We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A prime location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lackawaxen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1870 Roebling Inn on the Delaware
Ranked #1 of 2 Lackawaxen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A prime location”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

A prime location for a Bed and Breakfast…right at the junction of the Delaware and Lackawaxen Rivers. If you love nature and outdoor adventures, or are interested in historical sites, this is definitely the area to visit. The inn is very close to the Roebling Bridge which was built in 1848 as an aqueduct to carry canal boats over the Delaware River. It is the oldest suspension bridge in the U.S. The famous Western author, Zane Grey, lived in Lackawaxen for 13 years and he is buried just a few hundred feet away from the Inn in the Union Cemetery. The Roebling Inn is listed on the National Historic Register and it's wonderfully preserved and very comfortable. We were warmly welcomed and given all the information we needed to make our one night stay memorable. By the way, the breakfast was outstanding! My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer, but we will be back. Thank you for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtnLady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
137
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My friend and I stayed in a room with two double beds and were basically only there to sleep and eat breakfast. It was clean and comfortable, but a bit spartan. If the owners invested in a few small splurges - 2-ply toilet paper, thicker towels, a blow dryer for the room - it would be even more comfortable without adding too much to their costs. Bring your own shampoos/soaps/etc since only the bare minimum are provided.

DJ was a very accommodating host, offering lots of help and advice. The breakfast on the first morning of our stay was very good (baked french toast and scrambled eggs).

There is hardly any cell service available in this region and the B&B has free phone and wi-fi available. I would certainly recommend this location if you are looking for a quiet refuge and don't require a lot of amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Went to see the eagles and we did. Comfortable, wifi, breakfast delicious and owners very nice and informative. Our room faced the river which we loved to watch the snow fall and look at the river. The inn was clean and cozy, met other visitors that had stayed there before. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We write about places, cities, hotels or inns, that "work"! Roebling Inn works incredibly well with everything we needed being anticipated and nothing too much trouble for DJ or Joanne. Our lovely room overlooking the Delaware was exceptionally comfortable and we marveled at being able to hear the river, gliding by while we lay in bed at night. No traffic, no noise, the peace being almost palatable. All this plus bald eagles sweeping over the river, the most seductive porch in the world and a bounty of magnificent food for breakfast. The hot breakfast dishes are beyond compare. DJ's omelets are superb. Most of all, it was the warm, inviting hospitality. This is a B&B, just over an hour and a half from New York City and Philadelphia, yet a million light years away. It is second to none. Roebling Inn is a well oiled house of peace that works for the frayed nerves, the anxious, the insomniacs and those of us who merely need to recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We enjoyed stay because it was so relaxing. Next to the river. Scenery abounds. We got to see an eagle on both days of our stay. The Inn keepers are very helpful. We have driven by many times before and never stopped. Now we can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville Pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

DJ and Johanna are great hosts. Their place is clean and neat and they are very friendly and always ready to make the stay enjoyable. We have stayed their before and visited again with friends this past weekend. The beds are comfortable, the rooms have sufficient room for our luggage plus all of our camera gear. Breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly PA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Super delicious breakfasts, prepared by DJ each morning including a "to die for" apple/cranberry cobbler. House and individual rooms well kept and clean. Nice place to simply "get away". Innkeepers helped readily to obtain fishing liscense and bait. Nice to sit along the Delaware or Lackawaxen and look for bald eagles, fish for trout and small mouth bass. Other than that, not a whole lot going on. Antique shops were overwhelmingly disappointing. Plenty of good bars/restaurants, though--most with a cast of colorful local characters.

Room Tip: 2 rooms face the Delaware River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliedob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lackawaxen
15.0 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
215 reviews
10.2 mi away
Settlers Inn
Settlers Inn
#1 of 4 in Hawley
365 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
46 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
337 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Mansion at Noble Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Roebling Inn on the Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Roebling Inn on the Delaware

Property: 1870 Roebling Inn on the Delaware
Address: 155 Scenic Dr, Lackawaxen, PA 18435-9787
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lackawaxen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lackawaxen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TEMPORARILY CLOSED DUE TO OWNER'S HEALTH. Romantic and historic B&B is a getaway for nature lovers seeking to recharge and reconnect. Riverfront setting amid beautiful scenery. Near restaurants, kayaking, rafting, fishing, hiking. Bald eagles are frequently on site. Located 2 hours west of NYC; 2 1/2 hours north of Philly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing