We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Short Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lackawaxen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1870 Roebling Inn on the Delaware
Ranked #1 of 2 Lackawaxen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Short Getaway”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Beautiful view and a very nice atmosphere-nice people running a comfortable bed & breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEL1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
137
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2011

If you're looking for a cozy, comfortable place to "chill out," the Roebling Inn is it. It is definitely a home away from home. This was our sixth visit to Roebling and we have never been disappointed. The breakfasts are excellent and the atmosphere relaxing. The rooms are clean and attractive. Sit on the porch and watch the Delaware River flow by. Excellent restaurants close by. Just a perfect place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are comfortable we prefer the two with river views. We don't get that at ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tags3013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The inn is right on the Delaware River between the Zane Grey house and historic Roebling Bridge. We swam in the river twice and walked around the small community. The porch and hammock were great places to relax and read. The hosts saw to everything, including providing great restaurant suggestions and cooking excellent breakfasts. We even saw local fireworks from the parking lot!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trigger63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was a great place to stay. The breakfast which was listed as a buffet was really more than that. There was a glass of fresh fruit every morning, as well as home baked breads. The hot item was fantastic, and made to order. The couple running the inn was very helpful and available any time. The only comment I have is that the towels were substandard. If they invested in some nice towels, which I don't believe would be a huge expense, I would give this an excellent rating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We are repeat customers, always enjoying our stay at the Roebling Inn. It is charming and authentic without being cloying. Just enough modern conveniences (private bathrooms, gas fireplaces, cable flat screen TV's with DVD players) without obstructing the feeling of being a country inn. Complete DVD library available for guests and on-line access.

Quiet peaceful location with excellent quality mattresses and bedding allows you to get a restful night's sleep.

Sit in the parlor playing board games or backgammon, enjoy relaxing by doing nothing but sitting in lounge chairs watching the river go by and nature in its habitat. Beautiful views of the river and bridge, and build a campfire if you want.

Plenty of activities in the area for those who want more activities, from nature hiking, river canoeing, Zane Grey Museum, next door, etc.

Full breakfast in the morning completes the enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZippyTheDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Roebling Inn on the Delaware is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate the body and spirit. The opportunity to relax on your porch overlooking the Delaware is beyond description. The breakfast was simply wonderful, especially the homemade blueberry pancakes! Even though we only were able to get away for one night, our stay was so relaxing that it felt that we were away for much longer We cannot wait to return to see the innkeepers and the eagles!

Room Tip: Two front rooms face Delaware River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The scenery surrounding this B&B was gorgeous, and the Inn itself was quite pretty. The owners were unobstrusive, but almost too much so - definitely not all that personable. The description on the website was a little misleading. It described the Inn as being within walking distance of restaurants and shops. There was only one full service restaurant within walking distance, and one deli-style restaurant/general store. The only shop within walking distance was a sporting goods/river outfitter. Still the view of the river from the front porch almost made up for the lack of other things. I had read some reviews that indicated disappoinment with the breakfast provided, but we thought that it was pretty typical for a continental style breakfast, so no complaints there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmacaluso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnnLackawaxenPA, Owner at 1870 Roebling Inn on the Delaware, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
We are walking distance to the historic Roebling Bridge, a restaurant, a cafe, the Zane Grey Museum, the D&H Canal Toll House Museum, the Eagle Institute (winter), a public park, PA boat launch access, and boating rentals. And we have bald eagles (frequently) and fishing on our property. With all due respect to the reviewer, our website does not state walking distance to shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lackawaxen
15.0 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
211 reviews
10.2 mi away
Settlers Inn
Settlers Inn
#1 of 4 in Hawley
360 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
333 reviews
3.7 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
41 reviews
5.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Roebling Inn on the Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Roebling Inn on the Delaware

Property: 1870 Roebling Inn on the Delaware
Address: 155 Scenic Dr, Lackawaxen, PA 18435-9787
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lackawaxen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lackawaxen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TEMPORARILY CLOSED DUE TO OWNER'S HEALTH. Romantic and historic B&B is a getaway for nature lovers seeking to recharge and reconnect. Riverfront setting amid beautiful scenery. Near restaurants, kayaking, rafting, fishing, hiking. Bald eagles are frequently on site. Located 2 hours west of NYC; 2 1/2 hours north of Philly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing