We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not that bad.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lackawaxen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Lackawaxen
Ranked #2 of 2 Lackawaxen B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's not that bad.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place wasn't as bad as I was expecting when I read the reviews. I stayed one night in a suite after a wedding. The wedding was nice, the room was fine, two bedrooms and one bathroom. It was more of just a place to crash while drunk. If you're going to the area on "vacation" or something stay at a bed and breakfast. The bar was great and the bartenders were hella fun. If you want a "peaceful" night maybe you shouldn't stay at a restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Suite 3 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    0
    3
    16
See reviews for
13
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Rooms are poorly serviced - such as sheet for single bed on a double bed!!
Amenities amounted to 5 lotions, (no shampoo) One(1) wash cloth to be shared by two, no bath mat, 1 hand towel one day, none the 2nd day. We did get 2 bath towels. Finally found some wash cloths in laundry room. Calls go to bartender who is busy serving drinks & can't help. No management responds to anyone in our group even though we rented the entire place for 2 nights & dined both nights. Noise in all rooms over bar will permit sleep only after 2 AM. Bed was so bad that one of us used bed cover for pallet & slept on floor after bar noise closed down. Food is good & plentiful if you can wait 1&1/2 to 2 hours after being seated. Location on river is lovely but you pay very dearly for the location. Rooms didn't leak which made it one step above homelessness!

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay - cocktails on deck over looking river is best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lackawaxen hotels

Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

For three years, I have brought in a group that booked all their rooms, ate in their restaurant, and purchased drinks in their bar. This time was the worst experience I have ever had there and I will not be bringing my group back to the Lackawaxen Inn ever again! My group (Potomac Area Road Riders from the Washington, D. C. area) arrived at 7:00 p.m. Friday evening August 16, 2013. My room was not ready until after 8:30 p.m. Even though the Check In time is 3:00 p.m they refused to even consider a discount on my room. I asked to speak to the manager a number of times but he never showed his face. One would think that for all the business I had brought them, he would at least welcome us. Rooms 3, 4, and 5 are located above the bar. The bar is very loud and noisy and does not close until 2:00 a.m. If you use any of those rooms, you will not get any sleep until the bar closes. Room 5 reeks of cigarette smoke. One could develop lung cancer from being in that room. Everything in that room smelled like cigarette smoke. Even the bed linens. It was the worst 2 nights I had ever spent at any hotel in my entire life. The food in their restaurant is exceptional but you will wait long for it. For our group of 13 people, it took 1 hour and 45 minutes before any food was put on our table from the time we sat down. You have to plan on 3 hours for dinner at the Lackawaxen Inn. It's a real shame. The location and scenery is excellent but the customer service and facility stinks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Settled into room late. Next morning we found a blood stain on the mattress cover and my kids found a bottle, cups, and a candy wrapper under the bed. Room was not vacuumed well and the beds were not comfortable. We checked out and they would not refund my remaining two nights on my reservation. They claimed that they have a 48 hour cancellation policy which I should have been informed of over the phone, but I was not. I did not see such a policy on their website or anywhere else in writing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

we stayed at an inn within walking distance, so we were VERY happy to find that the Inn at Lackawaxen had delicious food with HUGE portions and a pretty good range of beers on tap. We actually went there two nights in a row so we could have a few drinks without having to worry about driving back through the winding, mountainous roads of the Poconos. The back deck had excellent views of the Delaware River and we even saw a bald eagle one night! The second night we were there, a cover band played in the main dining hall until late. We got a chance to speak to the bass player before leaving and he said they were booked til 1:30am. So I guess I understand how that may not be fun for those staying there. So go for the food & pick somewhere nearby to stay the night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaycie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just below where the Lackawaxen and Delaware rivers merge, and in sight of the fully restored Roebling bridge you'll find the Inn at Lackawaxen. Sitting outside at dusk overlooking the river is a delight and so is the varied menu. The very large indoor dining room is tastefully decorated with interesting art. Last time there I was a part of a large group and they did have service problems causing a very long wait for food. The restrooms are located near the bar area which is a popular meeting place for the locals. Beware of the heavy cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Never a bad meal, reasonably priced food, nice sized portions, and a great view of the river! I have been here a few times and always look forward to making a stop here when I'm in the area. Summer months you can relax on the deck overlooking the river but its a nice area to visit any season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blairstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lackawaxen
12.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Milford
60 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
638 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
14.8 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
215 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Lackawaxen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lackawaxen

Property: The Inn at Lackawaxen
Address: 188 Scenic Drive, Lackawaxen, PA 18435
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lackawaxen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lackawaxen
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing