We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be GREAT! ... but paperthin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Could be GREAT! ... but paperthin walls”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Room 435 has a magical portal in the walls, which makes it seem as though your neighbors in 433 and 437 are sitting in bed with you, talking. In fact it's so magical it's as if the room doesn't have walls. Stayed for four days through 3 different guests, and heard about Uncle Larry's malignant tumor and subsequent hospitalization, the awful interior decorating job that Kathy's sister Martha had done in the living room of the house in Maine, how awful the mother in law's dress was at the wedding that took place during our stay (like, really really awful, apparently), and a bad deal someone made on a home loan. I seriously could recite to you first names of everyone that stayed in that room, and here's the thing: they weren't talking loud. They were having normal conversations, some even quietly, as they were sad conversations. My family members who were also staying at the hotel, in different rooms (who also had thin walls) came to listen to our thin walls... one even stood up on the desk and tapped around the ceiling, convinced there was a hole somewhere letting sound through. I've stayed a lot of places and never had such thin walls, so, like I said, must be magical portals.

Other than that, if you could sleep in this hotel, it would be awesome. I love clean bedrooms, the microwave and coffeemaker, the free internet, lots of good water pressure & heat, and the amenities at the front desk, like food and medicine for sale, great complimentary breakfast, a business center with free printing, and a little fireplace and lounge. All these things would be SO awesome! If you could sleep at night without hearing about tumors and wedding attire.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 435.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copy_that
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    202
    53
    19
    10
See reviews for
326
201
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Love this place! Staff is extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. Beds are very comfortable. Physical condition of the facility is exemplary. Meets or exceeds the conditions of the few top-end resorts where I've stayed. Can't wait to get back. Only three very minor complaints that I mention only in the hope they might be addressed: 1. add Turner Classic Movies to the TV lineup 2. no in-room safe 3. desk chair doesn't rise high enough for my 6 foot frame None of these is a deal-breaker. To repeat: I love this place and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at this property over the Columbus Day weekend. We had booked a 2 Queen bed room. We were given a King Bed with a pullout. The pullout was so poor and sagging that my 13 year old daughter could not sleep in it and came into the King Bed. Because it was so late we did not come down to discuss with the front desk and should not have had to. We expect more from a Hampton Inn.

When we went to shower in the am before breakfast, there was no hot water. Hotel staff informed us that they were having trouble with the hot water when the hotel was fully occupied.

For the next night we were switched to a 2 Queen Room with the hope that it would be better. Although the bedding was better, the hot water in the morning was still an issue.

The breakfast lacked low-fat or healthy options and was not refilled too quickly. The location of the hotel is great and it is easy to get to most attractions.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, but the failings of the property were too great. Although our first night was comped on the Hampton guarantee, I cannot recommend staying here as I would not come back in the future. I would much rather pay for my stay and enjoy my time in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nativenewyorker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ & NMB
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. We especially liked the comfort and cleanliness of the room. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. The staff was constantly bringing our hot, fresh items and cleaning the area. Also had coffee available all the time--including both a breakfast blend and a stronger roast one that I loved.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Besides the wonderful staff and great breakfast, here is my reply to Hampton's request for my opinion:

1. The room (and the entire hotel - our compliments to the staff) was spotless, but the room itself did have a quite powdery smell of air freshener when we entered. This odor did disappear over the next several hours, but was strong enough to be somewhat annoying to us - who are actually somewhat tolerant to such odors, but it would have been devastating to anyone with a sinus condition.

2. The mattress was new and comfortable enough with it's padding - but it was SOOO lightweight that it kept sliding around over the box spring. Something that I've never experienced before at a Hampton Inn property.

3. The extremely helpful and friendly gal at the front desk when we checked in needs a new printer. She was actually a delight to watch as she performed various CPR techniques (I'm a retired telephone tech) in order to get the thing to actually work. She was doing an absolutely wonderful job of multitasking without needing this additional annoyance to distract her. Please buy her a new printer, or I will open a new hotel and hire her to run it... :-)

---------------------------------------

The room itself was just a bit on the smaller size compared to some Hampton Inns, but included a handy and spotless microwave and 'fridge.

With all of that said, I would not hesitate to stay there whenever I tour Amish country again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenM299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great location for weekend getaway central location to all of lancaster county attractions. Close to shoping, downtown, markets, theaters and even a short trip to Hershey. Great variety on continetal breakfast, clean rooms and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Lancaster which is a very nice hotel, conveniently located to many restaurants and shops in the area. The rooms and beds are especially clean and a full breakfast is served. The staff was most helpful when we asked about local restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank MickNorthboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
1.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Lancaster
Courtyard Lancaster
#3 of 39 in Lancaster
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lancaster

Property: Hampton Inn Lancaster
Address: 545 Greenfield Rd, Lancaster, PA 17601-5833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#3 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Amish Country and much more from the Hampton Inn Lancaster. Our hotel is located close to major attractions in Lancaster, PA and surrounded by shops and restaurants within walking distance. We're just minutes from Downtown Lancaster, famous for First Friday, the East Coast's oldest existing indoor farmers' market, historic Fulton Theatre, boutique shops, fine dining and nightlife. Enjoy a unique theatre experience at Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre or the American Music Theatre and shop more than 500 outlet stores at the nearby Rockvale and Tanger Outlets. Our friendly staff can direct you to the most popular Amish attractions, Lititz, PA, Strasburg Railroad or the PA Renaissance Faire. Families will love the excitement of Dutch Wonderland Family Amusement Park, Landis Valley Museum, Hands-on-House, and the North Museum. If you're here on business, Hampton Inn Lancaster is conveniently located near the entrance to the Greenfield Corporate Center adjacent to the Lancaster County Visitors' Center. Johnson & Johnson, Dart Container, and Tyson Foods are just a few of the companies you'll find nearby. Enjoy our contemporary lobby and guestrooms, complimentary daily breakfast buffet and waffle bar, and wake up rejuvenated from a great night's sleep in the Hampton Bed(R). Work out in our state of the art fitness center or walk the scenic trails near the hotel or relax in the seasonal outdoor heated pool and sun patio. Catch up on work in our 24 hour business center or from the comfort of your room with free high-speed WiFi, while enjoying a cup of coffee from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. Getting hungry? The Olde Greenfield Inn and Ginza Sushi both offer our guests great discounts for dining with them and they are only a few steps from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing