We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens are majestic, brunch is very good.”
Review of Longwood Gardens

Longwood Gardens
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$495.00*
and up
Brandywine Valley Tour with Private Driver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The garden spreads out over 1,000 acres and includes 20 distinct gardens in the conservatory alone.
Québec city area
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gardens are majestic, brunch is very good.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Mother's day brunch and garden visit in May. The gardens are simply majestic -well kept, varied and an easy stroll - even with crowds of people! Of the three -Winterthur, Nemours and Longwood- Longwood is the best.

Brunch was very good. Breakfast options are very good to excellent. The lunch part is okay. Meat loaf varieties don't seem an appropriate item for a Mother's Day brunch. Some sort of carved meat (turkey, ham at least not to mention maybe something more apropos like roast beef or leg of lamb). Can't really complain because the price includes entrance to the gardens, parking, taxes and tip -that doesn't leave the chef with much to work out a complete brunch. The desserts are in small portions to allow you to take a little of everything. It is well worth it -maybe my expectations were too high for the brunch!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GLT-LCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,727
    329
    61
    23
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“All seasons enjoyment”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

What else can you say about Longwood except how gorgeous this place is. I've been a member for several years now and it was the best investment (and reasonable) I've made. No matter when you go, there is always beauty to appreciate. Good place to go to see what nature is all about and get away from all the craziness around us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
243 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited Longwood for over five hours and were truly enchanted. The conservatory was beyond our expectations by a long ways - simply incredible. We learned a great deal speaking with both staff and volunteers; this is truly a must see place in DuPont country.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HikerDave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Transport yourself”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

It's amazing that (depending on where you live) you can drive an hour or two and totally transport yourself away from the drudgery of everyday life and enter a horticultural paradise. You can easily spend a couple of hours wandering through the huge conservatory, which is full of beautiful sites and smells (as well as sounds from the many exhibits with water falls). The acres and acres of outside grounds have all manner of habitats, but the favorite for my wife and me is the flower walk in Spring. The cafeteria also offers a wide variety of delicious food and desserts. There is also a really nice restaurant in the same building, but we have always just gone to the cafeteria. Pair the trip with an overnight at one of the many nearby hotels or B&B's and it makes for a wonderful quick getaway.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Photographer heaven”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The 2.5 hour drive was so worth it. I can see myself going back at least once a season. The gardens are amazing. Really to much to take in in a day. I will post a shot or two as soon as I process them. Make sure u make reservations at their restaurant too. Fan!

Helpful?
Thank debi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longwood Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Longwood Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing