We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal and service in a relaxed atmosphere”

1906 at Longwood Gardens
Reserve with OpenTable
1906 at Longwood Gardens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 1
Description: In the midst of 1000 acres of one of the world's premiere horticulture centers, 1906 at Longwood Gardens offers a fine dining experience that is unparalleled. Enjoy lunch daily and dinner seasonally with a view of the Longwood Conservatory and the gardens of the former du Pont estate. GARDEN ADMISSION IS REQUIRED TO ACCESS THE RESTAURANT.
Pequannock, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good meal and service in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We paused for an early dinner- 5PM- to avoid the crowds on a very busy Saturday, and had no trouble being seated without a reservation. We opted for inside dining and It was a very relaxed meal. Since this is the mushroom capital of the world we both ordered the mushroom ravioli (photo attached), and enjoyed it. The drinks were good, and we had a delicious appetizer of scallops with bacon jam. My only regret is that we didn't have room for dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    90
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

1906 is nice place for lunch or dinner.

We had lunch outside and really enjoyed our meal.

It all started with bread shaped like a mushroom. Delicious!!!!!
Next we had mushroom soup,
That was really good. Do not miss out on getting this award winning soup.
Our main course for lunch were the Mushroom Ravoli and Salmon

We look forward to our next visit back to 1906.


  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gentle service with very good food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We dined here twice, once for lunch on the outdoor patio and later that evening for dinner in the formal dining room. . We were tired after a two hour drive, and told our lunch server we wanted to relax before touring the gardens. The lunch transcended peace and dining, on the outdoor patio for two hours relaxing and leisurely working through a superbly paced delicious meal. The mushroom soup is remarkable, as is the cheese plates with wine pairings. Dinner was white tablecloth style and excellent, I had one of the best steaks in my life. Superbly cooked and easily one of the top ten cuts of beef ever. Like beef flavored butter. The only discontent was an adjoining table with two hyper-noisy children and overindulging parents. However, they were treated with dignity and patience by the staff, so one cannot mark against the staff for the issue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNoFearFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Food with Friends”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

1906 is a gem. Beautiful gardens and great food. We have been to 1906 many times and we are never disappointed. During the warm weather we love to sit outside on the deck and at Holiday time the seasonal fare is wonderful indoors. Everything we have had has been wonderful including the special seasonal drinks and sweets. It is a good idea to make reservations, it fills up fast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Continuously Excellent”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

With a reservation, we had dinner at 1906 on July 3, 2013. We were seated promptly and the food and service were superb, as usual. The chef creatively uses various spices to bring forth dishes that test our tastes and make us smile. We will return again with fun expectations for a special meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1906 at Longwood Gardens also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to 1906 at Longwood Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing