We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lahaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I have been celebrating our anniversary with a weekend stay at the Golden Plough Inn for years. Our weekend happens to fall on the Grand Illumination weekend, which is great! It's such a festive weekend and the lighting is just spectacular! This year (on a tip by another Trip Advisor review) we mentioned it was our anniversary and we were given a delicious cake and a bottle of champagne - free of charge!
We ususally book a king room or a king room with a fireplace; either way we are always happy with our accommodations.
The rooms are very pretty and spacious but have a cozy feel to them. The bathrooms are clean and have double sinks which provides plenty of space for two people. Many of the rooms have been updated with new carpeting, furniture and window treatments, etc. I guess we have been lucky to get these rooms as we have never felt that we were in some rundown room as a few other reviewers have stated- it's been just the opposite! The TVs are not huge flatscreens, but they have many satellite channels and are more than sufficient since we aren't there to spend our time watching TV.
Other things we love about staying at the Golden Plough are: $7.00 vouchers per person for breakfast or lunch each day at two of their restaurants, dining and store coupons, a coupon for a free small bottle of wine at the winery store, a coffee maker and coffee provide in room, bottled water and snacks provided in room, and being located in Peddlers's Village with its beautiful grounds along with an old English/Dickens charm!
The Golden Plough Inn is not meant to be a metro hotel - which is exactly why we love it there!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank VCat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 433 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I traveled her for business and only stayed one night, but my experience was very good. It's true - the decor of my room was a little outdated, the TV was old and small, the bathroom wasn't "plush"; but by it's name and location - "Golden Plough Inn" at the "village"- it was what I expected. The room was clean and had candy!! : ) It is located right at Peddler's Village, so you are able to pop in and out and drop off your purchases before going out and buying more - or to eat. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. I enjoyed the way the main Inn was laid out. There are several rooms that are not located at the main inn - and finding a parking place (there are only a handful) in front of the inn to check-in was a challenge - but once we checked in and were told where to park, we didn't have a problem. We had an exceptional rate because of the tradeshow. One couple told us they had paid approximately $250. for their room and I don't think I would have found the inn to be such a value for that price. We paid $100 and couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentIslandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here while visiting on business. Once upon a time, this might have been a really nice place, but it is way too tired and in much need of a serious renovation. In the room, the carpet looks old and dirty from age. The decor was nothing special - kind of this pseudo victorian thing going on. Anyway, what was the worst was the smell of the room. It had this bad, musty/moldy smell that was just awful. To top if off, there were no screens on the windows so I couldn't even leave the windows open to air the room out. Not going to go back to this one.

Oh, the only thing saving this place from a one star review was the people. Nice, friendly, but not overly helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Plough this past weekend in October for a wedding. We have not stayed there since @1980. Back to the future---nothing has changed--and that is not charming! The canopy on the queen bed (room was sold as two queens) was discolored. The interior doors had paint peeling off. The bar of soap in the shower was really 1980's vintage----about the size of a credit card and not much thicker. Looking out of the only window in the room(we were in the main building) faced a parking lot behind the hotel where the staff of either the hotel, the restaurant or neighboring businesses were continually congregating for a smoke. The TV was an old style (24 inches)--no HD contained in a wall cabinet which was behind two filthy louvered doors. Honestly, thank goodness for Lysol. If you perhaps never stay in hotels, these accomodations might be fine. If you are accustomed to mid level hotels or higher, brace yourselves. Bring flip flops as the carpet was questionable. The ONLY bright spot, the breakfast in the restaurant in the main building was quite good, but honestly I can't get too excited about the $7 voucher that covers perhaps 75% of the bill. Thank goodness we were on our way to finish the weekend in Tribeca, NYC!

Room Tip: Check out other hotels in the area............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan-boy402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have been to the Golden Plough at least 14 times over the last 2 years because I have family in New Hope. If you have never been here, the decor is cheap 1970's victorian knock off, bathrooms are a postage stamp, cable is provided but 15" TV can't fit the picture (not kidding), no plug in's for laptop/smartphone. The front desk staff act disinterested and bored, not one hello or welcome back, and I've stayed here more than a dozen times. But on this trip my daughter (7) came with me, we were treated rudely by hotel/restaurant staff, even my daughter commented that everyone seemed mad at her. Stogy hotel, bad manners, lousy service. I'll take my business elsewhere from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10ktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Get ready to haul your luggage up a couple flights of stairs, not fun for tired, 50ish travelers. Directions from front desk personnel, for getting there were not up to date considering detours due to bridge construction. The tv in our "covered bridge room" was about 19 inches. The village is cute, quaint, and shopping was fun. Expensive for no elevator or bell service. I'm thinking if I ever visit here again, I'll shop, but skip the Golden Plough Inn.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank JCntex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife & I have stayed at the Golden Plough many times over the past 10 years. This weekend we decided to visit & stay for the Scarecrow Festival. We stayed in a "Tavern Room" which is located in the main building. There are different areas throughout the village where you can spend a night, including rooms over the shops. But the Tavern Rooms tend to fill-up quickly because of the great daily rates.
Tip: Not all buildings have elevators so please make it a point to ask. The main building does as well as the Carasel Building.

Our room was clean & comfortable. The carpet was new as were the mattress & sheets & towels. It had a 4-poster queen sized canopy bed, 2 end tables, a small table that could be used as a desk, 2 chairs on either side of the desk, a plush chair under the window & a dresser. The room also had a double closet and a bathroom with a double sink & a tub (not just a shower stall.) Our room didn't have a great view, but it did face the hills past route 202. The room comes with a fridge & a small TV with over 35 channels. The decor made you feel as if you were truly staying in a guest room of an Inn.
Tip: We like the corner room over the Chico's Shop - it has 4 or 5 windows facing 2 differnt directions. It has a gas fireplace and a sofa.

Our overnight stay included a voucher for a bottle of wine (which we forgot to pick-up, again.) and a $7.00 voucher for each of us that could be used in 2 different restaurants. We chose the Buttonwood Grill - it was our 1st time since they changed owners/mgnt. It was very good and the vouchers covered about 85% of our bill. (See review)
Note: The Buttonwood Grill is accessable via the lobby so if rains during your visit you don't even need to leave the building for a meal or cocktails.

Since the weather gave us a great weekend, we didn't take the time to hang around the Sitting Room just past the hotel registration desk. It has several soft, deep chairs & sofas and books to thumb through. The lobby always has that days local newspaper available for you and, depending on the season, they sometimes have apples for you to enjoy.

The desk staff is always very nice - especailly Meg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MTDigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaska
4.7 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Doylestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Doylestown
Hampton Inn Doylestown
#2 of 3 in Warrington
437 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
129 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Brick Hotel
The Brick Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtown
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village

Address: 5883 Lower York Rd, Route 202 and Street Road, Peddler's Village, Lahaska, PA 18931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Lahaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lahaska
Price Range: $125 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Bucks County's picturesque 42-acre Peddler's Village, The Golden Plough Inn features 67 guest rooms and suites that feel as if they've been plucked from beautifully appointed country homes. Hand-chosen fabrics and furnishings, teamed with treasured family heirlooms, create an atmosphere of mirroring the village's Colonial-era ambiance. Under the design direction of noted interior decorator AJ Margulis, the inn merges current design trends with an appreciation for timelessness. Guest rooms and suites are fresh and comfortable, yet stand the test of time. Stays at The Golden Plough Inn include complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet and Free Parking. Breakfast is available at the adjacent Best of Bucks winner Buttonwood Grill. After breakfast, it's time to explore the shops and boutiques of Peddler's Village, enjoy a spa treatment or head into the BucksCounty countryside for golf, tennis, horseback riding and antiquing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Plough Inn At Peddler`s Village Hotel Lahaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing