We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Cove Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cove Haven Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I am so disappointed by Cove Haven. I have wanted to go here for years. My boyfriend actually was kind enough to spend his hard earned money to take me to Cove Haven.

First off the pictures do not match the actual resort. Some of the guests seem to love it and don't mind a run down resort. However, I do mind paying $300/night and not having a coffee maker in the room, ice machine, or soda machine near the building. Oh and key feature missing WIFI in the rooms. I am going to school online and needed to post we had to go to the cafe which is only open till 10:00 pm.

As leave the check-in building you are greeted by at least 3 bungalows with collapsed roofs. Seriously, blue tarp them and put a sign up stating that construction is beginning shortly to fix this. The water level in the lake was very low, which is surprising considering the numerous lakes within a 10 - 15 mile radius all appeared to have adequate water.

The rooms are outdated. Like others have said it is like stepping back into the 70s or 80s. I get that mirrored walls were in back then but not anymore. The AC unit was so loud, my boyfriend stated it sounded like a washing machine. It is clear the money made from this property has been invested into the other two.

You may be able to go between properties but they are far apart. We checked out the other two. Paradise stream appeared to be a step up from Cove Haven. The nicest check-in building was at Pocono Palace which appears to be a modern hotel. The gave us a map of the property and we saw the same type of buildings. However, at the Palace they did seem to offer more activities their lake was prettier and more of what I thought we were getting.

The other thing we did not like was being seated with 3 other couples. We were there for a romantic getaway for just the two of us. When we asked to dine alone we had to wait over 30 minutes. When there were plenty of empty tables. I just feel that we were paid for and were expecting a Hilton or Hampton Inn experience and what we got was a 1 or 2 star motel experience.

My boyfriend said he would consider trying the Pocono Palace but I don't think so. I am not going to have him spend his money at this resort again. $300/night I want a clean, polished room, and I expect the pictures to match the property as it currently is. Not how it was 20 or 30 years ago.

I have read most of the negative reviews and they are spot on with their description of this resort. I only wished I had found this site sooner. :(

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed. We would love to have you visit us at Pocono Palace. Please consider emailing us at love@covepoconoresorts.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,994 - 2,000 of 2,676 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary at Cove Haven--we booked a "Garden of Eden Apple" suite for 3 nights. Our suite was very spacious, with a separate sitting area that also included a hear-shaped whirlpool, and a smaller television recessed in the wall. Off the sitting area was a sunken bedroom with a huge round bed and fireplace, a larger tv, a large walk in closet with plenty of hanging space, and a large vanity/dressing room with a shower stall and separate toilet area with its own door. There was also a dorm-sized refrigerator recessed into a wall in the vanity/dressing room., and a heater you could turn on to take any chill out of the air in the dressing area. Off the bedroom was an indoor heated private (small) pool--glass doors led from the bedroom to the pool area, which was also very spacious. Finally, contained behind a mirrored door that was part of a mirrored wall in the pool area, was a small dry sauna. While I saw a few reviews when I was researching Cove Haven claiming that it needed decor updating, our particular suite was very well maintained and spotless. I did see a couple of tiles in the pool area that were cracked and a little wear to the carpet, but it really was nothing when compared to the spaciousness and overall beauty of the suite. The suite was like our own personal cocoon--heard very little in the way of outside noise other than an occasional car engine starting--sleep quality was great.. The staff were extremely friendly for the most part--especially the bartenders in the lounges and the waitstaff in the restaurant, known as the Coliseum. The first night we had dinner there, our server "Dennis" was really funny, cracking jokes as he took orders and brought our orders to us. We enjoyed the communal dining, both breakfast and dinner, where we would be seated with 3 other couples completely unknown to us--much like they do on a cruise--we met many nice, friendly and interesting people from several different states, including a couple who had come all the way from Memphis! You should know though that if you are uncomfortable with this sort of dining arrangement, you can request a table to yourselves--that's what my husband and I did for dinner on our actual anniversary, and the staff happily obliged us. I found the food quite good, although on the first night ordered a pork chop dish that was covered in a gravy I personally found too salty--ended up scraping off the gravy and eating the chop, which was probably close to 2 inches thick. If you like dessert, they always offer a good selection after dinner, including an ice cream bar where you will find a wide selection of toppings. Breakfast you can have at the restaurant, or if you want, order their "Quicky" to be delivered to your suite--they will call about 10 mins before delivery. We ordered in for breakfast only once--didn't care a whole lot for the "Quicky"--cereal and coffee/juice were all fine, but the breakfast sandwich/panini comes on a roll that is really thick and "bready"--both myself and my husband only ate a few bites. My suggestion is either go to the Coliseum for breakfast, or if you order the Quicky, don't get the sandwich. Because we were there mid-week, we didn't experience the sort of entertainment that the Cove Haven brings in on weekends, standup comics and bands and such--but you can still go to the Parrot Lounge and have a good time--Cove Haven does a good job making sure you don't get bored. Be advised that in the lounges they invite the couples
to take part in games like "sexual feud" (think family feud, but R rated--also an X rated version of The Newlywed game) Hilarious, but if you are shy, best not volunteer! We also took advantage of the game room at the sport complex--played mini golf on the somewhat tired looking 9.hole indoor course, pool, ping pong, air hockey, etc. Many of the games are no charge, but pinball machines and a few others require a couple of tokens. We also enjoyed the indoor archery range and other game room found downstairs in the cafe, and walked on the short "nature trail" that runs through the woods. The campus--don't be put off by its somewhat institutional look when you arrive-- is quite spread out, but you can drive to most of the buildings or call for a complimentary shuttle if you don't want to walk. We were told though by couples who had been there before that if you visit either on the weekends or during the summer busy season, you may wait for the shuttle for quite awhile. Oh, I almost forgot that there are a couple of outdoor swimming pools for warmer weather--one heart shaped--but if it's cool there is a nice indoor pool with adjoining jacuzzi's that are open 24 hours, just off the Parrot Lounge. This resort is all inclusive with the exception of lunch and of course alcoholic drinks, but we were usually so busy we ended up skipping lunch every day we were there. You can also bring snacks and beverages from home and stock your room fridge, which we did. There was always a cocktail hour with pretty good munchies at the lounge attached to the Coliseum starting around 5, with dinner starting usually not much past 6. Each evening a professional photographer will come to your dinner table and offer to take your photo as a couple, which will be available for purchase at the gift shop the next morning. But if you don't wish to have yours done, simply decline, which we did our final night at the restaurant, and he graciously accepted our request--we had already looked at and purchased one of the pics from a prior evening, saw no reason to have another done. By the way, if you want to sleep in or simply spend a day in your suite as we did--didn't leave it on our anniversary day until 5 pm--you put Cove Haven's version of a do not disturb sign (it shows two spoons "spooning" lol) outside your door. We received a call late in the morning from housekeeping asking if we would like clean towels/washcloths, and when we opened the door at 5 to go out, there was a nice large plastic bag with several towels and washcloths that lasted us the rest of our stay--these folks do it right! I know this is a long review but there was a lot to say about Cove Haven. Simply loved our stay, and am already planning to go back sometime next year. Great for intimacy with your loved one, but plenty of socializing with other couples available too if you wish! And when we checked out Friday morning just before 11, the lady at the desk said we were free to continue using the facilities up until 5 pm--unfortunately, we had to get on the road.

Room Tip: Most people we spoke with that had been to Cove Haven multiple times say the Champagne Tower suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReneeA261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Wonderful review ReneeA261! Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with us and for the kind words. Happy Anniversary and we will see you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My Husband and I were Married in Sept of 99 and celebrated our Honeymoon At Cove Haven and LOVED IT!! The room was spectacular and the Service was Amazing. We hated leaving when our Honeymoon was over. As life moved on and we became parents and had responsibilites and it became harder for us to get away, we did not go back:( Not because it wasnt the best place to go,, but because of finances and other responsibilities. Our 13yr Anv rolled around and I felt it was more important for my Hubby and I to get away to celebrate,, At No other place than Cove Haven, where our momories started:) WE Loved it even more than last time! Such a Great Atmosphere and Room and Service as Usual is Awesome! It was just he and I,, Having fun again with each other remebering how much we love each other:) We enjoyed ourelves tremendesly and have NO COMPLAINTS! We are booked for Feb! Im sooo Excited!! Thank you Cove Haven and Wonderful Staff.

Room Tip: So far I have stayed twice and both times my room was very good and located in a great spot. No nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Happy Anniversary Marie M! So glad you chose Cove Haven to celebrate and thank you for such a lovely review! We can’t wait to have you back in February!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

First of all, my husband & I had a great time at Cove Haven. Just want to say 'thanks' to the staff, they are the best. Because of them, we had a great time. (would have given 4 stars, just for having such a good time)

Now for the rooms. We love to travel & have stayed at our share of places. That being said, the rooms at Cove Haven really, I mean really need some upgrades. Very outdated. They still using the old tube t.v's. The bedspread was from the 80's or something. For this reason, I have to give it 3 stars.

We would go back, but just for a quick getaway (when we need to relax). It's an ok place for 2 or 3 days, but no more than that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeyLady929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you HeyLady929. we appreciate your review and glad you had a great time! Come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Cove Haven is a great getaway for couples! We were looking for a quiet place to celebrate our 10th anniversary and decided to go back to Cove Haven. We had great service, awesome food, great entertainment and a peaceful atmosphere to reconnect as a couple. Try it...you'll LOVE it!

Room Tip: Garden of Eden Apple rooms are very private...no windows. For as nice as the room was, it felt like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Happy Anniversary Rebecca M. Glad you chose Cove Haven! Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Me and my husband went to cove haven on our honeymoon. It was the first time we ever went there. We had a great time. The food was amazing, staff friendly and overall we had the time of our lives. We already booked for next year for our 1 year ann. the room was perfect for us. the activities were awsome. The staff were there to help with anything you needed. Honest phil was a great cxo and denise the server in the dining room was absolutly the greatest ever. We recommend anyone who wants to have fun or just stay in your room n be romantic to goto cove haven....................... Cant wait to go back again, we stayed for 10 days which it was more.

Room Tip: we stayed in the harbor towers, great location, our patio had view of the water. Very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Congratulations newlyweds!!! So happy to share this experience with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went there for honeymoon and then again for aniversary. We plan on going Atleast once every year. Breakfast and dinner all inclusive and great quality! (bring your stretchy pants, you will eat a lot!) staff is so friendly and eager to help! There is so much to do, great comedians, great bands, wonderful activities! We never want to leave! Already booked aniversary trip for next year!!!!! Love Covehaven!!!!! Xoxo

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njpsychnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing this great experience with us SusanCarnavale and Happy Anniversary! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
23.2 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,513 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
19.4 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
18.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore
20.7 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Haven Resort

Address: 194 Lakeview Drive, Lakeville, PA 18438-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range: $193 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove Haven Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cove Haven Resort is romantic couples-only destination located in the scenic Pocono Mountains. Famous for being the birthplace of the heart-shaped whirlpool, it's also known for having invented the world-famous 7' tall Champagne Tower whirlpool. More than just romantic suites, Cove Haven also features all-inclusive dining, numerous activities to enjoy at your leisure or with a social director,nightly entertainment with comedians, DJs, live bands, and specialty acts like hypnotists and magicians, plus other amenities with indoor and outdoor pools, seasonal activities, and headline entertainment featuring famous names from around the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cove Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Haven Hotel Lakeville
Caesars Poconos
Caesars Cove Haven Poconos Lakeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing