We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My go-to place when I'm back at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Persian Grill

Persian Grill
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My go-to place when I'm back at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I grew up just down the street, and though I've moved away from the area, I have been eating here (usually take out) for nearly 10 years every time I go back to visit my parents. I crave this food when I'm away, and it's the first place I go when I'm back - though I'm not back often enough! I think in all of those years I've only had 1 somewhat disappointing meal where the food seemed a bit off. This happens, though, when restaurants are training new staff, and generally it's consistently very good. The staff are always very friendly and attentive. I'd eat there much more often if I still lived in the area. Some reviews complain that's it gotten pricey. It's surely more expensive than the storefront pizza/fast food places in the area, but for informal sit-down restaurant fare, I think the prices are pretty standard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LKocaturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Persian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were a party of 5 with a reservation on a Friday night...and seated immediately. Water & hot tea were served shortly after being requested. The food was delicious. The service was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“refreshing change of pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

It's Saturday; I'm not going to go Italian (again), and my wife says Thai food three times in a week is too much....what to do? Persian Grille is what!
We both recall having had a so-so meal here years ago, but despite the trepidation, we went without reservations - in both meanings. The place was more than half filled at 6:45, but we were seated at once, and the service was prompt without being intrusive. Wine by the glass is available at normal prices, around $6-7 a glass(no BYOB, sorry). Hummus appetizer was very tasty, with nice texture and plenty of pita to dip it. My chicken fesenjoon was served with a HUGE plate of rice, and the wife's sabzi polo mahi (grilled salmon) was declared delicious. Baklava for dessert was different than I am accustomed to but quite tasty - more pistachio, i think and far less honey than others I have eaten.
Although the noise level was high, it was far better than some bars where we have eaten lately; at least here we could carry on a conversation without being drowned by a jukebox.
Service throughout the meal was attentive but not pushy. And at around $70 for two dinners with wine, I'd call it quite reasonable, not pricey. We will be going back - and sooner this time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a great meal and good time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have been living in the area for over 10 years. The Persian Grill is always a spot I like to go if wanting something a little different or on the healthier side or just looking for a Great meal. Bimal and the entire Staff is always so friendly and makes it just an enjoyable time for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BandL519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Blue Bell, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's gone downhill over the past 6 months . . .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The restaurant was half empty, yet it took a full ten minutes for a service person to realize that we were seated, but never given menus. Waiter asked a number of times if we would like an alcoholic drink - we declined, and asked for water. Throughout the meal, we had to ask for water glasses to be filled, or for dirty dishes to be removed. The table was permanently stained, and the bench seat had a large tear in the center of the seat. .
Our Hummus Appetizer was watery. The Zereschik Polo, a Cornish Hen with basmati rice, seasoning, and berries, was very pleasant, sweet, but not overpowering. Unfortunately, the Cornish Hen was about 1/2 hour overcooked and extremely dry and leathery. The Addas Polo, basmati rice mixed with lentils, raisins, dates and slivered almonds and served with a portion of lamb or veal shank, was tasty, but only 5 chunks of lamb. My companion left hungry.
We've been here before. The attentiveness of the service people and the quality of food has declined, and the prices have risen considerably. .

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persian Grill also viewed

 
Lafayette Hill, PA
Lafayette Hill, PA
 

Been to Persian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing