We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Restaurant With A Tuscan View”

Porterhouse Restaurant & Brew Pub
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Lahaska
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Restaurant With A Tuscan View”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

As a local, I have dined at the Porterhouse many times. The food and service are consistently good. If you dine upstairs and request a table by the window, you'll swear that you are gazing at the Tuscan countryside. My personal favorites : filet mignon and crabmeat combo, Cosmopolitan (extra portion served in a small glass bottle chilled in an ice-filled bowl), any burger, sweet potato fries, Porterhouse salad (unless you want it as your main dish, order a small one or you will be taking the rest of the meal home). The Porterhouse is now serving its pub fare on the attractively decorated second floor -- it used to be reserved exclusively for fine dining. This new policy is a plus if you want to avoid the clamor of the downstairs bar. A winner for both lunch and dinner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parrotharcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    69
    26
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just went here for lunch and it was great. Our server, Ryan, was friendly and efficient.
The menu is wonderful with a large choice of starters, salads and sandwiches.
We chose a sandwich off of their specials menu of a Turkey BLT and it was delicious. It was served on a multigrain toast with turkey, cheddar cheese, bacon and greens. A great choice but now I have to return to try several other choices that were very tempting.
Found things here that other places seem to be lacking in-great customer service, a wonderful menu with reasonable prices and delicious, plentiful food in a clean and comfortable atomsphere, the winning combo.
Thanks for making lunch a pleasurable experience.
One drawback was our server's cell phone that rang loudly and constantly throughout our meal near server's station,needs to be on vibrate so as not to annoy patrons within earshot!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtowntravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furlong, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Main "Go To" Restaurant”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Whenever we are having trouble deciding where to go, we frequently agree to go to Porterhouse. It used to brew it's own beer, but now sells other local brews. So they have some really good beers. Their Bar food is excellent. We love their burgers, fries, wings, and onion soup. Lots of different appetizers, favorite is Mussels Bruschetta, always fresh. They have an incredible Porterhouse Salad, with some kind of dry cherries, spicy pecans and blue cheese. They will put all kinds of meats on it, I love the grilled salmon. The salad comes in half sizes which is really good because it is hard to eat the entire salad with nothing else. They have a bunch of non-bar foods also. We love the atmosphere at the bar and people watching. But have occasionally eaten upstairs, it has a lovely view of fields and is much more quiet. I am having trouble remembering any meal someone did not love. Someone said they would not order the fish and chips again, but this will not knock it down to 4 stars for me. Service has always been excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NM66571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just had a wonderful lunch here. My husband had the filet sandwich and I had a hamburger with caramelized onions, mushrooms and sweet red peppers. My side was sweet potato fries and a pickle. We had iced tea as a beverage. Everything was yummy.
We were with several friends and they were very happy with their meals too.
Our waiter was very attentive.
The atmosphere was very nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furlong, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Everytime”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great food, awesome atmosphere, attentive staff! Can be very crowded on weekends. Sit upstairs or down....each has its own special feel. No hesitation...try it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porterhouse Restaurant & Brew Pub also viewed

 

Been to Porterhouse Restaurant & Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing