We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Class & Comfort (Inn)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Ariel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had some "over-flow" guests a few weekends ago and we needed a place for them to stay nearby our home in Lake Ariel, Pa.
When we were house hunting a few years ago we satyed at the Comfort Inn - in Twin Rocks. It right off the exit of 84 and also lets you onto 191/196. if you know Lake Ariel/The Hideout/Hamlin/This part of the Pocono's you'll know where I mean.

This comfort Inn was Clean (although some rooms were 'well worn' - there is a difference between NOT being clean and worn out) and the front desk staff was very helpful. As usual with any Comfort Inn, the Continential Breakfast was included - ceral, donuts, coffee/tea, fruit - which came in handy since our guests didn't come back to our house TOO hungry.

There's a little game room for kids/teens. the rooms have a small fridge, so stock up on soda, etc.

Tip: Do NOT go to the Twin Rocks Diner (the truck stop next door) or Cheeckers Diner furtehr along 191/196. If you want to eat in a dinner head out from the Comfort Inn, make a right - towards Hamlin - drive until you get to the traffic light. Yes, THE traffic light - there's only one for about 2.5 miles. At the light either make a left and pull in next to the 1st Gas Station you'll see off that corner on the left hand side - there's a very good diner there. It's always crowded on a Sunday morning. Or at the light make a right for about 1.25 miles and on your right you'll see a diner that has GREAT Breakfasts, Great Chilli, Great Milk Shakes (but average everything else)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTDigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 244 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

We split our driving trip in two segments, so we spent the night here.
They provide a pretty extensive breakfast - lots of breads and carbohydrates, with some fruit and yogurt. I guess I'd say there were a lot of choices - with waffles, eggs and bacon, too. About the quality you'd expect, I suppose.

The room was very big - two queen sized beds. It smelled, however. Once we turned the air on, though, the smell seems to have dissipated. There were hairs on the floor of the bathroom behind the door - so only seen when you closed the door.

So, it was a bed for the night - at $130 all in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Alexandra7457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hotel is located at a convenient location less than a half-mile from Exit 17 of US I-84. There is an excellent restaurant adjacent to the hotel. In addition, there is a truck stop with a gas station next to the restaurant. Thus, all that the traveler needs is located in close proximity to the hotel.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but a continental breakfast is included with the cost of the accomodations. The room was clean and the furnishings were excellent. The staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel over 5 times and have no complaints. It's always clean and they neighbors don't keep you up all night. The breakfast is included and not bad. Waffles, yogurt, baked goods, coffee, juice.... I however, wouldn't recommend the restaurant/truck stop that is next door.

Room Tip: Check travellers magazines at rest stops for discount coupons. Also AAA discounts.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsISeeThem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived late at 10pm and were greeted cordially and directed to the proper entrance closest to our room number 149. This was in the smoking corridor of the hotel which is closed off from the rest of the hallways so that the smoke smell does not affect the rest of the building. My husband is a smoker; I am not, but every once in a while I find a smoking room. This one was phenomenal with a king bed, wifi, two armchairs, fridge and microwave, big flat screen, bathroom that was economical in size, but serviceable. The room was pristine, except for the obvious smoke smell which is logical and expected. Ashtrays were available and clean. The free breakfast served from 6:30-9:30 was fantastic. The best we've ever seen regardless of the hotel brand! The young woman in charge of the area was constantly greeting people and refilling everything from boiled eggs in a glass front fridge, to yogurt, cream cheese, butter, hot water for tea: caf and decaf, coffee: both kinds, hot chocolate, juices, bagels, waffles: cinnamon and regular, syrup, peanut butter, toasted breads and bagels, muffins, fresh fruits, cereals, oatmeal, biscuits and sausage gravy, WOW! It was unbelievably good! No wonder this hotel won the Gold Award for 2011. We hope they keep up the good work. We even stopped and told the housekeepers to keep up THEIR good work in the rooms. What a nice stay for a very reasonable AAA budget online rate! We're looking for a reason to go back to this area just to stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Go online through AAA to get a fantastic rate on a smoking king room
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyLouAkron_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Good location, not as clean as it should be, breakfast was cruddy.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drknite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Good location for our needs, staying for local race track event. Breakfast was decent, rooms were clean,price was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmdlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ariel
18.0 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,460 reviews
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Mount Pocono
304 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,531 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
11.6 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region

Address: 117 Twin Rocks Rd. I-84 exit 17, I-84 Exit 17, Lake Ariel, PA 18436-4859
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lake Ariel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Ariel
Price Range: $82 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region is located just north of Exit 17 off of Interstate 84. The hotel services travelers that are passing through the area on the interstate as well as those who are visiting the area to enjoy the many attractions that the area boasts. Lake Wallenpaupack, Honesdale, Hawley, Lacawac Sanctuary, Claws N Paws Wild Animal Park, Steamtown National Historic Site, Promised Land State Park and Pocono Raceway are just a few of the area's gems that attract guests to the region. Natural outdoor activities abound in the Lake Wallenpaupack region as well, such as fishing, hiking, boating, skiing, and eagle watching all bring people to the area. Guests enjoy beautiful and comfortable accommodations as well as phenomenal customer service. The Comfort Inn has been ranked in the top 10% of all Comfort Inns worldwide for the last several years. It has earned the Choice Hotels Gold Award for winning accommodations and superior customer service for several years in a row. Guests enjoy many amenities when staying at the Comfort Inn, such as complimentary hot breakfast, free wifi, a game room, exercise room and laundry facilities. The hotel is pet-friendly. Twin Rocks Diner is adjacent and is open from 6am until 10pm daily serving wonderful home-style meals since 1976. The Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region is a short drive from numerous activities in Lackawanna, Pike, Wayne and Monroe Counties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region Hotel Lake Ariel
Comfort Inn Lake Ariel
Comfort Inn Hamlin
Hamlin Comfort Inn
Lake Ariel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing