We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating Our One Anniversary was Perfect at Cove Haven!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cove Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cove Haven Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
“Celebrating Our One Anniversary was Perfect at Cove Haven!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I just got back from a PERFECT ANNIVERSARY WEEKEND at COVE HAVEN!! The six hour drive was well worth it! All over the resort you'll see signs "Love Lives Here," and it sure does. Upon Check-in we were greeted by courteous staff. Our Suite was ready for us, even though we arrived two hours early. I originally booked a Cove Harbour Suite, last minute I switched to a Juilette Suite because in the pictures it looked more intimate. The Suite was very open. You could view the Heart-shape Jacuzzi from the bedroom area and the living room area and vice versa. Differently what we wanted for a Romantic Weekend. The Suite did have a 70's feel, the only advice I can give is to upgrade the T.V's to HD Flatscreens!! Maybe change wall portraits to something more modern. Besides that our room was just we were expecting it to be. The Dining Area was nice. Food was extremely tasteful. The sitting arrangements with other couples was first unexcepted, but was very appreciated and useful by the end of the meal. We had a chance to get good advice what to look forward during our stay. You also have the choice to have dinner served to your suite, we did the second night. The couples on the resort were so diverse from ages to races. Everyone were so welcoming and genuinely sweet. You could have been mistaken the resort for a family-owned vacation home, that's how friendly the other couples were. To meet other couples that were celebrating their 30th, 44th, and even 10th anniversary was very heart felt and special. The on-site activities were enjoyable. The Sports Arena needs to be renovated for sure. The miniature golf was a disappointment and well as the skating rink not being available. The other activities were pleasurable. We utilized the Spa Building alot during are stay. The nightlife was grand. We enjoyed the entertainment both nights. The bands weren't headliners but played like they should have been. The comedians were f***ing HILARIOUS. But one of the best parts of the resort seems to be a well known secret named, "Honest Phil". He made the nightlife and other shows worth the money. I won't spoiled all the details but we recommend going to the "Newlywed, Not so Newlywed" show!!!! Its a must-see show! The whole purpose of the resort is to enjoy/experience activities with alone your spouse/significant other. Exactly what it did for us. First timers ths weekend, but will become ongoing visitors!

Room Tip: Juilette Suite is perfect for an intimate weekend. Very wide open. View all areas of the Suite from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica_taylor0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Happy one year anniversary!! Thank you for your positive review! We'll be sure to share this with our Team Members. See you soon! <3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    756
    398
    242
    292
See reviews for
7
2,170
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We recently booked a 3-night weekend at Cove Haven. Will never go back. Our room was very musty; there was black mold on the bathroom wall. The area around the in-room jacuzzi was stained. The carpeting was dirty/stained. Furniture was uncomfortable and marked with water rings, "bubbly" veneer. TVs were from the 70s - with VCRs in them; one of the remotes did not work. The bed was a man-eater. Once in it, you rolled to the middle and your feet were higher than your head. While the meals were included in your cost, the food was mediocre at best. The grounds were well-kept but it is obvious that little effort is put into upkeep. Decor is from the 70s. Pool furniture used to be white; now grey and stained from mold. The pontoon boat on which we rode was dirty from mold and use, upholstery split in several places. We only wanted to stay 1 night after we saw our room but stuck it out for 2 of our 3 nights :(

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 123abc153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are very saddened to read this review and would like the opportunity to speak to you and check the suite you mentioned. Please consider emailing me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com with a good time and number to reach you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakeville hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went for our anniversary and were very disappointed. Very very outdated and the food was horrible. We ended up eating offsite. The all inclusive is a joke. Most stuff is extra. We made the best of the trip by enjoying each other but I wouldn't return if you payed me. I will say the night entertainment was great. The comedian they booked was amazing

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spicer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect and not what you expected. We would like the opportunity to talk to you about your stay and what we could have done to improve your experience. Please consider reaching out to me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went in June to Cove Haven Resort. We have never gone to the sister resorts; figured, if it's not broken, don't fix it! The day that we went, the headliners were Rob Schneider and Jon Lovitz. The room was not ready when we got there because so many people were checking in and we have always gotten an upgrade in our room but this time we didn't but didn't mind. We stayed in the Garden of Eden apple which is the room that we generally get upgraded to. This time we decided to just book it straightaway and I'm glad we did since we didn't get the upgrade. So, first the good points: Rob Schneider was HILARIOUS! Really enjoyed the show and the band the next night was really good too. The food on the second night was delicious and the service overall in the dining room was attentive. We always ask for a smaller table in the dining room as we don't like hanging out with other couples (after all, we are getting away to be with each other) and they have always been able to accommodate this request. They also now have WIFI in the room which is great! On the negative side, Jon Lovitz was terrible! Not funny and basically recycled jokes that would have been funny many, many years ago. The food at the buffet the first night was just OK, not the quality that we are used to getting here. I question how well the room was cleaned as well because I noticed on the second night that we were there, there was water left over in the hot tub that I assume was from the previous couple (YUCK!!). As gross as this is, we will still go back. We have gone many times to this resort and overall, always have a great time there. I just know for next time to thoroughly check the room out as soon as we get in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Toni H. I will be speaking to our Housekeeping Team about the water in your hot tub. This is not usually the case and it could have been from them cleaning it. Thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to your sixth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We bought our stay at this resort through Groupon, thought we would give the Poconos a try for our honeymoon. Having read the reviews beforehand, we really didn't care about the tube TVs or the outdated decor. It's all about what you make of your time there. The activities are certainly in place to keep you busy for a while. I'm happy to report we had a delightful and fun-filled stay.

I give this 4 stars only because when we first arrived they placed us in this subterranian basement room that was moldy with water damage down the windows and walls. Even though they were very prompt in moving us to a better room, with the resort so sparsely filled it would have made more sense not to put guests there until they can fix the water issue. Also we saw reviews from months before about the hand sanitizer being empty as you enter the dining room... yup still empty. Either remove it or fill it, not a huge deal.

We made a point of getting to as many activities as humanly possible. The ice skating was not possible due to stalagmites growing up from the ice but otherwise you had dozens of fun activities to take part in each day. We snapped a photo of ourselves in each activity. We even tried fishing! And we won medals for having our ping pong ball get down the stream first. There are three types of boats for rides any time you want, planned group contests, and plenty of sports. If you get tired you can hop a ride on the Love Machine bus.

Meals are group seating. At first my husband was standoffish about sharing our time with 6 other strangers but this experience was actually what he talked about more than anything else. Meeting other couples from around the country, both newlyweds married the same day as us and couples returning for their 40th anniversary, definitely enriched our own relationship. Can't understand why anyone would complain about the food... they push out hundreds of exemplary plates of food in a very short time every evening. And I am a food snob. The buffets were ridiculously plentiful and of great quality, and if you didn't see what you wanted on the breakfast buffet they would happily make it for you. With such huge meal offerings, we gained a sorry amount of weight eating twice a day.

Overall, great experience if you want it to be!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
So happy to hear you had a delightful and fun-filled stay! I will be looking into the water issue you mentioned. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The room was nice, but the rest of the hotel is out of date... reminded me of the 70's! The property is lovely!!! The food was less than perfect and the waiter we had has an attitude problem. If you love Garlic this is the place for you!! Everything tasted like Garlic. You couldn't taste the chicken only Garlic. Ugh!! Not worth the price.

Room Tip: Not worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Very happy to hear you loved our property and your suite. Thank you for your feedback. We will be sharing your review with our Chef and Dining Room Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I never had a honeymoon, so we saved up a little and I booked this vacation as a belated honeymoon kind of thing. I got a deal through Groupon for the garden of eden room. I liked the room with our own private pool, but we decided just to go all out and upgrade to the champagne tower room. Both rooms were very nice! Yes the decor is a little outdated and kind of cheesy, but are you really going to an adult resort for the decor of the room? I know we sure didn't! We had a great time while there and everyone we met was super friendly and really went out of the way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. The place was really clean and well kept. Everything was easily accessible. Yes some things could use a little update but in the grand scheme of things it didn't really bother me or take away from the great little vacation me and my husband had. I recommend going here to anyone who asks me about a vacation spot. Also if you're up there, check out some of the local shops! There was a little hippie head shop I fell in love with right on the main road called the shakedown shack. The locals are awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamasunshine157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Happy belated honeymoon!! So happy you got to experience it! Great photo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
23.2 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
20.7 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
21.9 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
5.5 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Haven Resort

Property: Cove Haven Resort
Address: 194 Lakeview Drive, Lakeville, PA 18438-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove Haven Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cove Haven Resort is a romantic Poconos all-suite hotel. Many of our guest rooms feature whirlpools, saunas, fireplaces, and/or round king-size beds. Tennis, racquetball, and watersports are available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cove Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Haven Hotel Lakeville
Caesars Poconos
Caesars Cove Haven Poconos Lakeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing