We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This kitchen is a welcome addition!”

Caleb's American Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Caleb's American Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Lahaska
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Caleb's American Kitchen is a BYO New American restaurant helmed by Chef Caleb Lentchner, former executive chef and general manager of New Hope's Marsha Brown.Caleb's American Kitchen menus are inspired by all things American including steaks, burgers, lobster, shellfish, Creole, California and of course, local and regional farmers from PA and NJ. Offering the finest in New American Cooking, patrons visit us several times a week enjoying poached eggs and fresh salsa over a bed of sautéed spinach, a grilled salmon club with bacon on a buttery brioche bun or the luscious seared scallops with shrimp and lobster risotto. Whatever your taste buds are craving, we have something at every meal to satisfy your palate. Adjacent to Peddler’s Village in Bucks County, PA, this bistro styled eatery is located where Routes 202 and 263 meet.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This kitchen is a welcome addition!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

With so many restaurants in the New Hope/Lambertville area, this Caleb's American Kitchen is a welcome addition to the local restaurant scene. The eclectic menu has something for everyone and includes lighter fare. Prices are reasonable given the quality of the food. The bistro steak was cooked perfectly medium rare and was full of flavor. Lamb shank fell off the bone and was a generous portion. The side of mashed potatoes with root vegetables was a creative way to make your standard mashed potatoes stand out with unique flavor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonystorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    78
    29
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good - but not quite there yet!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We heard Caleb's, a relatively new place, was worth trying - so we did on Friday night. When we walked in at 7:30, the place was packed and so incredibly noisey that my husband and I had to strain to have a conversation at our table. Next time we'll try sitting on the lower level which seems quieter. The servers were friendly and opened our bottle of wine immediately. (It's a BYO)

The appetizers were pretty good - fish tacos and and a quesadilla. The salmon at the next table looked great so I ordered it. It was a generous portion and well-cooked but it had grapefruit slices added and while it's a uniqie flavor, there were so many that all you tasted was the grapefruit. My husband had the veal short ribs which he enjoyed.

The owner and chef Caleb came to greet us - a nice touch. You can tell they haven't found their "rhythm" yet. Our water glasses were never re-filled and we wanted them to be. It took a long time to get anyone's attention, but when you did, they were very attentive. They may need more servers since there are a lot of tables in there.

I would say we'll definitely give it another try...we're always looking for our next "favorite" restaurant in the Doylestown area.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furlong, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Amazing renovation to this location. Awesome breakfast and nice atmosphere. Staff still needs to get trained, organized, and up to speed but would definitely recommend! Wonderful omelet and bananas foster French toast looks phenomenal...next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noisy and small portions”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Change of ownership from a homey,non-descript restaurant to a sophisticated both in decor and menu. Noise was unbearable to the point of not being able to communicate easily with dinner companions. Portions were small and my pumpkin raviola was too sweet and butter sage sauce was burned or overdone.Pasta dishes small in size, maybe a cup portion. Spoke to owner/chef about noise level and said he has had complaints and will try to rectify it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Maybe we'll try again”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Saw a nice review in the paper that prompted us to try breakfast. Entered restaurant and saw about half the tables taken, good sign you would think. Not especially happy greeter sat us with menu's fast enough but nobody came over to our table to take our order. Looking around at surrounding tables with nary a plate of food and even no coffee, the one waitress that I saw said it was brewing. We left after 15 minutes figuring that there's some big issues going on. It appears that this restaurant didn't have it's act together on on many levels.
On a positive note the menu did look good and the one table that got food looked appealing. We'll give it some time, hopefully they get their act together and perhaps try again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckys-budy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caleb's American Kitchen also viewed

 
Lahaska, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Caleb's American Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing