We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Ice Cream”

Michoacana Icecream
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Kennett Square
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting Ice Cream”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

La Michoacana offers some delectable ice cream with interesting flavors, such as corn, cheese, and avocado. I would buy ice cream here simply because of the flavors and not because of the quality of the ice cream. The ice cream itself is average, and just that. The flavors are hard to taste, and I am worried about the food dyes obviously used. Still, it's good to try, and the pricing is cheap.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    31
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Homemade Ice Cream Ever”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

They have the best flavors of ice cream, mine is strawberries and cream. The passion fruit water ice is great on a hot summer's day. Stop by and taste some for yourself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a different variety of ice creams.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

they had one called corn ice cream and it was delicious and different in the same package. The same family has joint ownership in the taco places we ate at.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cirlorbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Corn Custard”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

First time ever tasking corn custard. It was sooooo good. Tasted like buttered cream corn. It will surprise you that it's so very good. Will definitely make the trip to have more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnettaV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Exotic Mexican Ice Cream - A Wonderful Guilty Pleasure”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were driving through Kennett Square, PA and searched on our smartphone for the nearest ice cream place and Michoacan came up. This is a very small shop that looks like an old fashioned corner grocery from the outside but is a compact ice cream wonderland inside with a terrific assortment of ice creams, popsicles and Mexican desserts on a stick.

I asked for a caramel milk shake with cake-flavored ice cream (Pan Dulce) and asked for caramel to be added - the proprietor asked if I wanted the caramel mixed into the shake or drizzled down the inside of the cup. We wound up doing both. The caramel is old-fashioned, thick, sweet and butterscotch flavored which is hard to find these days.

My wife noticed that the ice cream flavor that was most popular was "corn" so she ordered that and when she did, she was asked if she wanted chili powder sprinkled on it. I know. That sounds a little weird, corn flavored ice cream with hot chili powder on top. But it was INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS. What a strange and wonderful taste sensation, totally unexpected. It was an Andrew Zimmern moment!

We highly recommend the Michoacan Ice Cream shop in Kennett Square if you want something really special and out of the ordinary. A great place to bring the family, or a date.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FutureTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michoacana Icecream also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to Michoacana Icecream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing