We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local stop for lunch”
Review of Half Moon Restaurant - CLOSED

Half Moon Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great local stop for lunch”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very nice lunch. Right on Main Street but weekday parking was only a few doors down. Ask to be seated upstairs, very nice and airy with a screened in porch away from the street and noise! Food arrived quick and was very tasty. Lots of locals having lunch there spoke volumes. Good food, good service, will stop in again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    105
    36
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not warm and friendly”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We went with some friends recently. We had been there when they first opened and found it smoky and noisy, so that tells you it had been awhile and we were anxious to try it again. They are known for their burgers so I ordered a bison burger. A beef burger was also ordered at the table. Both came very, very salty, which always makes me wonder if they are trying to cover up some other taste. When we mentioned it to the server, he was not really concerned nor interested. Another diner at our table wanted a bison burger but cooked medium well-the server's response was, "bison doesn't have a lot of fat so cooking it medium well will dry it out-YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!" She got the short ribs. The special burger of the night was Kangaroo-that made me pause and think a bit.

After dinner, we went upstairs to have a nightcap at the bar and to check out the rooftop. The dirty look we got from the bartender made me think we were interrupting a private party but when I asked she just said she was "closed". It was 8:50 on a Friday night, there were about 15 other people up there so I guess she didn't want any more tips.

The restaurant is still very noisy. They do have a very large selection of beer-have no idea where they keep it all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjohn27883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Menu disappointing.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants. Over the past year the menu has added more game items with very few other options. The past couple visits have been disappointing. Not only in the menu choices, but also in the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Half Moon Restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My favorite beer on tap is Hoegaarden and this is one of the few places that has it. But only downstairs. Upstairs does not serve it

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wild game entrees are their specialties.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Want to broaden your palate with delicious wild game? Half Moon is the place. Can not go wrong with any choice as prepared to be delicious!

Our Server, Emily, was a super star. Her guidance for our choices enhanced our dinning experience. So, Jullian, make sure Emily and the chefs continue with the great service and food - make reservation at least 4 days ahead for a Friday or Saturday. Great good - killer service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Restaurant also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing