We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for groups!”
Review of Half Moon Restaurant - CLOSED

Half Moon Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great for groups!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We always visit Half Moon restaurant for my brother in law's birthday (the day after Christmas) and also for work events. Great bar area (upstairs and down), offering some creative cocktails. Food is fresh, the staples of the menu do not change often but the specials and meats do! This is a 'wild game' restaurant where you will find anything from alligator to boar, including ostrich and lama. Building has a historic feel and the upstairs is great in the summer when they open the doors and the breeze comes through.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelby1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    105
    36
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had dinner here the day after Christmas with our daughter and her boyfriend after visitint Longwood Gardens. The service was fantastic, the waiter never even wrote down our order, the food was great. A nice ending to a wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillpainterMoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delightful happenstance find following visit to Longwood Gardens”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a great menu. Wild game. Creative salads. Delicious soup. We had a long drive home so we did not indulge in the beer and drink menu - but it too looked enticing. Only complaint was we ordered way too much food for two people. Not realizing the size of things - we could have easily gotten by with the crab nachos with avocados (delicious and enormous) with a soup to accompany it. But we also ordered salad (Pear, argula, feta, candied walnuts) and an entree. (Buffalo burger) Way. Too. Much. Food. Plus for all of that - the bill was surprisingly low. So definitely we will return upon our next visit - and order wiser the next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delightful Christmas Eve”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A friend who lives in PA led us to the Half Moon Restaurant. We were excited to dine here as we were told of some of the unique items offered on the menu. The restaurant is located in a downtown environment and although quite chilly out, we window shopped as we approached the restaurant. Upon entering we found it to be a pub-style restaurant and bar. Being the holiday season, everyone seemed pleased to be there. The hostess inquired if we would like to dine in the "rooftop" section which is upstairs. We did! We found a lovely dining area which had a separate bar area and surrounded by glass so we could look out over the surrounding area. Beautiful view, especially with all the holiday lights ablaze. Note: in warmer seasons, the glass areas open like overhead garage doors allowing the entire area to be an open rooftop dining room. Would love to return during warmer season to experience it. Servers were attentive and offered to answer any questions we may have about the menu which included some unusual food offerings as well as traditional meals. We shared the crab nachos as an appetizer and Wow! My husband chose the Australian Rack of Lamb and I had the Cider Braised Wild Boar Shank with butternut squash spaetzle and it was incredible! We shared a dessert (which was awesome) and asked if herbal tea was available. They brought a box filled with all types of teas and we chose an herbal tea appropriately called, "Christmas Eve". Our experience at this establishment was marvelous and made Christmas Eve very special for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brokendreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Service was a little slow. Food, however, was excellent. Very good beer and drink selection. They have a kid's menu, but we found it weird that they don't have ice cream. A very minor complaint.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing