We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than what I expected :-(”
Review of Split Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Split Rock Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We came here on a timeshare "get-away" type exchange.

First the positives: We booked in building #6, Willowbrook. It is the newest building on-site. VERY nice. Our one bedroom condo unit was spacious and up to date, with flat screen tvs, newer furniture etc. There is a large jucuzzi type tub. The unit had a small, but nice little balcony. The building has a couple nice areas for groups to hang out; so nice if a family comes together. There is a swingset for kids at the end of our parking lot.

There IS a lake onsite, although it was about 2 miles from our unit. There is a shuttle available; but only goes around hourly; so you MUST have a car to get around. The location of the resort is convenient to U.S. 80 and the PA turnpike, so is a handy jump-off spot for many attractions in the Poconos, and is only a couple hours from Philadelphia and NYC. The parking is free. There is a lake with a sandy beach. Boats are available for rent, There is a small outdoor pool (closed for the season). There are a couple indoor pools on the property (no water of any kind near our condo...at least a mile drive away). There is an outdoor park area with free equipment; basketball, volleyball, bocce ball, shuffleboard, soccer. There are several restaurants and sports bars within a 5 mile drive. There is a movie theater, small bowling alley and miniature golf on-site; all cost about the same as you would pay at stand-alone attractions; so not a great deal, by any means.

There were several disappointments: The layout of the property is so sprawling, that it's not easy to just walk over to an activity...you need to drive or ride a bike. The bathroom in our unit had such a small shower, that one person could barely fit in it. The indoor pool at the Gallaria seemed uninviting; dark, water not sparkling, etc. There is a water park, but it is small and expensive...AND closed from Tuesday-Thursday at this time of year. There is a $1 fee every time you drive into the property (they try to make it up to you, by being able to use receipts for some of their activities, which is nice). Unlike most properties we've been to, where such things as pool tables, air hockey, etc. are free...here they charge for just about everything. Had we been a regular hotel guest, there would have at least been the opportunity to purchase a "package" where all the activities were included. The weekly activity program was not very imaginative, and many cost additional money (even Bingo...had to buy card; but the prize was only "bucks" to be used on site. The execrise area and spa are on the second floor without an elevator; there is a difficult way to get to it by driving around the building, and calling the guy in teh building; hoping he will answer the phone.

I would only recommend this place IF you were able to stay in the Willowbrook section AND you were just using it as a place to stay, with your plan being to get out an enjoy what the Pocono area has to offer.

Room Tip: If you cannot say at the Willowbrook condos; you will be disappointed in the rooms...BUT if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zilphap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have stayed at Split Rock Resort (villas) nearly every year since I was a child. I have fond memories of this place and those memories now continue as a married woman and mother of 2. Split Rock Westwood Villas have always been tidy, clean, well kept and updated throughout the years. I have NEVER had a problem at this resort. My parents were timeshare owners.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parentsof2crazyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We got their at 4pm (check in is at 5pm).. 7pm i was finally given my time share room/ apt.. We got to our room and the hallway said it all, BEER CANS at every door step, so we were a bit worried.. Room was missing some of the glasses and plates, we found the broken glasses on the bathroom floor.. where we also found some left over puke from what i am sure was a good party that was had by the previous guests..
Everything is very dated and really not family friendly.. I recommend banking the week and taking it anywhere else.. The outdoor pool is ok but small if all the guest were to show up.. the indoor waterpark is the worst selling point, any kid would be tired of it after about an hour.
We did eat at the bar near the beach the last day, and it was typical bar buger and drinks..
They really dont do anything to make the time share owners feel welcomed or sell it so you want to come back...

Room Tip: dont pick Spilt Rock... if you do, once you get there start calling the front desk, eventually they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Reading through the nightmarish reviews and being there myself, it really comes down to making sure you choose the right room upfront which will weigh heavily throughout your stay. Per reviews, we selected Willowbrook suites. It is definitely one of their new establishments. First off, checked-in at the Galleria. Agree with others that the Galleria itself could most definitely use a face-lift to bring it up to modern day appeal (i.e. better/more lighting, change of color and some air freshener would help too). Upon check-in, the receptionist (women in her 30s-40s) was not too courteous. She seemed impatient in listening to my 15-second prologue (as I was trying to let her know I am checking in for 2 groups). She did not acknowledge my statement and rather rudely just plainly said, "I just need a name". They need to teach better ETIQUETTE being that they are in the business of HOSPITALITY! This can be one of the justifications for such low reviews. She did 'lighten' up towards the end of my check-in process (hmm, could it be she saw where I booked my reservation at the end?).

Leaving the Galleria to drive to Willowbrook suite was a bit difficult to find. The sign can easily be missed (most especially in the dark)! The sign is not lit up at night (something they should consider installing). Once you turn in and about 100 feet area will you then see nice pillars and plaques to the left and right that says "Willowbrook". You can only see this when u drive in - would make better sense (and for visibility) if that was more out in the front.

Anyway, walking inside our building (note: there are a handful of buildings within the Willowbrook establishment that you can be assigned to), yes, there was a slight smell but was not a bad smell as one previous reviewer had experienced. It felt like it was because the outside is all misty/damp probably impacted the main floor/lobby area (as the entrydoor is rather on the thin side). Our room was on the top floor (floor 3). The higher the better (naturally). Upon entering our room, I was honestly impressed by our suite. Clean, no bad smell (the A/C was blasting high so it was rather nice and cold upon entering).

Kitchen area:
Microwave was clean, we used this. There was pots, pans, utensils, glassware inside the many cabinets (we did not use any of them). Fridge was nice and clean (no smell). An unopened roll of paper towel (quite appreciated being 'unopened'). Dishwasher, oven was provided too.

Dining / Living area:
Nice-sized dining table with 4 chairs. Sofabed available, the tv is one of those chunky tvs (not flatscreen). Was on the small size (don't know if it was even 32"?) But that's ok, distance from sofa to tv was not that far anyway. Clean remote, dvd player was available too.

Bathroom:
Nice jacuzzi tub (didn't use), though, looked clean visually. Standing shower was fine too. Amenities were: shampoo, conditioner and a mini bar soap (good thick moisturized bar soap, rectangular in shape, about 1/2 inch thick? - not like those you typically get where you run it under water and it melts away). Good flush on the toilet with tissue paper not too rough (though, was not soft either). The only thing I would say about the bathroom is that their towels are on the rough side. It looks like a cheaper towel they decided to supply out. They should either use a lot of fabric softener or exchanging out for some new towels to provide their guests. We only had one 'newish-looking' towel, which was really soft.

Bedroom:
Nice sliding door between the bedroom and bathroom. The tv here is even smaller than the living room (but got used to it). The bed itself put a bit of damper on the whole experience. Again, looks like a cheaper version of the mattress they decided to go with. The mattress is those shiny light blue flowery(?) design - how I noticed this was by accident, as I noticed our mattress spread was inside out! Yea - let's not go there (though luckily, no visual signs of bugs or anything). I agree with other reviewers of Willowbrook that their bed is on the hard side so woke up with a backache the next morning. Got used to it the next night. Though, having a comfortable bed would have made this a stronger, more positive impact on my stay. In the closets, I did find extra blankets, pillows and spreads which proved useful.

Overall, if they focus on renovating/upgrading their other locations/area, this place would be more inviting and less negative reviews all around.

Room Tip: Willowbrook suite on the top (3rd) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RotatingGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed in the lodge,Rooms were clean, large and dark. Uncomfortable beds and old tv. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Friendly and helpful staff.

food at the galleria restaurant was terrible. Pizza was decent. $4 for a large soda was ridiculous. Arcade was affordable and fun. Nice bowling lanes, indoor basketball and tennis, ice cream parlor were all nice. Turtle racing in the pit lounge was fun.

Didn't try out the water park. Too over priced. Drove a little over an hour to knoebels amusement resort. This place is the cheapest and best amusement park I have ever been to. Affordable rides, nice atmosphere, no lines, great food. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTfromJerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is good. Good for families and kids. Breakfast is horrible. Bring your own food. The room with kitchen is good, but the bed is very, very uncomfortable. In general the hotel is old fashioned and need improvements.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDILUCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed the long weekend at Split Rocks Willowbrook section along golf course. great, very clean and modern and spacious. very close to the properties facilities and area attractions. service was attentive and great! I did not use, but units had fill cooking kitchen and dining area, great for families and adjoining suites with more sleeping areas. all in all, great weekend and resort. Have been here many times. they have an indoor water park, again did not use that area, very cool, great services and as good as it gets in teh Poconos!

Room Tip: Close to everything you want to do in the Poconos. great facilities on property and close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobSassani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Harmony
13.8 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,508 reviews
4 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#6 of 6 in White Haven
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
16.8 mi away
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
22.9 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Rock Resort

Address: 428 Moseywood Road, Lake Harmony, PA 18624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lake Harmony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Harmony
Price Range: $136 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Split Rock Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Split Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Split Rock Resort & Golf Club Hotel Lake Harmony
Split Rock Resort And Golf Club
Hotel At Split Rock
Split Rock Hotel
Resort At Split Rock
The Resort At Split Rock
Split Rock Pa
Split Rock Resort Pa
Split Rock Lake Harmony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing