We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, inviting atmosphere”

Portabello's of Kennett Square
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of historic Kennett Square, Portabello's has something for everyone. Chef Owner, Brett Hulbert's menus offer tempting selections for lunch and dinner! Amazing burgers, artisan soups and sandwiches along with signature dishes which include, Firecracker Shrimp, Mushroom Crepes, Crispy Duck, Short Rib Stroganoff & Shellfish Fra diavolo! Come visit us...we look forward to cooking for you!
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, inviting atmosphere”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I had heard about this little gem. We were warmly greeted by the hostess and our waitress was great. The Clams Cape May were fresh and yummy. I would order this again! The lobster ravioli was fantastic. I could have licked the bowl. The stuffed veal was huge, tender; but unfortunately had an odd after taste. It tasted of freezer! I was disappointed; but everything else was just what I want in a neighborhood restaurant. It was cozy, friendly and tasty with people lingering over their dinner and wine with friends. I will go back eat ravioli and try one of the specials of the evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martgaffney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    80
    27
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for fresh cuisine”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a good meal there that hit the spot. A very fresh and inspired menu.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg
1 review
“Go Now, Go Often!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My husband has been here a few times for lunch, but wanted to try their dinner menu...for his birthday. It was my first time at the restaurant, and what a wonderful experience! The decor, ambiance, staff, and most especially, the food, were all divine! Portabello's is a food gem in Kennett! We will be back...soon!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Talented Chef”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The staff is very friendly and patient. When I mentioned that my kids had several food allergies, the chef came over to the table to discuss what they liked and what they could eat. Then he went back into the kitchen and whipped up a delicious pasta and chicken dish that was not only allergy friendly but that also tasted delicious! The dish was not on the menu so we were impressed with how quickly he came up with the idea for it, how great it looked and how it was perfectly seasoned. It was the best meal the kids have ever had at a restaurant!
The pasta dishes my husband and I ordered were good and the portions generous. The warm bread and dips that accompanied them also made a great start to our meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCM0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I travel from Baltimore to Kennett Square at least 6 times per year and usually eat at Talula's Table or Sovana Bistro. This past weekend I was searching T/A for info on Longwood Gardens food choices and found Portabello's. I read the reviews and decided to try it out for dinner. We were both impressed with every aspect of the visit. Our waitress Barbara couldn't have been any better. She was attentive without hovering over us too much. The menu has a wide variety, and there were 4 specials to choose from. They start you out with a bean dip and olive oil for your Italian Bread that was as good as any I have ever had. I had the lambchop special and my wife had the Shellfish Fra Diavolo. Both were excellent. Even though my lambchops were a tiny bit overcooked, I ordered medium and 2 of the 4 chops were medium well, the quality of the lamb made that error not matter. My wife's dish had a good size lobster tail that was of very good quality as were the shrimp, and the pasta underneath was cooked perfectly. We had the chocolate/brownie ice cream for desert that comes from La Michoacana Ice Cream down the street. The chef/owner and his wife took time at the end of our meal to check in with us to see how we liked everything. It was a perfect end to a great meal. Between the excellent staff, menu and ambiance we can't wait to try Portabello's again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabello's of Kennett Square also viewed

 
Kennett Square, PA
 

Been to Portabello's of Kennett Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing