We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of The Cafe

The Cafe
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 1
Owings, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have eaten at this restaurant twice. I ordered the value meal $11.50, and got 1/2 ham sandwich with fig jam, chili, 1 piece of fruit and a drink. The food was wonderful, tasted homemade. I was planning on scraping off the fig jam, but when I tried it, it was wonderful. So happy to see a "green" restaurant, which recycles. There's a nice view of the gardens too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    133
    40
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great for a casual bite”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

No reservations are needed here. The desserts are very good, and the soups. A little pricey for a cafeteria style, but it's Longwood Gardens. A great alternative to the 1906 restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank artyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent cafeteria-style service at Longwood Gardens”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are a variety of hot and cold food choices--something for everyone! From healthy hand-carved sandwiches, to hot choices you'd find in a fancy restaurant! Good choice for those who want to sit and relax for a while, and eat while inside Longwood. We've eaten here many times!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food, not good prices”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

3 out of 5 because quantity and value is lacking...

I LOVE the Mushroom soup here--- when it's good, it's great...sometimes they miss the mark though (substitute cook not following the recipe?). If u get it and don't like it b sure 2 tell them & they'll let u choose something else. The lady that manages the area is very sweet.

The food is very pricey, I'm not sure what some of the other reviews consider expensive if they call this "reasonable" 2 pay $9+ for half a sandwich is not reasonable to me. I can not tell u about the other items as far as taste as they're way too expensive 4 me 2 justify buying. The cheapest thing is the sandwich items they have. I did try carrot cake (again really expensive) once as dessert, it was ok at best, not worth its price. They do sell Woodside Creamery Ice cream, a GREAT local ice cream which is a TREAT if u have never had it. B willing 2 shell out $5 4 a scoop.

I do love that the Cafe takes MOST of the waste and recycles and/or composts it. (Not the sauce containers or lids, but YES 2 the small plastic like spoons.

The atmosphere is great when the crowds r manageable. Don't go during prime feeding frenzy. People act like penned sharks (patrons, not staff) and it's difficult 2 find seating too. Luckily if the weather is nice there is a lot of outdoor seating 2 accommodate.

Bottom Line? Don't go there starvin' unless u have a fat wallet & $ is no object.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CeaCea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I expected cafeteria type food, but they had more of a variety and better quality selections than I expected. If you are a member of Longwood Gardens, you get a discount, too! Nice desserts :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Papr1ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
 
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to The Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing