We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mennonite Information Center

Mennonite Information Center
Ranked #9 of 71 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Today, a world-wide influence emanates from the Mennonite InformationCenter. Not only do more than 75,000 visitors come each year from allnationalities, ethnic backgrounds and religious persuasions, the Center receives 8,000 hits per month on its Internet Web site.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you have interest in the Mennonites and the Amish and their differences, The Mennonite Historical Society and Mennonite Information Center (they are right next to each other) are a nice stop. They are located right next to the Tanger Outlets, so if Mom wants to shop and Dad and the kids need something to do, this is a nice place to visit. The Information center has two video presentations and a small display, the Historical Center has a small museum. Good places to kill about 2 hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ily911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    74
    21
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very nice experience that I will come back to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Full disclosure: I am a Christian, but I really imagine that this would be interesting even for someone of a different fairh.

My wife, 16 year old and I visited the center and took the tabernacle tour. The tour was very interesting and informative and really brought the tabernacle to life for me.

We also saw the movie about the Mennonites and the Amish. Again, very informative and well done. It is shown as a three screen video presentation.

Great time. Great value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaviorPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pnwtoc
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Guides are very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped here to pick up our guide and to see the Tabernacle reproduction. We spent 3 hours with our guide. She took us all over the area. I have no idea what we would have done in Amish country if not for her. I have no idea how other people tour the area without a guide. She was very knowledgeable of the Amish ways. She took us away from the touristy places to where the Amish farms really were. You can’t tour an Amish home, but you can see their farms and how they live. We stopped at several of their stores to shop and meet several Amish people.

Our guide gave us one very interesting tip. If the sign says “Amish” on it, then it’s not real Amish. The Amish people don’t refer to themselves as Amish. If they are selling something they just have a sign saying what it is (homemade jams and jellies, woodworking, homemade quilts, etc). But it won’t say Amish. That’s how you can tell the difference between authentic and something trying to attract tourists. That’s not to say that a tour of a farm or something labeled Amish can’t be good or informative, but it won’t be run by Amish people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pnwtoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Tabernacle Brings the Old Testament to Life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We enjoyed seeing the replica of the tabernacle at the Mennonite Center. It is nicely done and the tour director was very knowledgeable and passionate about her faith. The brief video did a nice job of explaining Mennonite history and the differences between Mennonites and Amish. This tour (which took about an hour) was worth the modest $7.50 investment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zarleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bible Scholars Rejoice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Mennonite Information Center has a full-scale replica of the Tabernacle described in the Bible. A well-narrarated tour truly brings the Old Testament to life. From the sacrificial altar to the lamp stand and Ark of the Covenant, I have a much better "vision" of what the Tabernacle was made of and how it was used.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trucksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mennonite Information Center also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Mennonite Information Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing