We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Longwood Gardens

Longwood Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$495.00*
and up
Brandywine Valley Tour with Private Driver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In 1906, industrialist Pierre du Pont (1870-1954) purchased a small farm near Kennett Square, PA, to save a collection of historic trees from being sold for lumber. Today, Longwood Gardens is one of the world’s great horticultural displays, encompassing 1,077 acres of dazzling gardens, woodlands, meadows, fountains, 10,010-pipe Aeolian organ and 4.5-acre conservatory. Longwood continues the mission set forth by Mr. du Pont to inspire people through excellence in garden design, horticulture, education and the performing arts, through programming that includes exhibitions, musical performances by leading artists, renowned horticulture education programs, horticulture research, environmental stewardship and community engagement.
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Fantastic place. Strongly suggest a membership if you're local.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,819
    340
    63
    24
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Longwood Gardens is spectacular”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

From the summertime fireworks show to the wintertime Christmas Lights Display, Longwood Gardens knows how to put on a show. This is on top of the fact that it has such beautiful gardens and flowers and an enormous greenhouse.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank rlancaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Longwood Gardens has the best lanscaping I have ever seen! It is so pretty and unique there. I loved climbing the tree houses and walking by the pond. There are gorgeous flowers, wooden carvings, and plants everywhere. If you like lanscaping or flowers, you should definately go to Longwood Gardens!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank reerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Something for everyone in all seasons”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our group consisted of a woman in her 60's and 2 women in their late 30's, visiting on a Tuesday (no crowds). We had an extremely enjoyable day - arrived around 10:30 am and didn't leave until they were closing down for the day (6 PM). We were expecting rain in the afternoon, so our plan was to walk around outside until it did and then visit the indoor conservatory. We explored the grounds - visited the Italian water garden, the Cathedral Tree House, The Loft Tree House, and many casual and formal garden areas. We ate lunch on site - it was delicious, but on the expensive side. A cheaper lunch option would be to leave Longwood (get your hand stamped for re-entry) and find food elsewhere (no outside food is allowed on the grounds, so a picnic was not an option). After lunch, we spent 2 hours in the indoor conservatory, and are not sure we saw everything, so don't let the threat of rain keep you from visiting. Luckily the rain held off for us, so we spent the rest of the afternoon outdoors - saw one of the main fountain's 5-minute long water shows, further explored the grounds and visited the Chimes Tower and The Eye of Water (a round flat fountain sitting in a pagoda-like setting).

You can't see everything in one visit, both because the place is so large and because different plants bloom at different times. We have decided to go back this summer to see the roses and the water-lily pavilion (open May through October), as well as a special exhibit they will have then. I have previously been in January 2006 (there was snow on the ground so we only visited the Conservatory) and in the autumn of 2009(?) (gorgeous fall colors and fall-blooming plants galore)

We did a LOT of walking - if you cannot walk great distances, they do rent scooters, but I have never done this, so I can't review that aspect.

This is an extremely kid-friendly place. Though we didn't have any with us this trip, we can't wait until my niece is old enough to join us. There is an indoor children's water garden that we are so excited to take her to - there are whimsical fountains, child-sized furniture and mazes to explore in addition to activities ranging from scavenger hunts of various levels (easy to expert), a xylophone to play, and foam paintbrushes to "paint" on the center fountain wall with water. Bring a towel and change of clothes, as they are encouraged to interact with the fountains by sticking their hands in. There is an outdoor children's garden with a bee theme that looks just as interesting, and educational to boot. We didn't spend much time exploring that on this visit.

Longwood's website is very helpful. In addition to ticket prices, hours and directions, there is a page where you can find a map of the grounds and one of the conservatory, and on another page, see a PDF file of what's in bloom that week, both outside and inside.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smm628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

always something new to see here. very pretty and worth the trip

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank dotnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longwood Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Longwood Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing