We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kutztown
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great Local Spot”
Review of Kutztown Tavern

Kutztown Tavern
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Kutztown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family style sit down restaurant that also incorporates a micro brewery. We provide a full bar for guest and good food and a revolving micro brew list on tap. Banquet facilities are also available on site.
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

Our daughter attends Kutztown University, and this place is always a great option when in town.
A very large and inviting interior with plenty of seating.
Something on the menu for everyone, from excellent personal pizzas and Burgers to great salads and lighter fare.
Local beers are also a nice touch.
Great for family visits or to watch sports at the generous bar.

A home run in Kutztown you should not pass on. There is street parking out front, but a parking lot in the rear allows easy access. Fyi, from the rear lot, a flight of stairs inside might make it difficult for anyone with limited mobility.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 137 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2019

There were six of us who met for lunch. Our server was very attentive and made great suggestions for us well. We had the following items: Portabella Burger done as ordered, Pretzel Crab melt, Tuna Melt and a Turkey Melt. All items were delicious as were the sweet potato fries. The atmosphere is great and the tables are spaced and not on top of each other. The only disappointing part is the price of the sweet potato fries when added to our orders, $3.50 is a little steep for a swap for a side. We did not have any beer or desserts.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mommaruff89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

Nice place in a history filled building.Food is good , service friendly. Good selection of local beer.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappyAndFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

The Kutztown Tavern is one of my son’s favorite places for us to meet when we are in town to visit him. They have a large selection of appetizers, salads and soups, along with burgers, sandwiches and pub-style entrees. Their pretzel appetizer is very good but sorely lacking was the usual melted “beer cheese” or cheese sauce one would expect. We’ve asked for this every time we’ve visited, to no avail. Regardless, it’s a nice local tavern with good service.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 885shariv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

We have been here as a couple but our last visit was with a group from my husband's work for a time together for Christmas. There were 15 of us and the waitress did a really good job with us- very pleasant and good at remembering who ordered what. The atmosphere was pleasant, the food was good for a reasonable price and we were served in a reasonable fashion with not too long of a wait for our food to arrive.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Chris A Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kutztown Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing