We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winery”

Galer Estate Vineyard and Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great winery”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a beautiful place. There are interesting touches everywhere that you know someone took their time to research and place, and the deck and view of the vineyard is gorgeous. The staff was very friendly and knew their wines very well. The wine is delicious and I look forward to going back for an event!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chester County Vineyard”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This little vineyard is a newcomer to Chester County having purchased Folly Hill Vineyards
It is a delightful setting with added new
buildings and restoration to existing outbuildings.
. Their wines are organic with no pesticide spraying and
the awards they have won are proof of their hard work paying off.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chitabe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I were practically regulars at the winery that used to be here called Folly Hill. The wines weren't spectacular but we enjoyed the setting, and the way the staff remembered us and welcomed us each time. We were disappointed when they closed, but happy that a new winery took over the property. We are not huge fans of wine in this area, but we do enjoy visiting the vineyards because they are close to home and something to do in this area for wine lovers like us who plan our vacations around wine regions.

We finally had the opportunity to visit this new winery this past summer. We took our friends with us who wanted to experience the wine trail of the Brandywine Valley. Galer was hosting some sort of party or festival, because the place was packed. We somehow were able to get a place at the tasting bar and although we had to wait a bit to get glasses, we were acknowledged. Normally, I would have no patience for this, but they were clearly understaffed and the sympathetic side of me came through. This nice lady who worked there finally came over and treated us like gold amongst the craziness. I mentioned to her that we frequented the former winery that was housed on the property. She actually offered to take us on a tour, and what a tour it was! What a beautiful property, and the plans they have for the property is wonderful. We need to take more advantage of their Friday and Saturday evening entertainment because they are close by, and their wines are actually pretty ok for the area. We love ice-wine and they make two that are insanely yummy.

If I had to choose one winery to visit in this area, I would choose Galer. Please note they are only a few miles away from Longwood Gardens so a great side-trip would be very convenient.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JerzeeeyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, Wines to Make a Special Trip”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hidden in a residential neighborhood behind Longwood Gardens, Galer is definitely worth a visit. The wines are really good, and the owners are clearly taking care to develop fine wines.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great well rounded variety of wines”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled into Galer soon after they opened and were very impressed with their Roses. They started with 1 red blend and a couple Chardonnays and Roses and all represent great winemaking skill. The Roses are the perfect balance of dry and fruity, and their line of Chardonnays range from unoaked to (I think) 21-month oaked. They have since added a few other reds (Cab Franc and another red blend). We have tried almost all of the wines and love them all! Be sure to stop by once they have bottled the new Cab Franc and Vidal Blanc ice wines.
We found the staff to be very knowledgeable and extremely friendly!
Additionally, the tasting room is one of the most beautiful ones we have visited. The owners have placed a really neat variety of antiquities (like stone slabs from Independence Hall on the bar) and the outside has an awesome view.
Be sure to check out the live music on weekends and bring some snacks, grab a bottle, and enjoy a wonderful and relaxing evening.

Helpful?
Thank tmgelsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galer Estate Vineyard and Winery also viewed

 

Been to Galer Estate Vineyard and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing