We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay @ home, not much to see in town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice stay @ home, not much to see in town”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I loved the home...it was beautiful, spotless and comfortable. Gilja was very sweet and breakfast was nice.

I was a little disappointed in Kennett Square, nice quaint town, but not much to see...only a handful of shops and restaurants...I thought there was more. Luckily we were going to Longwood Gardens, which is only a few minutes away. I'm sure there are other things to see, museums, etc, but we weren't into that for this trip...just wanted a little christmas getaway to get in the spirit.

Room Tip: switched from delaware room to brandywine, only because i like to watch tv in bed and the delaware r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alii R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
68
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, NJ
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Thanks you for an excellent stay. The bed was extremely comfortable, the house lovely and interesting, the breakfast was amazing. The Longwood tour was beautiful with all the decorations and the fountain light show was great. The dinner gift certificate allowed us to have an excellent dinner at Kyoto's. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys sushi. Thank you again for a wonderful stay in you lovely home. Jim and Lisa, NJ.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had a pleasant stay at the Kennett House. I booked the Brandywine room without realizing that its private bath is in the hallway. It was fine because robes were supplied by Gilja, Very convenient to everything and walking distance to town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLTTFNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

My husband & I arrived at Kennett Square after travelling from Brussels where my husband had had his wallet stolen, which included his drivers license. Gilja was wonderful, couldn't have been more helpful & insisted on being our chauffer until a replacement license was received.
Gilja is like a friend & treats everyone as an honoured guest. Breakfasts were the highlight of our day, wonderfully arranged fresh fruit & everyday a different main dish all beautifully presented.
Kennett Square is central to many interesting attractions, including Winterthur, Longwood gardens & a little further afield the home of the Amish, Lancaster county.
Living in Australia, we may never get back to Pennsylvania, but if we do we will certainly be staying with Gilja again & would thoroughly recommend Kennett House for anyone wanting a special break.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevKalamunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville MD
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed for a weekend after a Friday evening wedding. Gilja was concerned about our arrival time and called us en route to make sure we would have time to change before the wedding. She is the ultimate B&B owner. Lovely rooms, spotless, large front porch. Breakfast was a delight each morning. The fresh fruit was beautifully presented and she gave us a little lesson on the fruit cutting at our table! Excellent location to Longwood Gardens, and other attractions. Sneak in a little time to stop at the Dansko outlet in the area if you are so inclined, too. We cannot wait to go back and explore the area further.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Our hostess, Gilja, runs a perfect B&B in this convenient location when visiting Longwood Gardens and the entire Brandywine area. The 1910 house is beautiful, inside and out, and provides a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are large and comfortable with excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is served at your convenience and is a truly full meal and beautifully prepared. I, personally, love this house with the large foyers, huge windows and extensive American chestnut moulding. This was our second visit at Kennett House and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruceliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend at the Kennett House B&B. Gilja is a terrific host and takes obvious pride in this most wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Our room was immaculate; air-conditioned, comfortable bed, cozy atmosphere, well stocked bathroom. This fantastic house was immaculate and very well kept. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. We loved our stay here; would definitely return and highly recommend Kennett House B&B to anyone looking for a weekend getaway in a charming little town - very near Longwood Gardens and Winterthur.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
585 reviews
7.0 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 503 W State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3028
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing