We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kutztown
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good food”
Review of Kutztown Tavern

Kutztown Tavern
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Kutztown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family style sit down restaurant that also incorporates a micro brewery. We provide a full bar for guest and good food and a revolving micro brew list on tap. Banquet facilities are also available on site.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was good but a bit pricey for what you get. Service was quite and just ok. Very busy place hard to get your waitress to stop. But she was friendly.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank trooperdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited here with friends on two occasions in the past 6 months. Had a Portabella burger first time, Beef hamburger the second. Both burgers were good, but GREASY! Portions were HUGE. I would have preferred a somewhat smaller burger and smaller fry portions. At least have the option on the menu.

Service was good both times, staff pleasant and friendly. Seated promptly on arrival, was not crowded either time. We were there both times on a weeknight, not weekend evening.

Ample parking in the back parking lot. Will visit again.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ofannod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here on a Tuesday afternoon for lunch. We got here around 1:30 and they weren’t real busy. Our waitress was friendly and took our drink orders. First thing I noticed was that none of the sandwiches come with French Fries just chips. If you want fries you have to pay extra. I had a belly buster fish sandwich. It was a large pice of fish however the piece of fish was thick at one end and thin on the other end and the thin part of the fish was hard and over cooked. My lady had a portabella melt and it was just warm the cheese was melted on it. Don’t know if we will return.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank RonO446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Kutztown Tavern has been a staple in this college town for close to two decades. It is a roomy restaurant with a large bar and daily specials. The beer is very good, and there is a relatively wide variety, plus a seasonal brew. I would rate the food as “comfort food” although there are some salads and seafood dishes on the menu. However, meals are not especially unique, tending to follow the safe trends we can’t seem to escape from here in eastern PA. However, the shepherds pie is a lovely savory dish, perfect on a cold night, the bratwurst and kraut is great with beer, and the soft pretzels and cheeses as an appetizer are yummy. For a special treat, bypass the restaurant and try the “Tasting Room” (located in its own attached space on the other side of the brewing tanks). You can order from the Tavern menu, or order a few specials unique to this room, along with beer and all local liquors and wines. The bartender is excellent. A fun place to go if you enjoy local conversation with your food.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vanhoskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

First time here. Turkey panini hit the spot. Young staff but did fine. Also had a beer flight. Chocolate desert was tasty and feeds 3-4.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Catlvrpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kutztown Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing