We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shrine to decadance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Philly
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A shrine to decadance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Prices are sinful for what you get - food wise. You're paying for a show - the actors are the servers, and they do a helluva job.

But the food isn't nearly good enough to match the prices. I had the sirloin and it was horrible. I've had better tasting beef at Wendys!

Keep in mind that Capital Grille is a Darden brand. Darden is the Olive Garden/Red Lobster company, and to me, CG is just a fancier version with similar quality food.

Oh yeah - the personal wine lockers were way too over the top for me. I'm A-OK with a personal locker, but to have the "owner's" name posted seems to be a really bad case of braggadocio.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilbur_the_goose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    76
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently On The Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Ate here on a recent weeknight. Nice bar, friendly bartenders. Asked right away if I would like the tab added to my dinner tab, which I find very accomadating . Had the N Y Strip...cooked to perfection. Lobster Mac and cheese is quite good as well. Very efficient friendly service. Would reccommend if you are in the mood for a great steak dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rdlownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Don't go here if you like Applebys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Service was impeccable, very classy design. Need to work on cooking there steak, that would be cooking 101. But other wise we are looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank shawn12505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delco,pa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“High prices, Low presentation,Lower value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was just here on the weekend with my gf.

First off, I called up and asked ahead of times about dress code( which is business casual) and reservations, and although they said that they were strongly recommended, they do take walk-in into the private OR dining area and said they should be fine when we arrive.. Well ,when we got there at 5pm( the time they said should be fine) The dining area was reserved totally till 9pm.. .the private area they mentioned that only allow walk-ins was the bar! Poor customer service there.

Despite the prices and the classy feel, it was somewhat of an illusion. In the bar ,they actually had a deer head on the wall behind the tables.( oh yea. very classy).Everything was dark. My gf made a comment that even though it was fairly quiet, she was a little uncomfortable...and that it lacked romance... she stated that it was almost like a "Gentlemen’s club" rather than a restaurant.

Regarding the food:

I heard this place wasn’t as expensive as a few other expensive restaurants in KOP. Boy were we wrong.!

First off, everything was al-a-carte.

In the appetizer section I noticed 2 lobster and crab cakes ( the serve said they were each 3 oz ) for 20 bucks! I repeat. TWENTY dollars! 6 oz total! For that I can get twice as much crab meat other restaurants. (with just as good meat- not claw. I’m talking about lump crab meat)

For an actual dinner, it $45 - MINIMUM for entrees ( and that’s a low ball with not much food) Some steaks were 50,60 and 70 dollars... A Seafood sampler for 1 person was $99.

Wine is expensive, but that’s a given.

The one thing i will say the bread assortment was fantastic except for this water cracker
( I forget the name)They didn’t offer preserves to go with it or anything. Just butter and it tasted bland.

The wedge salads were $12 , which was very overpriced considering the poor presentation ,.Basically it was 1/4 of a lettuce head slices off,, some blue dressing on top , some bacon bits on top of that,, and 3 slices of tomato to the side.,( not even diced) Actually, no, not basically; that’s EXACTLY what they give you. I have been to many 2 star restaurants that give you a far better presentation (for half the price.)

The shared sides weren’t any cheaper.. One 6 inch cast iron plate full of lobster mac & cheese was $16. But it was delicious and had real lobster meat in it. Other than the bread, it was the only thing that impressed me. But at these prices, the food should have been dancing into my mouth and presented better.

The server was highly knowledgeable and polite. But apparently, the phone customer service was not knowledgeable.

Expect to pay for 2 people-200 dollars if you have (each) ONE salad, entree a glass of wine and desert.

Recommended for the lobster mac and cheese.Not recommended for low customer service ,presentation, and value..I will be eating elsewhere from now on, unless

Although it was not a noisy place there are better places with a bit more comfortable and romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank matfromdelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,755 reviews
1,216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
“Great wine, great service and good steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Been going to Capital Grille since i started going in the 80's in Providence..Its expensive but you know what you get. Great wine, good steaks and great service

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing