We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Training Class - Great Food - Nice Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chubb Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lafayette Hill
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Training Class - Great Food - Nice Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ace Conference Center for a training course and was pleased with the upgraded food menu and the renovation of the rooms and carpeting. The food on the buffet for lunch and dinner was really top shelf, lots of vegetarian and fish choices. My room had been recently renovated and was very nice. The wireless worked great with no password required and was quick. Over-all a nice experience.

The property does need to find a place for walkers/joggers. They will not allow anyone to use the golf course paths which is maddening early in the morning when no one is on the course and you are "trapped" in the conference center as there are no trials are places to jog/walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACEConferenceCenter, General Manager at Chubb Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to respond about your recent stay at the ACE Conference Center. I was thrilled to hear about your recent experience, particularly the positive comments about our dining options provided by Wolfgang Puck Catering and our recently renovated guest rooms. I am disappointed to hear about your not being able to find an adequate jogging trail nearby. We do offer a walking trail on property, in addition our guests find half mile long driveway to provide an appropriate path for jogging. We also offer treadmills in our gym as an indoor running option. Should your travels bring you back to the ACE Conference Center I hope that you will find one of these options to be useful for your needs.

Thank you again for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,

Daniel Briones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
3
1
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Del City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

When I got a cab from the airport the driver put in the address into his gps and the gps had "no clue" where the hotel was located. After an hour, $80 cab ride and getting lost I had to call the hotel for directions for the cabbie. Adding to the confusion the hotel is located at a country club and a convention center. The hotel was not within walking distance to any restaurants or shops. Upon arrival at 8p the hotel had a $50 buffet or a $25 roast beef sandwich. The room was clean and comfortable and the conference rooms were very nice. The hotel grounds were clean and quiet. The hotel is sprawled out and can b a long walk from the front desk. Most rooms have patios. The hotel itself is secluded and quiet and has a nice view over the countryside. From what a cab driver said Lafayette Hill is one of the safest places in Philly. It's about a $35 cab ride to downtown. On the third nite there i decided to stay in room and order a pizza from a delivery restaurant 1.5 miles from the hotel. The delivery driver didnt know where the hotel was and called me for directions. WTH??? When I left for the airport to go home the cabbie went thru the city and it cost $50. Cabbies were not very friendly. But I did get to visit Paddys Pub from It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia. That was worth the trip. I'd like to go back and spend time site seeing. If I stay at this hotel again I would rent a car.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACEConferenceCenter, General Manager at Chubb Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay at the ACE Conference Center. I am disappointed to hear about the challenges you had in getting here and that your cab driver was unable to locate the property. Our facility has been located here for almost 30 years so it’s discouraging to hear that an area cab driver was not able to locate our property, even with GPS. As we are situated on 300 acres along with The ACE Golf Club, we are not within walking distance to area restaurants and shopping, however we do offer complimentary transfers to nearby destinations. Additionally we do offer a lighter fare menu in our lounge, I apologize that this was not made clear to you during your visit. Should your travels bring you back to the ACE Conference Center please contact me directly so I may be of assistance to you to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in the Philadelphia area.

Regards,

Daniel Briones
General Manager
ACE Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We needed one room for a Saturday night and were able to get a great rate. We found a spacious room that was very clean and had everything we might need, including extra blankets and pillows in the closet. I understand the comments about some rooms being far from check-in area. The staff were extremely helpful, however, and told us where to park to be closest to our room. A request for extra towels was promptly taken care of. This place has everything that we needed and we really liked it. Clean & quiet - just like we like it!

Room Tip: Ask where you should park when you check in so that you can park closer to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theorbo-pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had our 5th (every 5 years) camp reunion at this facility. They overbooked. We had to go elsewhere for Friday night. When we arrived Saturday some of the group had no rooms even though they had confirmed reservations 6 months in advance. Desk personell were impersonal and the manager in charge got people handicapped rooms after the desk said there were no rooms. The manager did not smile nor say she was sorry. My room was the last one in the place. Could not have been further from the lobby. The dinner was a buffet. When platters were empty they did not refill them as normal. The food was poor. Lines were long. Service was dismal. I would never go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh_PaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

This hotel had five star quality in a great location that makes you feel like it is remote, but really is not. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and the service was very quick. They only down fall was that I personally did not like the food. Some of it was more exotic than I personally care for, other stuff was brought in and just didn't look presentable. I would go back in a heart beat. I drive past it and wish I had a reason to check in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staciobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

This property is fairly nice with a well maintained golf course with pretty views in a good location. The rooms are slightly outdated, yet clean. Beds feel cheap and have plastic mattress protectors, so it feels as though you're sleeping on a shower curtain, but it did the job. Rooms have abundant sunlight and large sliding glass doors.... And while they each have a great balcony, they are shared with other rooms so we didn't use the balcony to give our neighbors their privacy.

This property has lots of potential, but they will need to do some reshuffling of their management as we were greeted with a shockingly rude and unhelpful assistant manager named Jeffrey Kelly. We were appalled at his classlessness and unprofessionalism when we were late checking out of our room after my wife became ill with food poisoning after eating their breakfast. Hoping for a bit of understanding for checking out 30 minutes late because my wife had been vomiting profusely since breakfast, we were met with the threat of charging us for an extra night (while he had our credit card in hand) and a security guard escorting me and my poor wife from the room.

We travel weekly for business and have never in our many years of traveling been met with such bitterness, lack of compassion, unprofessionalism, and surly threats.

We hope ACE looks into this manager's behavior as it is truly a detriment to the success of their business.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wetravel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

We booked this hotel thru the Valley Forge site. Great rates! The hotel is beautiful and very serene, on a golf course. The rooms are great with a balcony. My daughter planned to sip her wine and watch the wild life from it.

The only bad things about the hotel is that it does not have a swimming pool and it is a long walk to the rooms. MY grandson is on crutches and I have a gait problem (they have since taken the pool site off their site). This is not the fault of the hotel

The manager felt sorry for us and booked us into another hotel that had a pool at the same rate.

We could not ask for anything more from this hotel. The staff is great and the manager is also great.

Choose this beautiful hotel for a great weekend. You will not be sorry!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lafayette Hill
Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Chestnut Hill Hotel
#16 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Hampton Inn Plymouth Meeting
#2 of 6 in Plymouth Meeting
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philad...
#1 of 6 in Plymouth Meeting
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#5 of 6 in Plymouth Meeting
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chubb Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chubb Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Chubb Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 800 Ridge Pike, Lafayette Hill, PA 19444 (Formerly ACE Conference Center)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lafayette Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lafayette Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chubb Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of Center City Philadelphia and near Plymouth Meeting, Chubb Hotel & Conference Center combines 300 acres of rolling hills and woodlands with distinctive, state-of-the-art venue for any type of meeting or event. We offer 120 newly renovated guest rooms, featuring custom-designed modern furnishings. Wolfgang Puck Catering provides their award-winning cuisine with flawless service and creative flair using seasonal ingredients that are sustainable and ethically raised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chubb Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel Lafayette Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing