We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Longwood Gardens
from $52.00
More Info
from $53.00
More Info
from $625.00
More Info
Reviews (4,327)
Filter reviews
4,327 results
Traveler rating
3,746
430
85
29
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,746
430
85
29
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fountain show main fountain christmas display water lilies mushroom soup formal gardens beer garden light show children's garden beautiful flowers christmas season full bloom pipe organ dupont family year round dupont house du pont
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 4,327 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

We’ve been to botanical gardens around the world and this is indeed one of the best. The scope of its “rooms” from the flower gardens to the meadow to the Italian Water Fountains to the Conservancy - the water lilies are fantastic - let alone the main water fountains are broader than most botanical gardens. We will come back again and again.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Energydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

The gardens at Longwood are just beautiful. There are two fountain shows - if you want to see the major one, you need to get a timed ticket the day before or early in the day...very early. You will get closed out. The small one runs often during the day, and there is room to see it.

This is not a trip for small children. There are gardens filled with gorgeous plants, trees and flowers - but no playgrounds or activities meant to keep kids entertained...and did I mention the walking...

Lots of walking involved. Keep that in mind if it is a very hot day, or if you have someone with respiratory or movement issues.

Gift shop - I bought gorgeous plants - succulents. The gardener was there to advise me on selections and care. There are many other products from books to lotions and jewelry, and more. All very pretty.

The main house is open for walkthroughs, has a video and exhibits in the rooms. Don't miss the courtyard, which has bistro tables and chairs.

** There are a number of well loved and cared for rescue cats on the property. They are friendly and to keep the rodents and other pests away.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Alexa_in_Wanderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

We recently visited with a friend from Wilmington, DE, just a short drive from there.

We were stunned by the grounds, not quite grasping how wonderful this place is. We had tickets to the mid-afternoon fountain show and proceeded straight over to the viewing area. This is such a great production, wonderful music and fabulous fountain display ... top rate.

We marveled at the wide variety of trees, plants and flowers in the large conservatory. We took a number of photos but you capture the real beauty unless you see it in person.

We echo what all the other positive reviews have noted. It also has a nice place to sit down, have refreshments or some healthy food.

The day we went was very hot and the conservatory is very warm as well, so having a hand fan or battery powered fan is a good addition to the visit. Definitely hydrate, bring some water.

We hope to make it back for an evening show someday, which we understand is magnificent ... Christmas time frame as well, given the breadth of decorations they do.

It was well worth the visit and we'd highly recommend spending time on the grounds if you get a chance.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank hawaiian_rays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

We are members and go frequently and usually are thrilled, but not this time. We went in the evening arriving around 5:30 to see gardens and enjoy fountain display. We wondered through the outdoor exhibits first and for the first time were disappointed. Everything was subdued as they used a lot of grasses. Now we like grasses and have some around our yard. But these had grown so tall and bushy that they would let you see the colors behind them and over shadowed the colors around them. We went into the conservatory and as it was growing late it was dark inside and there was minimum lighting so again the colors didn't stand out and though the displays were very nice it lost it's impact. I would recommend going in while there's plenty of light outside. The lily pads were very interesting and you could actually see a blossom opening while you watched. Than the rains came and along with it lightning which postponed the show until 30 minutes after the last lightning strike, Since it was 9 PM we packed up our chairs and went home. Not Longwood's fault but something to keep in mind. Not sure why the hold off until 9:15 to do the fountains as its dark a lot earlier and we would have gotten it in that night.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 37_years_together
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

If we lived closer to Longwood Gardens, we'd definitely have an annual membership, not only to see how the gardens changed with the seasons, but also to get ideas for our own garden, make use of their many paths for walking, and just to take the time to try to see everything. Spent four hours and we know that we missed a lot (the meadow garden and everything in that direction, the trees, the restaurants, etc.). The fountain show is fun, if short. I envy the locals who have access to the gardens.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews