We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much nicer than the place down the street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kennett Square
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at the competing place just down the road, and the Hilton Garden Inn simply kicked its butt. I will only stay here from now on when I'm looking for a hotel in the area.

First, the staff was terrific. Tina at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean and relatively comfortable. I say "relatively" because of the goofy "adjustable" bed system they use. It really doesn't adjust much, and ultimately it was a pretty basic type of bed. Not great, but not terrible, either.

We booked through Expedia, and I had selected the "bed and breakfast" option, which meant that I paid for my breakfast up front. When I checked in, I received coupons for our breakfasts. Other than leaving a few bucks as a tip, I didn't have to worry about paying for our meals.

The breakfast was pretty darned good. Made to order eggs/omlettes, pancakes, and waffles. Self serve scrambled eggs, potatoes, and breakfast meats (including bacon, sausage, and even scrapple!). Hot oatmeal, fresh fruit, and a variety of juices NOT dispensed from a machine. It was a really enjoyable breakfast experience. Way better than the overcrowded, plastic-utensil offering at the other place I stayed.

In the evening, the hotel offers wine via an honor bar style setup, as well as complimentary cookies, hot coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. They also have a sweet little lounging area in front of a gas fireplace and big screen TV, should you want to unwind and relax in front of a fire.

The location of the hotel is pretty sweet, as well. There is a burger joint about 200 feet from the hotel, and they also share a parking lot with an Applebees. If you want something different, walk a little farther to a Japanese sushi place or a Mexican food place. Not what you want? Two or three minutes in a car will get you to a couple of pizza places, a sub shop, a Starbucks, and even a winery tasting room. Failing that, there are a couple of grocery stores nearby. Very convenient.

The indoor pool and hot tub at the hotel were okay. The facility is open until 10:00 PM, and we showed up at 9:00 PM to find no clean towels available. A quick mention to the front desk cleared it up right away.

To wrap it up, I was very pleased with my stay, and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest-
Thank you for visiting us at the Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square! We are pleased to hear your visit was pleasant, and you had a chance to meet Tina. She is a terrific agent who has won many awards and really enjoys engaging with our guests. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to hosting you again. Enjoy January!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 606 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

The biggest indicator of the quality of customer service is how they handle a problem. We had a problem with our reservation, and they handled it quickly and professionally, it was very nice. They were also helpful with other questions.
I usually avoid the Hilton Garden Inn chain because breakfast is such a pain, but here the staff was attentive and breakfast came quickly. The breakfast buffet really isn't that much different than you would get at a Hampton Inn for free, except for the cooked to order pancakes and eggs, and the setting is more formal.
The pool is small and the hot tub wasn't hot enough for my husband, but was fine for me. An added bonus was the bunch of little beach balls in the pool area, which was really made the pool really fun.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaRBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest-
Thank you for visiting us at the Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square recently. We are pleased to hear we resolved the issue to your satisfaction, and your stay went well. Our staff here really appreciates our guests and enjoys reading the feedback. We hope to have you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I enjoyed the stay even though I had read reviews the place can get really noisy. I asked about this at check-in and warned them that if I couldn't get sleep at night I'd check out immediately. They told me there was only a large business group of adults and they wouldn't make much noise. What they couldn't get me was the king room that is in my Hilton profile, claiming the reservation was for a double room, which was not true. The breakfast has to be ordered from a single cook and if there is a large group of people it takes too long, and the portions are very small. I get a better deal at McDonald's! It's not worth the $9.95. It's an average property with a decent location. I was a bit surprised to see that the housekeeping staff sets the TV's in the room to blare Spanish channels and novelas while they are cleaning. This is unacceptable if there is anyone in adjacent rooms trying to sleep.

Room Tip: On weekends, ask for a room on the third floor as far away from the elevator as possible if you want...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest-
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us via TripAdvisor. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and we will be sure to relay your comments on our breakfast service and housekeepers' practices to the team so we can ensure we are delivering the best possible experience for each of our guests. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction and we hope you will consider staying with us again so we might show you the quality service and amenities you deserve should you return to our area in the future. Thank you again for your input and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

LOUD is all I can say. When teenagers complain that they could not sleep I know it was loud. So if you want peace and quiet do not go that weekend. I am hoping our next stay is more peacefull. We did enjoy the fireplace and our morning cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest-
I’m so sorry for the noise you experienced from the local homecoming occurring during your stay. We work diligently with our staff to ensure our guests are respectful of each other, while still enjoying their stay and special occasion and we regret you experienced a noise level that made your stay unpleasant. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room amenities and our house coffee and hope you will give us another shot to provide the restful stay you deserve the next time you are in the area. We are eager to make your stay with us the best hotel experience possible and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for a family event this past weekend. The hotel is easy to get into and out of from Rte 1, it was nice and clean and the staff is very friendly and offered a smile.

We needed a crib for our daughter and found it already set up and ready for her; a great touch. The breakfast was pretty good and at a great price or $10 a person. It offered the usual breakfast offerings like yogurt, fruit, bagels as well as meats and starches but if you ask they will make omelletes, various eggs and pancakes. The eggs benedict was a tasty surprise! If you need room service the Applebees next-door provides room service. The pool was small put perfect for the family and the fitness room while small, it is functional.

We were concerned about the noise levels due to TA reviews but we noticed signs placed around the property to help prevent noise issues. We heard some noise from folks coming and going but nothing too horrible. Maybe some folks are just more considerate to others.

A very nice property that we will revisit.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank KBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest-
Thank you for sharing your feedback after visiting us at the Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square recently. We are glad to hear your stay was pleasant and the breakfast buffet was enjoyable! Our cooks here are pleased to honor guest requests such as Eggs Benedict, Poached Eggs and other items you may not find on menus. We at the Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square appreciate each guest and work to extend warm hospitality! We hope to have you with us again. Enjoy your holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were delighted to stay a couple of nights at this Hilton Garden Inn. The room was large, newly renovated and comfortable with a microfridge and a terrific shower (with good water pressure!). They had a pleasant lobby with a gas fireplace and a lovely cafe that served an awesome breakfast buffet- it was not included but when there were a couple of missteps with our room, they gave us breakfast. There were eggs prepared as you liked them, waffles and pancakes, fruit, hot cereal, cold cereal, breakfast meats and pastries - with a toaster and a microwave to warm things. Additionally, there were cookies served each and fruit available if we wanted it. The staff went out of their way to be helpful - no matter what the request - and we really appreciated it. We found Kennett Square to be a darling town with lots of restaurants and shops and its proximity to Longwood Gardens and the other Du Pont attractions, Nemours and Winterthur, a definite plus. Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kipellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest-
Thank you for visiting us at the Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square and sharing your feedback. We are pleased to hear your visit was enjoyable! Truly we are close to all of the terrific treasures that the Brandywine Valley offers, including the many fabulous DuPont gardens and estates. The breakfast here is a favorite with many guests and locals and we are glad you experienced that as well. We hope to host you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you want a nice hotel, where you CAN'T SLEEP, book this one now !!!

Looked at the reviews here on TA, as usual, for a good/closeby motel to Longwood Gardens. This is a little over a mile away. We love Hiltons in the past. My first Hilton stay was 40 years ago in Vegas.

Yes, it is newer, very clean, with friendly service. Nice room appointments with a large bathroom. Also a nice breakfast buffet for $10 each. Great coffee. You'll need a few cups too. I would normally would want to rate this a very good rating.

But the LOUD NOISES killed a needed sleep !!!! AWAKE ALMOST ALL NIGHT !!! The hotel is right on the highway. Road noise all night. Poor sound insulation through both the door & connecting door. Heard normal people doing normal things all night. Every door opening,closing, or slamming. Every hacking cough, every word spoken next door, and most talking all the way down the hallway. People out in the parking lot below too. We were in room 202. Luckily, only the linen closet on the other side. Also the cleaning smell was way over the top.

We would have gotten a more quiet sleep in our car !!!!!!

Hilton should have spent a few more bucks in sound insulation & better doors when they built the place.

We will return to Longwood Gardens soon for Xmas.
But never return to this LOUD place. ----------------Ken

Room Tip: Loud highway noise, & poor door insulation. Very noisy, equals no sleep !!!!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerseyBeachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest-
Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused you regarding the noise issues. Our entire staff here is committed to outstanding guest satisfaction and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter further. I can be reached at 610-444-9100. If not, thank you again for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
5.2 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
7.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square

Address: 815 East Baltimore Pike, Kennett Square, PA 19348-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kennett Square
Price Range: $141 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located less than one mile from Longwood Gardens and minutes from other Brandywine Valley Attractions and Wineries, the hotel features 92 guest rooms, with a mix of suites, two large meeting rooms, an indoor pool and whirlpool, on-site breakfast restaurant, fitness center, sundry convenience shop and large lobby. Several restaurants are within walking distance, including an Applebee's in the parking lot. All hotel rooms feature a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker, self-adjusting Garden Sleep System bed, complimentary wired and wireless internet access, along with remote printing to the business center. 37" LCD HDTV in all rooms with over 100 channels to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square Hotel Kennett Square
Hilton Kennett Square
Kennett Square Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing