We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Sculpted Ice Works Factory Tour & Ice Harvest Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lakeville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Sculpted Ice Works Factory Tour and Natural Ice Harvest Museum is currently only open for prebooked groups of 20 or more and events. Please visit our website for more information.
Zionsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Self guided tour. Interesting, really. Neat to watch the fellow sculpting ice with a chainsaw and then a chisel. Also, don't miss the video on how they used to get chunks of ice from the lake. Gosh, what a hard job that was. It was neat to see how they make ice now. Dress warm, cause this is a cool tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank mrssoprano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing Like It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have been to many museums and factory tours; Sculpted Ice Works is truly unique. A small factory that produces those remarkable frozen swans you see as centerpieces at weddings, it is a gem in the middle of the Poconos. Watching the people behind glass carving the magnificent sculptures (they can make anything you submit to them) was truly fascinating. The video explaining the process was interesting and told you everything you need to know. Upstairs there were other videos that were not as fascinating (i.e. about how the owner got started and another about the history of using and making ice before the time of refrigeration). The people who work at Sculpted Ice Works were friendly and extremely helpful.
Make sure that before you go you check to verify that sculpting will take place that day. It is not worth going if you can't see them actually creating their ice works and they don't sculpt every day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank chofetzchaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This place is very awesome and unique, I live in Philadelphia and go to the Poconos every year and thought it would be cool to see ice sculptures and see how they do it in person!It is well worth the cost $5 and they had a bar made out of ice with wine tasting inside, I got the blackberry which was light and very tasty I had to take a few bottles home lol!They have a huge slide made of ice and I can't even describe how cool it looks just see for yourself, they cut everything with a chainsaw and then chizel the details with an ice pick!it kinda reminds u of when Edward scissorhands was carving at the end of the movie and the chick was loving the snow falling lol they also have carved wooden benches and other things outback to buy and a petting zoo which is $2 you can't go wrong with that in my book

Helpful?
4 Thank Mustangrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sculpted Ice Wo... I, Manager at Sculpted Ice Works Factory Tour & Ice Harvest Museum, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us. To clarify, the ice slide and wine tasting were part of our yearly event, "Crystal Cabin Fever" held each February. The photos you posted are from this event. The cost in 2012 was $10 per person and is a large scale ice attraction/festival made from over 100 tons of ice.

The Sculpted Ice Works Factory Tour & Ice Harvest Museum is open year round. Cost is $5 per person and includes a self-guided tour of our ice harvest museum and production facility.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
295 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Coolest Museum on Lake Wallenpaupack, Ice Harvest, Ice Carving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This museum preserves the heritage of the forebearers who ice harvested in this region as well as explains the modern ice carving works of the superb expert ice sculpting company, Sculpted Ice Works Incorporated. The tour is expertly done and the extensive ice sculpting and ice harvesting equipment both new and old, is fascinating for young and old. A delightful stop on a hot day, and a cool attraction anytime of year. I took my friend from Cincinnati, Ohio here, and we were suprised that ice blocks from the region once traveled by rail all the way to Cincinnati! How cool is that?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RevRandyPOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sculpted Ice Wo... I, Manager at Sculpted Ice Works Factory Tour & Ice Harvest Museum, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have a Summer home nearby but have only just "discovered" this little gem. A well-balanced blend of history and modern technology. Well-produced videos and knowledgeable young staff members are a great introduction to the Ice-sculpting in the studio itself. We'll go again, and who knows? possibly commission a project!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank flavortec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sculpted Ice Wo... I, Manager at Sculpted Ice Works Factory Tour & Ice Harvest Museum, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
So glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sculpted Ice Works Factory Tour & Ice Harvest Museum also viewed

Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Pennsylvania, United States
White Mills, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Sculpted Ice Works Factory Tour & Ice Harvest Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing