We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to So-So Friday 11/2/12”
Review of Split Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Split Rock Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Reviewed November 4, 2012

So this is day 1 of our 7 day stay. Friday check-in went well. Helpful staff at desk, had luggage carts to get our stuff in. They gave us a coupon sheet to help save a few $$$, not really convinced we saved anything! Friday night dinner was Galleria dining room... $48.00+ for soup, salad bar, 2 pieces of jumbo shrimp, and a 5 oz poorly cooked steak, and 'smashed' red skin taters with HUGE chunks of raw garlic. Will NOT eat dinner there again... Room ok. Cold water issues, called maintenance and they had it fixed with-in 20 minutes. TV's are old and have serious volume issues. Had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. 1 bath with jet tub, 1 bath with shower. Good layout for now. Bed/mattress cozy. Couches are older and not so fluffy, stained carpets, crooked wall paper, cracked drywall, dusty blinds, just old out dated... Everything... Tubs/showers/sinks/decor... Dishes/stove/microwave... I think you get the drift... More one 2nd day coming tomorrow...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimDePatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,204 - 1,210 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

I never ever EVER write reviews, but there was so many negative comments about this place, I had to give my feedback.
My husband and I purchased a travelzoo voucher for a 2 night stay . Included was a $50 resort credit. I was very skeptical, even worried about coming to Split Rock based on all the bad reviews on Trip advisor. First things first... with the voucher, we were originally in a standard Garden lodge room with 2 double beds. I called the resort, and I mentioned it was my husbands birthday, and could I possibly update to a bigger, better room depending on cost. We were also bringing our 2 year old, and a little extra room was needed. The wonderful lady who I spoke to(sorry I can't remember name)Upgraded us to a 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen at NO extra charge!
We stayed in the galleria in the slopeside suites. YES the room was dated, but clean, and efficient. We had a fridge, dishwasher, stove, and microwave, and every utensil you could need to cook with.. It helped to make breakfast, and have snacks and drinks in the room for our toddler and ourself.
Our location was perfect. We were in the same building as the bowling alley, arcade, and movie theater, and attached to the indoor water park.First night there, we ate at the Galleria Dining room. Unfortunately, they had a very limited , and set menu. This is not how they normally run, but they had hundreds of power/electric people staying there, and helping in the area to restore power, so they had to keep it limited due to volume. Food was OK... burgers, fries, salad bar.
Water Park- we used our $50 resort credit towards this.The water park was FUN. It was perfectly clean, had a good amount of things for our daughter. She had so much fun, and we went 3 times that day!They have a food stand for typical lunch fare, and it was decent priced, and pretty good!
We went to the Italian restuarant called Be'llago. This was located in the lodge which was about 1/4 mile down the road. I was so worried walking in, but the food was GOOD! We had the calamari for appetizer, I had the prime rib, my husband had the chicken parm, and we shared. We had a window seat right on the lake, and the prices were decent!

All in all, a GREAT trip! We will definitely go back again, it is a nice family resort with a lot of things to do at a decent price!

Room Tip: Galleria suites are in a prime location for kid's activities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank brown t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

brown t, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Split Rock Resort. The fact that you do not normally write reviews is especially rewarding because it means that your experience was positive enough to warrant going out of your way to share it. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best,
Frank Rapale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the first time I have visited Split Rock in about 14 years, when we used to have an annual family reunion area. Some things are still the same and some things have changed. There is a fairly new water park and an additional 9 holes to the golf course. My wife and I stayed in the Galleria complex which has everything (indoor tennis, arcade, movie theater, bowling alley, bar, restaurant, pizzaria, pool, ping pong, ballroom and more). There are tons of things to do. We stayed on their golf package, which includes meals, a room and a round of golf per day. I don't think anyone else this weekend stayed on the golf package, because it was a bit cold and late in the year, and we pretty much had the course all to ourselves. We paid about $400 per night including taxes for the golf package - the value was okay for this price.

Regarding the ton of comments that the place is "dated" - that is not entirely true. I thought my room in the Galleria was just fine. We had one of the suites on the 2nd floor and it was in fine shape. The only thing I would consider dated would be the fact that you had an actual key to enter the room rather than a card key like most places have these days.

Also, regarding the ton of comments regarding the $1 toll to enter the place - give it a rest. First of all, it is only $1. This is a road that cuts a significant chunk of time from Lake Harmony to north of I-80 so if there was not a toll, there would be a ton of traffic coming through the resort to get north of the highway. Plus, if you are staying at the resort, you can use the receipt for the toll towards any of the activities.

The food was good. The Chicken Parmagiana in the Pizzaria wasn't very good, but the rest of the food we had was. The staff was friendly, especially the bartender in the Pit Bar.

So, in summary, this is a neat place for a getaway with lots to do and recommended if you are taking a trip to the Poconos.

Room Tip: The Galleria is where most of the activities are, so if you like activities, stay here. If you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoeBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

joeBNYC Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Split Rock Resort. We are glad that your experience was positive enough to warrant going out of your way to share it. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The Split Rock Resort is a fun place to bring the family, with the onsite entertainment center, including a movie theater showing current movies and a bowling alley. The major downside is the dated rooms. Our two bedroom suite had rather tired furniture. In addition, the bathrooms were small, which is a generous description of the bathroom in the queen room. We were also given an "interior" room, with no windows to the outside. I wasn't aware that was compliant with fire code. The location is beautiful, at the south end of the Poconos. Nice running routes, with lots of rolling hills. Overall, it's a fun resort but over priced for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We appreciate your recent visit to Split Rock Resort. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns with your stay. A lot of guests appreciate the Galleria and its location. If you would like to experience a more modern facility, we would recommend our willow brook suites. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a wonderful time with my extended family here, including a 6-month old. Everyone at the resort was very friendly and accommodating. The golf course is gorgeous and rather challenging (the North course). Stayed at the Westwood houses, which were clean, spacious, and well accommodated with all the little kitchen things you need but don't think of... like a blender, or a spatula. We were able to make ourselves right at home. And be sure to find the putting green right behind the Westwoods, next to the check-in office so you can practice your stroke!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggloege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank You for taking the time to write this review to let us know about our services and facilities.
Your evaluation identifies that our efforts are recognized and an important criteria at achieving guest satisfaction. Certainly, I have already shared your comments with our team.
We again thank you for your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we been there for 22 year in a row,ted&jane have good time all the time.we love doc holliday for the last 8years we will miss a lot,but still will have a good time.we eat at bell'ago all the time.the is very good.there is a lot of lpaces to go,we know jim thorpe,tannersville,mt.pocono and many other.we stay at willobrook for last 8 years it's the place there,but stayed all of spliterock and very nice for 22 years.will be back,week of 11/11/2012 and 11/25/2012 can't wait,see you all then.workers and mangers always great.ted&jane the best get away all the time.

Room Tip: westbrook is the ever ted&jane
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

I was pleased to read that your experience at the Split Rock Resort, was enjoyable. Thank you in particular for your kind words about our staff - we take pride in our team and I will be sure to share your comments with them, so they are rewarded with the knowledge that their efforts are noticed and appreciated. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The unit itself was very clean demonstrating a diligent housekeeping staff. The staff at check-in very pleasant and helpful. The maintenance man that serviced the TV was very helpful and pleasant. The unit had everything in it that would be needed for a week's stay. Wi-Fi was not available in the unit, very inconvenient. It was necessary to go to the main building to use Wi-Fi. Management really needs to replace the carpeting in the whole unit as it appeared too stained to come clean with shampooing.

Room Tip: Good place for families wanting a lot of activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraditionFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

TraditionFlorida, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Westwood. We are glad that your experience was positive enough to warrant going out of your way to share it. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Harmony
13.8 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,508 reviews
4 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#6 of 6 in White Haven
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
16.8 mi away
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
22.9 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Rock Resort

Address: 428 Moseywood Road, Lake Harmony, PA 18624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lake Harmony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Price Range: $135 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Split Rock Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Split Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Split Rock Resort And Golf Club
Split Rock Resort & Golf Club Hotel Lake Harmony
Hotel At Split Rock
Split Rock Hotel
Resort At Split Rock
The Resort At Split Rock
Split Rock Pa
Split Rock Resort Pa
Split Rock Lake Harmony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing