We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Outdated”
Review of Split Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Split Rock Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I went to Split Rock for 2 nights for my grandparent's 50th. The first 2 rooms we were given smelled like Chlorine/Bleach. This may be because they sat directly above the pool and had no windows. Luckily they moved us to the "slope side" which was a bit brighter and slightly more updated.

Check-in took almost 35 minutes as there was 1 girl at the counter on a Friday afternoon. After getting through check-in, we got stuck in the elevator. It took nearly 10 minutes for an attendant to get us out.

Keep in mind that nothing here is included. Mini-golf, pedal-boats, outdoor activities all cost more.

We (26 of us) ate at the Belagio restaurant. The food was mid priced ($20-30). Food was nothing to remember and service was terrible. We had 1 server for a party of 26 when there was one other table in the entire place! Why not have 2 servers on such a large party who isn't rude!?

Overall, for $322/night, this "resort" is outdated and overpriced. I suggest staying at the Best Western down the road.

Room Tip: Stay in "Slope side" at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cduf06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did not meet your expectations when you recently stayed with us. Split Rock Resort is always striving to make our guests happier and more comfortable when they visit and comments like yours do assist us when training our staff. I apologize for your experience at our Bellago Restaurant and hope that you do return soon. Please feel free to contact my office directly the next time you are in town - Reply@splitrockresort.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Over the Memorial Day week we vacationed at Split Rock Resort. We stayed at Willowbrook and while we had a great time the resort needed some spiffing up. The furniture was worn and the fire place did not work. We called maintenance and they responded speedily. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Would we stay her again? Yes we would; but a little cosmetics could go a long way. They did have a great wine and cheese reception one night. We were impressed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIANE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and please be assured that there are currently many projects in the works to update some of our older facilities. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Willowbrook section at Split Rock resort for my anniversary. The room was immaculate and we had had everything we could want from a fully equipped kitchen to the amazing 2 person jacuzzi. The room was beautiful and extremely clean. The grounds were well kept and and the view from our balcony was post card worthy. I also want to make note of the amazing service we received. The staff and director went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. My recommendation is that if you are going to split rock stay at Willowbrook. You won't regret it

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikki0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for choosing Split Rock Resort. Our Willowbrook units are indeed a great location with excellent views. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The room was very nice, although it was dated. The air conditioner sounded like a 747 taking off, and if you are a light sleeper, forget about going here. Every time the air turned on it was a loud bang and fans were crazy loud. That being said the kitchen was really nice and included everything.

You are charged $1 every time you dive back in. This really ads up after a while if you go out to lunch and dinner, and makes you want to stay on the resort but there is no good food there. There are many activities for kids, the waterpark is nice, but for the price it is simple. Simple, but good enough for very small children to stay entertained. There is a regular pool in an area where it seems all the lights are burned out, The paint on the pool looked like it was chipping for years, and I even noticed the columns were cracked which was not the best feeling. Speaking of maintenance, none of the lights on the buttons work on the elevator, so the first button you push it does not appear for that the elevator works. Only the 2nd floor light works, the others are burn out. As you get out of the elevator, you see a chandelier that looks like it is from the 80s. It is the kind that has many lights, only there are only 2 lights left. It seems the maintenance guys have been on vacation since 1985. We also played bowling and they shut us down twice in the middle of our game. They told us that we could play another game when I confronted them, a few minutes later they came to my table with the bill for the second game. I assumed it would be free since they shut it off. They also shut off my guest bowling game in the middle and they did not continue because they didn't want to pay an additional $7 a person again. I think the place is going downhill with all the little fees they are hitting everyone with. All that being said, we had a good time, I am not sure if I would come back again since they are not the only game in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and I can assure you that your comments will be reviewed with our management and staff. We are continually working to improve our Resort and feedback like yours will assist us with that endeavor. We look forward to hosting your vacation needs again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently returned from Split Rock Resort in Lake Harmony, Pa. It was a wonderful experience. I particularly enjoyed the activities around the Lake, boating, kayaking and just. sun tanning. The room accommodations were good and the staff courteous and helpful. I would definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tnt-people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent stay at Split Rock Resort. We truly appreciate your comments and feedback. Our amenities and activities are quite extensive and second to none! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Best overall adult/children's resort complex I've ever stayed at, They've thought of everything to keep the kids busy and interested and the pricing of everything from the food to the room was reasonable. Makes me think twice about vacationing at the Jersey shore this summer.

Room Tip: Definitely get the suite for more than 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

We thank you for being our guest & I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We take great pride in our amenities and customer service. I appreciate you taking the time to comment on our resort and hope to continue to meet and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very impressed with the resort. Wasted gas driving around trying to find check-in, Signs were poor. The restaurants were excellent. Staff was friendly and ready to help. Excellent service.
Room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck d, General Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are doing everything we can to stay current and updated and have many projects in the works, including additional signage. We appreciate your feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay & our restaurants. We look forward to having you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Harmony
13.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,473 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#6 of 6 in White Haven
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lake Harmony Inn
Lake Harmony Inn
#1 of 1 in Lake Harmony
75 reviews
16.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Rock Resort

Address: 428 Moseywood Road, Lake Harmony, PA 18624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lake Harmony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Price Range: $147 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Split Rock Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Split Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Split Rock Resort And Golf Club
Split Rock Resort & Golf Club Hotel Lake Harmony
Hotel At Split Rock
Split Rock Hotel
Resort At Split Rock
The Resort At Split Rock
Split Rock Pa
Split Rock Resort Pa
Split Rock Lake Harmony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing