We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the pork ribs”
Review of Charcoal Chuck's BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charcoal Chuck's BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Nutley, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Order the pork ribs”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We picked up our order and brought it back to the house. Brisket was dry. Bbq chicken was ok. The pork ribs were excellent. Nice smoke ring around the meat and very favorful. Corn bread is also great. We will definitely order from here again. Best bbq in area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“BBQ pulled pork is stellar”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

SuperSized sweet potato fries
Pulled pork moist & flavor packed
BBQ chicken sandwich a bit dry
Slaw is perfect
Lots more on menu
Plenty to drink from beer & soft drinks on tap to bottled beer & soft drinks too
Love the oversized picnic table style interior seating
Outdoor seasonal seating avail
Live music out of doors
Family friendly

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassyslide101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two other tables also complained about the food.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I went there with two male family members on a hot day expecting a cold beer with a good sandwich. The manager greeted and sat us quickly because it was a early lunch approximately 1130 am. The drink order was mixed a little but not a problem. The waitress took her time to take our order and seemed like she was new and not experienced. While waiting the first table sent back a salad not sure what type and said it was not good. They then ordered an ice cream to share and the look on their face said it was bad also. The second elderly table received their lunch and took one bite and sent it back and left. By that time our wings came out and were decent. The rest if the order arrived shortly after three sandwiches two pulled pork and one beef brisket. All three sandwiches were packed with coleslaw and little meat. I tell them I've never had a pulled pork before with coleslaw pack on it or on it at all. The first bite screamed terrible sandwich and the others agreed. The manager came over before the check and I told him about the food and the other tables that were not satisfied also. He told me that he had three new chefs working and was sorry about the food. He took the three sandwiches off the bill. I would not recommend this place to eat maybe a beer but stay away from the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SbkDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem,Pa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went there with 6 adults and had the "dinnerfor2" which fed all of us for $50. It was all delicious especially the ribs. Would recommend to anyone, especially larger groups on a weeknight.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tohsdl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Canaan, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

If I could do so 0/5 stars I would!!! Terrible food. Experience was awful food was disgusting, waitress seemed like she was on drugs, and awful service. Bought a family size stromboli for $20 it came out as small as a children's size if not smaller. DON'T EVER WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal Chuck's BBQ also viewed

Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing