We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants I have been to in NEPA”
Review of Canteen 900

Canteen 900
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Canteen 900 is all about real people and real food. Make Canteen 900 your new destination for coffee, espresso, pastries, breakfast and lunch! Our full menu has something for everyone and all ages. Eat in, take-out, or have Canteen 900 deliver group orders to your office. Don't forget to ask about or check our page for daily specials. Having a party? Canteen 900 is also available as event space for your next special occasion and is happy to create an amazing menu for you and your guests. Bon Appetit!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurants I have been to in NEPA”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I wasn't sure where to go for lunch, so posted to facebook that I was looking for ideas. A friend suggested this one based on foursquare rating....Figured I was game for it, so after arriving and parking...made my way in and found a table. Rob the waiter was wonderful with suggestions for my lunch and it arrived well prepared and tasted amazing. Had some sandwiches packed to take home for family and everyone was thrilled. Flatbreads with avocado, red peppers, and turkey... canteen 900 special...and a torpedo sandwich. Will definitely be back to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherInglitere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    19
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy, but loud”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

900 Rutter is the hippest building in Northeast Pennsylvania; and Canteen 900 fits right in with the scene. Vegetarian-friendly options, great coffee, locally-culled, sustainably farmed menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good spot if youre looking for something new”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in for a bite one day. Truffle parm fries are incredible and the takeout order is huge. The signature turkey sandwich is alright. Just average considering it was small and $10. Id go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank violetslament
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, phenomenal food!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

GPS has a tough time finding this place. Glad I finally found it! I had the Tuesday 1/29/13 soup and sandwich specials. The soup was a sublime and slightly sweet cream of mushroom soup that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. The sandwich was 2 perfectly breaded and delicately fried pieces of prosciutto wrapped chicken on top of some expertly prepared broccoli rabe finished with a red pepper cream sauce; served with homemade chips and a crispy sour pickle.

Noise is not an issue, restaurant has high ceilings, decorations are totally cool and menu is eclectic but not overwhelming. Favorite part was the music: heard lots of live dead and Jerry band.

I will come here every time I get to Wilkes Barre!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven - best meal I have in a week”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

While traveling back from FL to CT we found this on Trip Advisor. This place is fantastic. Coffee is smooth and strong. Food is beautiful and flavorful. I was so happy to eat delicious, beautiful, healthy, healing food. The staff and owner were lovely. I'm sad it is 2 hrs plus from my home, it would be my new favorite place. Got a bit lost trying to find w/ GPS, call them if you get lost. 8)

Helpful?
Thank SharingExperiences63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canteen 900 also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to Canteen 900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing