We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Longwood Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kennett Square
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was traveling from Philly to this area to see Longwood Gardens. I wanted a hotel for one night that was close and this was a very good choice. It was around 2 miles from Longwood Gardens and the hotel itself is very comfortable. We got to the hotel early and it was full, so we had to wait until normal check-in time (3pm) to get into our room. They were nice enough to give us a late check-out. The front desk staff were so nice & helpful.

The room had a very nice king bed and was ohhh so comfortable, got a great nights sleep after all that walking in the cold at Longwood. There is free WIFI in the hotel and in the rooms. The room has a nice TV with a lot of channels, coffee maker with coffee/tea, an iron/ironing board, a radio alarm clock and Vaseline amenities in the bathroom (lotion, conditioner, & shampoo). There isn't a safe in the room.

The hotel offers a free daily breakfast which includes make your own waffles, cereals, muffins, microwave breakfast sandwiches, yogurt, and fruit. The room can get crowded but the manager was nice enough to open up a conference room for the overflow. The room serves as a nice lounge/sitting area the rest of the day and there is 24 hour coffee/tea there. There is a small pool and hot tub along with a fitness room. They also have a business center.

There isn't a restaurant in the hotel but there is fast food nearby and if you go 2-3 miles into town you will find some nice local restaurants. The front desk made some suggestions and printed out directions for us. We ate at the Half Moon Restaurant in town and it was very good, a little pricey but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeytravelerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFISKS_09, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

We really appreciate the time you spent on the detailed visit of your trip to the area. It's always great for us to hear about the amenities we offer at the property and more importantly what you did or did not enjoy. I am pleased you were able to visit the Half Moon, one of our local favorites. We thoroughly appreciate your comments about your interaction with our associates and look forward to your next visit to Kennett Square!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's eve looking for a quiet night out. I used a free night certificate to stay here since the normal rate was $129, a bit high IMO. However at least for the higher rates here you get an outstanding new hotel.

The lobby feels nothing like a Fairfield Inn, it's spacious, modern, and very colorful. Check-in was super easy and the front desk staff were very nice. I always note and love it when they honor my preferences of a high floor and away from elevator/ice and here they did just that. The hallways still look brand new, nice colorful walls/carpets. We had a room on the parking lot side, judging from some reviews I guess we lucked out, we never heard a thing.

The rooms still look very new. The bathroom was nice and had a big, nice countertop, nice shower with great water pressure, etc. If i had one complaint it would be that the room wasn't very big I guess. The LCD HDTV had about 45 channels, around a dozen in HD(including locals) and a funky "clean" remote. The bed was super comfortable. Thermostat could be for home use, fully programmable if you desire, or will just hold a certain temp as well. The HVAC drowned out any noise we would have heard, and the hotel was pretty quiet it being New Years eve.

This is a great new hotel with friendly staff and you do get a nice, new hotel for the slightly higher rates. Since it's only a cat 3 hotel, this is a great one to use free night certificates from the promos since the rates are well over $100. Longwood Gardens is super close and so is downtown Kennett Square and also any big box store you need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the parking lot side if you dont want highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed a Sunday night to visit Longwood Gardens. We had an early check-in, so a minimum of rooms were "ready". We were offered a room on the highway side of the hotel and we were informed that side was a lttle noisy from the traffic. We took the room anyway, being warned. The room had ear plugs (see photo) on the night stand. We laughed, because the traffic on the highway was sparse on that Sunday afternoon and the noise didn't appear to be a factor. We had a good night's sleep, but were gently awakened by the constant commuter "hum" of trucks & cars from the highway at around 7:00 am on Monday.
That said...the rest of our stay was fine. Just be warned...the hotel is in close proximity (100 feet, see photo) from the highway. If you're a light sleeper and want to sleep in...request a room on the opposite side of the highway. It's a good effort on the part of the hotel to offer ear plugs...but has anyone ever had a good night's sleep with ear plugs in? I never have!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEFFYG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

What began as a weekend in Philly turned into more, and we found ourselves staying in Kennett Square instead. This turned out to be a good decision! The staff was so very friendly and helpful. When they asked what brought us to the area I mentioned a birthday, and the next time we returned to the room we were greeted by candy & a card!

Our room was a king studio-I'd call it a mini-suite. Not the world's hugest room, but very well designed. Often suite designs close off the living area from the window, but this more open plan allowed more light to flow through, and the weather while we were there can only be described as dark & foggy! There were also lots of lights-you could keep things subdued or read in any area-and we DO love our good reading lights, especially in the bed! There is a good sized closet, and corners that would hold more luggage if needed. The "food area" (fridge, micro & coffeemaker) is in the passage between the bathroom & living room. The living & bedroom both have TV's, and the info book actually has a channel listing-I'm always amazed at how many places omit such a simple but useful thing!
Our room was on the Route 1 side that many have mentioned, we had no problem with noise, but earplugs are available if you are sensitive. Traffic on the weekend seemed lighter than on Monday, so that could make a difference too!
This is not a huge property, but everything feels like it is designed to scale & functional. We visited the pool/hot tub area & it was as very clean as the whole facility was.

Some visitors have expressed problems finding it-we didn't (...really) but it is a newer facility-I think it's been open 2-3 years, and I would have guessed it was even newer from it's appearance-so if you haven't updated your GPS recently (like us!) it doesn't seem to recognize the very last turns, but we just followed the signs & our eyes. OK, location-NOT optimal if you have tickets across the street from the playing of the Army/Navy game in Phila.! (still worth it-the WHO rocked!) But...Longwood Gardens is just up the street, and it's a great location to visit any number of places in SE PA.

We were very happy with our stay, any little glitches (and there are often little glitches!) were addressed more than quickly and more than graciously by the staff. We had a great weekend as tourists in our own state & would stay here again!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank goinmobile68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Room was clean and the temperature was controlled by a wall thermostat. The king bed had nice clean sheets with a comforter. The best thing about the stay was the free breakfast in the morning. They had a refrigerated display of different breakfast sandwiches and fresh milk. I've been in comparable hotels that serve free breakfasts and this was a pleasant addition. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying overnight after a long day exploring Longwood Gardens. The only negative is finding the exit off of Route 1 to get to the hotel. They should mark this exit as E. Baltimore Pike. The only sign said historic Kennett Square.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank bodine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Checked in on Wednesday around 2:30PM and our reservation was immediately honored. The staff at the front desk was always as friendly as could be. There were apples and copies of USA Today available at the desk as well as also coffee and tea in the breakfast room. Was assigned a handicap room (227) which was close to the two elevators. The room itself was large with the amply sized bathroom immediately to the right as you enter the room. Past the bathroom was a sitting area with a large flat screen TV with many HD stations, a couch and a lounge chair. The desk had a lamp and a desk chair. Further in was the comfortable king bed that faced an adequately sized flat screen TV that also had many HD stations. It rested on the dresser. The closet was large enough with enough wooden hangers.The room's windows, near the bed, faced the highway. The only noise came late at night from a few trucks but that did not interrupt sleep. Breakfast was fine with a juice machine, coffee and tea. There was yogurt and fruit cups in a small refrigerator. There was a choice of hot oatmeal or individual cereal boxes, including Kashi cereals. There were pastries, muffins and bagels as well. A great value.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise ask for a room that does not face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcs1Nyc_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for two weekend nights. The front desk staff was friendly, my room was clean and the decor was pleasant.

The breakfast area had a nice selection of fruit, breads (including microwave breakfast sandwiches and do-it-yourself Belgian waffles) and dairy, including Greek yogurt. Just keep an eye on the expiration dates on the yogurt cups--the first one that I picked up had been expired for about 10 days.

The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows and an extra blanket too. The heat worked well and the fan had an "On" setting so that it wasn't clicking on and off constantly with the heat, one of my pet peeves if I'm trying to sleep.

Since I was facing the parking lot, it was relatively quiet other than some noise in the middle of the night when a group of very boisterous people were out front smoking cigarettes by the front door and yelling to each other. Nothing you can do about that. Ditto for loud hotel doors slamming every 1/2 hour or so all night. I have rarely been in a hotel where that wasn't the case unless the place was empty.

The hotel gym was OK, two treadmills and an elliptical trainer. I took advantage of the deal that this hotel has with the local YMCA to give guests free admission to the Y during their stay. The Y has a nice indoor lap pool and an indoor track. Very nice.

I would certainly stay at this hotel again--it certainly seems like one of the better options in Kennett Square.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teefisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
641 reviews
2.9 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
394 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley

Address: 719 E Baltimore Pike, Kennett Square, PA 19348-2405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kennett Square
Price Range: $119 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in historic Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, experience small town friendliness during each stay! Enjoy a tour of Longwood Gardens in the Mushroom Capital of the World! Stroll downtown Kennett Square and visit our shops, galleries and dine in our local restaurants. Bring the family along and walk one of our famous trails including the historic Kennett Square walking tour or the Brandywine Valley Wine Trail. Schedule your visit around the annual Kennett Square Mushroom Festival in September or the Microbrew Festival in October. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square is within reach. We offer what you want including clean, comfortable guest rooms and friendly service. Enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast featuring Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, indoor pool and FREE high speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Kennett Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Hotel Kennett Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing