roam through the authentic crossroads village and farms of Landis Valley as you learn the rich history of the Pennsylvania Germans of Lancaster County. Comprised of over 40 buildings on 100 acres, the museum is the guardian of 65+ varieties of heirloom seeds and the largest collection of Pennsylvania German artifacts in the U.S. Through costumed demonstrators, special events, group tours, award-winning exhibits, and educational programs for adults and children you'll come away all the more enriched by your experience here.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Museum for adults”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The museum was more geared for the adults than kids. It happen to be open during our visit. There was not much walking around inside but it was nice for the adults. Good historical stuff to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    84
    24
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went there in February and even though the weather was not the greatest, we still had a lot of fun. They had designated houses where you could go on your own and either look in from the door or go in and look around. They also offered a free tour and we were the only ones taking it so we got a private tour of 6 of the houses. I thought the tour was very interesting and even my boyfriend who doesn't like museums loved it, mainly because it was pretty interactive. Definitely recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tydrukuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarryville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Tour”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This tour is relaxing to take as you can take your time and emphasize areas of greater interests. Very well maintained grounds and inside building of it's era. Tour guides dressed in it's era can be very hot over summer. Beautiful artistry items made in years gone by.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pretty grounds. Interesting buildings to tour. Nice events in the Fsll. Excellent place to visit for a relaxing afternoon. Must see for tourists and locals.

Helpful?
1 Thank paa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I enjoyed myself!!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I probably haven't enjoyed myself this much in awhile...little shops manned by reenactors who told us all about life in Landis Valley years ago. Blacksmith, general store, rifle shop, and I really liked the tin shop!
Then we had a meal in a barn and we were visited the Belsnikel (look it up)...LOL It is a Pa, Dutch visitor before Christmas to judge the kids! What a great visit!
I even enjoyed the gift shop! Bought some candy!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckfrombath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landis Valley Museum also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Landis Valley Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing