We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longwood Gardens

Longwood Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$495.00*
and up
Private Brandywine Valley Tour with Driver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The garden spreads out over 1,000 acres and includes 20 distinct gardens in the conservatory alone.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
232 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited Longwood for over five hours and were truly enchanted. The conservatory was beyond our expectations by a long ways - simply incredible. We learned a great deal speaking with both staff and volunteers; this is truly a must see place in DuPont country.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HikerDave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,632
    327
    60
    23
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Transport yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

It's amazing that (depending on where you live) you can drive an hour or two and totally transport yourself away from the drudgery of everyday life and enter a horticultural paradise. You can easily spend a couple of hours wandering through the huge conservatory, which is full of beautiful sites and smells (as well as sounds from the many exhibits with water falls). The acres and acres of outside grounds have all manner of habitats, but the favorite for my wife and me is the flower walk in Spring. The cafeteria also offers a wide variety of delicious food and desserts. There is also a really nice restaurant in the same building, but we have always just gone to the cafeteria. Pair the trip with an overnight at one of the many nearby hotels or B&B's and it makes for a wonderful quick getaway.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Photographer heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The 2.5 hour drive was so worth it. I can see myself going back at least once a season. The gardens are amazing. Really to much to take in in a day. I will post a shot or two as soon as I process them. Make sure u make reservations at their restaurant too. Fan!

Helpful?
Thank debi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gem of Chester County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The former estate of Pierre DuPont, this garden is a wonderful mix if history, horticulture, fresh air, stunning buildings, modern conveniences, and above all a dazzling array of plants. Flowers, ferns, trees, shrubs, water plants, and everything in between are kept manicured and in prime condition for every season of the year. Whether it's an orchid exhibition in the conservatory, Spring tulips and bulbs on the grounds, Summer's full bloom or Winter's Christmas displays, Longwood manages to be a different experience on each and every visit. We love it so much that we became season members, just to go back and see it in each of its many seasons.

While a wonderful location for long walks, Longwood's paths are accessible to strollers and wheelchairs, and they have a number of scooters available for those less able to walk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The most beautiful day I've had in a long time.

Spent about five hours walking through heaven. From the flowers to the landscaping to the flowers to the fountains to the flowers, could not have asked for a more gorgeous experience.

Can't say enough to do justice, will upload some photos -

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longwood Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Longwood Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing