We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Somewhere Else”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant
Restaurant details
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere Else”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Do yourself a favor, go somewhere else.
Our kids wanted Mexican food. the only reason we ended up at El Ranchero is because power was out at La Pena (just down the street).
The food at El Rancero was just OK.
While the waitress was nice, the service was slow. After ordering, it took well over half an hour to receive our food - one plate at a time.
With all of the other choices in Kennett, pick another place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Absolutely the best Mexican food I have had - and I am not a big Mexican Cuisines person. My wife and I have been traveling from Chadds Ford for years to eat here. Fantastic Ceviche on a Tostada. I don't know if you ever tried to find decent Ceviche anywhere in the Philly or suburbs area but I haven't until El Ranchero. Large portion, delicious and reasonably priced. Rest of food was very good but I always seem to order the steak Fajita which comes on a steaming hot metal pan on a block of wood. Also BYOB so we bring our own Mexican beer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but SLOW!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went there with my family to spend time together and have a meal together. The food itself was okay, well prepared and tasty. The waitress (when present) was very nice and polite however the service is VERY slow, they took what seemed forever to take our orders, then the food took even longer to be ready and the place wasn't even full, there were only two other tables with two or three patrons maximum. So I say, if you want to give the food a try go but be ready to wait for a good while because their service is not very efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viajantesinrumbo0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A Great Find if You are Looking for Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It has been very hard to find good Mexican food since our favorite Mexican place closed in the last year or so. My husband and I like the real experience -- food that is not from a chain restaurant -- and this place delivers. We had dinner on a day visited Longwood Gardens -- which is located a short drive away. I checked reviews online before we left and they were favorable -- so we decided to take a chance and stop for dinner after spending the day at Longwood. I ordered my favorite dish -- chicken enchiladas. The three enchiladas were served with mole sauce, a scoop of rice, chunky guacamole, rich sour cream, and some lettuce and diced tomato on the side. I topped them off with some of the delicious salsa that was on the table (along with some exceptionally tasty and very crunchy tortilla chips). I was in taste bud heaven. The cilantro in the salsa complimented the many flavors in the dish. Needless to say, I made quick work of this hefty platter of food...you might say I overindulged a bit since I don't usually eat three enchiladas -- two are enough to fill me up...but I was really enjoying this meal. My husband was also pleased with the fajitas he ordered. The were a combination of chorizo sausage, beef, chiicken and shrimp --- stir fried with onions and peppers and seasoned just right. This dish was served with four corn tortillas -- you could choose between corn and flour tortillas when ordering. The entree came with guacamole, rice and salad greens, too. We were both very happy with the food, the price, the quality, and quantity of the meal. If we are in the Kennett Square area again, we would be sure to stop here for dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service quality is declining”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Even with an abundance of empty tables, our party was continuously waiting for service. Drink refills, food delivery and even silverware arrived sporadically in what seemed to be a trend consistent at surrounding tables as well. Food was average to good but with so many other quality Mexican options in the Kennett Square area, I'll likely choose another venue in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnoxRents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing