We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice of Brews”
Review of Half Moon Restaurant - CLOSED

Half Moon Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
NEW YORK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice choice of Brews”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The food and service was excellent also. Have some wild game dishes that we didn't try this time, but maybe the next.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank LLTTFNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    105
    36
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local bar atmosphere”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A little dark downstairs, try for a rooftop seat especially when the weather is good. Half Moon is known for exotic meats - love the Buffaloaf!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank irishspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow service, food overcooked”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

While our waiter was attentive, the food service was extremely slow for both appetizers and the main course. Our waiter finally brought one appetizer and said the other would still be a few minutes. This was after waiting a half hour. Once dinner was served the mahi mahi was overcooked and a smaller portion then expected. The shrimp in another dish was also overcooked and tough.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peeps223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lunch”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Had a great lunch on a late Saturday afternoon. Crowd at the bar was sedate and enjoying themselves a lot. Very American pubby. We had their version of a cheese steak which was a really nice change up. (flat bread, thinly sliced prime rib, scallions, and I think feta) And a quiche of the day with sun-dried tomatoes and artichokes. A couple cups of the smoked mushroom bisque rounded out a very nice meal. The menu offered a tempting array of other offerings and some great looking beers - we stuck with some more traditional Spaten and Guiness drafts. (Which was very nicely done with a nitrogen charged keg!) Service was prompt and well done. No fuss. Really liked the place a lot - I would love to go back and try some of the more adventuresome items on the dinner menu. Looks great!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovetheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab-u-lous”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My husband and I took our daughter here for her birthday and it was WELL worth the drive from Douglassville in Berks county! The service was amazing and the food was absolutely delectable. We sat upstairs and the view was great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Restaurant also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
 
Kennett Square, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing