We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort retreat in the Poconos”
Review of Split Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Split Rock Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice resort retreat in the Poconos”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the first time I have visited Split Rock in about 14 years, when we used to have an annual family reunion area. Some things are still the same and some things have changed. There is a fairly new water park and an additional 9 holes to the golf course. My wife and I stayed in the Galleria complex which has everything (indoor tennis, arcade, movie theater, bowling alley, bar, restaurant, pizzaria, pool, ping pong, ballroom and more). There are tons of things to do. We stayed on their golf package, which includes meals, a room and a round of golf per day. I don't think anyone else this weekend stayed on the golf package, because it was a bit cold and late in the year, and we pretty much had the course all to ourselves. We paid about $400 per night including taxes for the golf package - the value was okay for this price.

Regarding the ton of comments that the place is "dated" - that is not entirely true. I thought my room in the Galleria was just fine. We had one of the suites on the 2nd floor and it was in fine shape. The only thing I would consider dated would be the fact that you had an actual key to enter the room rather than a card key like most places have these days.

Also, regarding the ton of comments regarding the $1 toll to enter the place - give it a rest. First of all, it is only $1. This is a road that cuts a significant chunk of time from Lake Harmony to north of I-80 so if there was not a toll, there would be a ton of traffic coming through the resort to get north of the highway. Plus, if you are staying at the resort, you can use the receipt for the toll towards any of the activities.

The food was good. The Chicken Parmagiana in the Pizzaria wasn't very good, but the rest of the food we had was. The staff was friendly, especially the bartender in the Pit Bar.

So, in summary, this is a neat place for a getaway with lots to do and recommended if you are taking a trip to the Poconos.

Room Tip: The Galleria is where most of the activities are, so if you like activities, stay here. If you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
joeBNYC Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Split Rock Resort. We are glad that your experience was positive enough to warrant going out of your way to share it. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    464
    375
    271
    308
See reviews for
1,036
261
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jobstown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The Split Rock Resort is a fun place to bring the family, with the onsite entertainment center, including a movie theater showing current movies and a bowling alley. The major downside is the dated rooms. Our two bedroom suite had rather tired furniture. In addition, the bathrooms were small, which is a generous description of the bathroom in the queen room. We were also given an "interior" room, with no windows to the outside. I wasn't aware that was compliant with fire code. The location is beautiful, at the south end of the Poconos. Nice running routes, with lots of rolling hills. Overall, it's a fun resort but over priced for the accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We appreciate your recent visit to Split Rock Resort. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns with your stay. A lot of guests appreciate the Galleria and its location. If you would like to experience a more modern facility, we would recommend our willow brook suites. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a wonderful time with my extended family here, including a 6-month old. Everyone at the resort was very friendly and accommodating. The golf course is gorgeous and rather challenging (the North course). Stayed at the Westwood houses, which were clean, spacious, and well accommodated with all the little kitchen things you need but don't think of... like a blender, or a spatula. We were able to make ourselves right at home. And be sure to find the putting green right behind the Westwoods, next to the check-in office so you can practice your stroke!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggloege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to write this review to let us know about our services and facilities.
Your evaluation identifies that our efforts are recognized and an important criteria at achieving guest satisfaction. Certainly, I have already shared your comments with our team.
We again thank you for your comments and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we been there for 22 year in a row,ted&jane have good time all the time.we love doc holliday for the last 8years we will miss a lot,but still will have a good time.we eat at bell'ago all the time.the is very good.there is a lot of lpaces to go,we know jim thorpe,tannersville,mt.pocono and many other.we stay at willobrook for last 8 years it's the place there,but stayed all of spliterock and very nice for 22 years.will be back,week of 11/11/2012 and 11/25/2012 can't wait,see you all then.workers and mangers always great.ted&jane the best get away all the time.

Room Tip: westbrook is the ever ted&jane
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I was pleased to read that your experience at the Split Rock Resort, was enjoyable. Thank you in particular for your kind words about our staff - we take pride in our team and I will be sure to share your comments with them, so they are rewarded with the knowledge that their efforts are noticed and appreciated. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The unit itself was very clean demonstrating a diligent housekeeping staff. The staff at check-in very pleasant and helpful. The maintenance man that serviced the TV was very helpful and pleasant. The unit had everything in it that would be needed for a week's stay. Wi-Fi was not available in the unit, very inconvenient. It was necessary to go to the main building to use Wi-Fi. Management really needs to replace the carpeting in the whole unit as it appeared too stained to come clean with shampooing.

Room Tip: Good place for families wanting a lot of activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraditionFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
TraditionFlorida, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Westwood. We are glad that your experience was positive enough to warrant going out of your way to share it. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I will say this, I can only speak on behalf of the Willobrook area as that is the area that we stayed in. We absolutely loved it. Our room was VERY spacious. Very clean. There was a large hot tub in the master bathroom. There was an electric fireplace in the living room.. LOVED it. Honestly, not one negative comment. THe room was clean from top to bottom, there was a little balcony area that reminded me of something out of old time London. We were lucky enough to go during the end of Fall foliage, so we still got to enjoy the beatiful colors of the area. The Resort itself is HUGE. I know for elders it would be difficult getting around unless you have a car. I do have one negative comment about the food onsite. We ate at the Bellago Italian restaraunt, and we both got sick. The people are very nice, but by NO means is it a fine dining Italian experience. It was honestly AWFUL. So we were a little upset about that because it was a waste of money. We went on Sunday to the Benchwarmers bar to watch the sunday football games. GREAT time! The Bar tender Amanda was very nice! We got to speak with other couples that were staying. Just all around great time. One thing I HIGHLY reccommend to anyone traveling in the Pocono Area... GO TO JIM THORPE. It was about a half hour from this location and MORE than worth the drive. We went on saturday and there was a festival going on so we got to see a bunch of vendors, and people walking around enjoying themselves. The people that work in this town are genuinely nice. We ate at Broadway Grill and pub, the food was great (and I am picky!). Then we strolled up broadway, which reminded me of Main Street USA In Disney World. There are a bunch of old time coffee shops, consignment shops, ice cream parlors. There is also so much history in this town that you will leave feeling inspired and part of the bigger picture. We took the train ride on the open air car, which was awesome. They take you around the mountain with great views, and you feel like yiou are on a train from 1800s. We visited ASA packer mansion, and met with Joyce who was a wonderful guide. The mansion was amazing. You honestly feel like you know the Packer family when you leave. The mountains surround this town, so it truly is a one in a million experience.

Back to Split Rock.. if you can stay in the Willobrook section, you are going to have a great time. We were sad when it was time to leave!

Oh, and be sure to hit up Mount Airy Resort and casino, about 35 mins away. I hope you win money!! We werent lucky this time around :)

Room Tip: Willowbrook section.. very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmarket, Guest Relations Manager at Split Rock Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Chisten L, thank you for taking the time to share your experience because every experience drives us to aim higher. I will share your comments regarding the Italian Restaurant and I can ensure you that we are working to achieve higher standards. Meanwhile, I was glad to read that your stay was pleasant. I do hope you will visit us again. Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for a weekend. Slopeside rooms were outdated, seedy & needed a major renovation. Furnishings & bedding were what you would expect from a low end motel although room was well equipped. Except for breakfast buffet, the food in their Galleria restaurant & that which was prepared for a private birthday party was poorly prepared & barely edible. Service was friendly & well intentioned but slow & not what you would mistake for fine dining.The waterpark was the only redeeming feature of the weekend

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ralph n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Harmony hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Harmony
13.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,441 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#6 of 6 in White Haven
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lake Harmony Inn
Lake Harmony Inn
#1 of 1 in Lake Harmony
63 reviews
22.9 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Rock Resort

Property: Split Rock Resort
Address: 428 Moseywood Road, Lake Harmony, PA 18624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lake Harmony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Split Rock Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Split Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Split Rock Resort And Golf Club
Split Rock Resort & Golf Club Hotel Lake Harmony
Hotel At Split Rock
Split Rock Hotel
Resort At Split Rock
The Resort At Split Rock
Split Rock Pa
Split Rock Resort Pa
Split Rock Lake Harmony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing