We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed for long weekend to go shopping at outlets. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms comfortable and clean close to outlets.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndyb109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    205
    54
    19
    10
See reviews for
331
204
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Arrived at this Hampton Inn and entered the building. The car port and the surrounding landscape were very nicely done, well maintained and clean. This hotel sits in a very good location, close to the major highway but far enough away no road noise is heard. I was greeted by a very friendly desk clerk and check in was quick and efficient.

The lobby is adorned with a fireplace and the adjacent breakfast area was very tastefully decorated but of small size. The color combinations very soothing, the accompanying textures complimenting and the materials of high grade. The black speckled countertops were a very nice touch and add depth to the room.

I arrived at my room and began my inspection; the room was of average size, was clean and neat and remarkable in its colors and textures. The room had a muted accent wall and the color palate was warm and inviting. The television was 32” flat screen LCD with 63 channels and 24 in HD. The room also included a microwave and refrigerator both clean and in perfect working condition. The bed duvet was freshly laundered and the bed sheets were white, clean and crisp. Inspection of the bathroom revealed clean, neat and organized with plenty of clean white towels and an average selection of amenities, shampoo, conditioner and hand cream only. The shower was clean, had great pressure and the hot water was plentiful.

The bed was comfortable and I had no issues with sleep. The hotel itself was sold out and I heard no noise from the exterior or the corridors but did hear shuffling from the room above especially when the occupants were using the bathroom. The HVAC quickly and consistently cooled the room; it was quiet and unobtrusive, and controlled by a wall thermostat. This HVAC unit produces some of the coldest air I have ever experienced from a wall unit and removed all the humidity from the room, an outstanding piece of equipment. The desk/work area was of average size and the desk chair was comfortable. The wireless internet was acceptable, my top test showed a speed of 1.97 mbs

The pool was exterior, large and very comfortable. The workout area was average size but provided high quality equipment. Showed you need a full service fitness center this hotel does have an association with a local facility.

There were 2 very minor issues that kept me from rating this hotel as excellent:

1. The breakfast area is small and could not handle the volume of people wanting to dine. Should you select this hotel make plans to visit the breakfast area early. I was unable to try the breakfast due to a lack of seating.

2. The hotel does offer fresh baked cookies at 7:00 PM but are in very limited supply. Should you want a cookie you need to arrive at 7:05 PM. I know this sounds picky but when you travel 15 to 20 days a month the fresh baked cookie is a real treat which I always look forward to.

Both very minor issues and neither are a reason not to select this hotel. The issues I experience would never keep me from recommending or staying at this location again.

This hotel sits among many chain restaurant and sole-proprietorship locations. An Isaac’s Deli is within walking distance and the remaining choices are with-in a short drive.

Would I return, Yes, would I recommended, Yes. This hotel met all of my expectations for a Hampton Inn property, clean, quiet and comfortable. $138.60 room + $8.32 state tax + $6.93 lodging tax, totaled $153.85 for a Monday night in August, 2011. Although the rate sounds excessive it is a very competitive for this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muskywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Off the beat road that is RT 30 and Rt 340...This hotel is clean and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. Luckily the pool was slightly heated for a relaxing evening swim. Wifi is included so you are never too far from anything or anyone. The breakfast was standard fare which does fill the belly, but they sell the most devilish sticky buns by the tourist center which is in walking distance from the hotel.

Out on the road we felt the food was okay...but a road side seller of BBQ chicken was cheap and super tasty....Take Greenfield to Willow to RT 23 NE to find this great BBQ ...less than 5 dollars for 2 legs and breasts! Much preferred than the established restaurants in the area....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2011hdesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Lancaster in June, 2011 for several nights. The hotel is clean, modern, and has a nice complimentary breakfast. Great for families with children as it saves you money for the one meal. It's centrally located, equidistant to the outlet shopping centers, small towns in Amish country, and close enough to drive 5-10 minutes into the city of Lancaster. While there I'd suggest you visit the open market in the heart of downtown Lancaster - it's a great place to shop for some unique things as well as grab a great lunch from a variety of places located in the market. I'd recommend the Hampton Inn to all, especially for families due to the free breakfast. It's locale is ideal. We've stayed in several other hotels in the past but preferred this one above all!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adisabatino53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Arrived late in evening no reservations, but hotel did have rooms available. The whole place was great and customer friendly. I recommend this place to any traveler in the Lancaster PA area. Right in the heart of the Amish Country. Great farms and sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coachgandmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I read the other reviews prior to booking this trip, some of the bad ones are from before the hotel was renovated and believe the hype Hal is great. the Hotel was clean, the staff helpful, and the location was perfect. My kids loved the pool. The Breakfast was nice. I normally stay in the middle of the road hotels (125. to 175 range) this one definitely one of the better ones for sure. The bed was extremely comfortable, And I asked Hal where would he eat if he were on vacation here (the non touristy ones and he suggested Dienners (which I reviewed also).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We are Hampton Inn Diamond Members. We always stayed at Hamptons. This Hampton did not disappoint. The lobby is very nice, and the rooms are clean and updated. Hal is the NICEST. He is the employee that greeted us profusely upon arrival. When we were checking in, he was so kind and sincere. He kept thanking us for choosing Hampton Inn. He was awesome. Just as usual, breakfast is from 6-10 am, but this hampton has soup and cookies at 7:00 pm. We had a little trouble with our air conditioner, unfortunately. He quickly ran up to our room, and resolved our problem. They were sold out for the night, so we couldn't get another room, but he was sooooo accomodating. Great place to stay. Thank you Hal!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krdrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
1.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Lancaster
Courtyard Lancaster
#3 of 39 in Lancaster
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lancaster

Property: Hampton Inn Lancaster
Address: 545 Greenfield Rd, Lancaster, PA 17601-5833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#3 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Amish Country and much more from the Hampton Inn Lancaster. Our hotel is located close to major attractions in Lancaster, PA and surrounded by shops and restaurants within walking distance. We're just minutes from Downtown Lancaster, famous for First Friday, the East Coast's oldest existing indoor farmers' market, historic Fulton Theatre, boutique shops, fine dining and nightlife. Enjoy a unique theatre experience at Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre or the American Music Theatre and shop more than 500 outlet stores at the nearby Rockvale and Tanger Outlets. Our friendly staff can direct you to the most popular Amish attractions, Lititz, PA, Strasburg Railroad or the PA Renaissance Faire. Families will love the excitement of Dutch Wonderland Family Amusement Park, Landis Valley Museum, Hands-on-House, and the North Museum. If you're here on business, Hampton Inn Lancaster is conveniently located near the entrance to the Greenfield Corporate Center adjacent to the Lancaster County Visitors' Center. Johnson & Johnson, Dart Container, and Tyson Foods are just a few of the companies you'll find nearby. Enjoy our contemporary lobby and guestrooms, complimentary daily breakfast buffet and waffle bar, and wake up rejuvenated from a great night's sleep in the Hampton Bed(R). Work out in our state of the art fitness center or walk the scenic trails near the hotel or relax in the seasonal outdoor heated pool and sun patio. Catch up on work in our 24 hour business center or from the comfort of your room with free high-speed WiFi, while enjoying a cup of coffee from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. Getting hungry? The Olde Greenfield Inn and Ginza Sushi both offer our guests great discounts for dining with them and they are only a few steps from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing