We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful site”

Hawk Mountain Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Kempton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 2,400-acre natural area that was the world's first refuge for raptors.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had fog on the way up the trail and that offered some great nature photo opportunities. The weather cleared a little and the views are great. Be ready to walk/climb on large rocks. Wear good shoes/hiking boots.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lhouleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    55
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great off-season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hawk mountain is much too crowded for my taste at peak migrating season so my husband and I like to go off season. We enjoy the hiking and when you get to the outlooks the views are so spectacular!

Helpful?
Thank MP_PhD1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“informative programs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

the migrations are neat to see from the ridges, but don't miss the programs that are put on. programs are very informative and generally interactive - the venue is small - so space may be limited - and it is a little 'out of the way' (trust your GPS!).....the speakers are very knowledgeable......we've been members for a long time.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BenSAllentown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful hiking and birding opportunity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place to hike and view beautiful rolling hills and valleys from up high. If you go at the right time, you'll of course see raptor migrations, which is what the place is known for.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CityCountryMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Beautiful if able to climb to top. With the help of my husband I was able to make climb but if you are physcially challenged stay at first lookout as this truly is not the best trail for those of you that have physical impairments. I have bilateral knee replacements with one giving me issues so it took me longer to get up top than most coming down was a bigger challenge the walkway down is a set of steps make out of boulders that are at LEAST 2 feet apart from each other with a rail to hold on thank goodness.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Casper222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawk Mountain Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Hawk Mountain Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing