We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Hawk Mountain B&B

Hawk Mountain B&B
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kempton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawk Mountain B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kempton
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Some family members and I went to Hawk Mountain for the raptor migration this October.
I choose this place to stay from the other reviews I found here on Trip Advisor. The man who runs the B&B is just delightful. He cooks breakfast every morning and there was always coffee and juice available no matter how early or late you got out of bed.
We stayed three nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. There is always cold beer on tap in the common room. We did need to find a place to watch the NFL on Sunday, as there is not great television reception there. We found an Italian place in Kutztown that was perfect.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone, it's terrific.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank RonnieSueBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 22 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

This B&B has about 10 rooms that can best be described as "spartan." However, the extremely lovely remote location and friendly host more than makes up for it. If you're looking for a peaceful place in the country with a pool to jump into after a long hike or bike ride or run, this is the place. If you're looking for antique furniture or richly appointed rooms don't stay here.

Jim is very friendly and helpful, but as other reviewers point out, he doesn't "hover." He'll make breakfast whenever you want it (unlike some places that have an appointed time for breakfast). Breakfast was simple but really tasty (bacon & eggs one day; sausage & blueberry pancakes the other).

Would probably have given 4 stars if it hadn't been the hottest day of the year, which made the breakfast / great room too warm to sit and read in during the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequentdiner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We couldn't believe how lovely this B&B was. Jim, the owner, is so nice and helpful, welcoming us into his home and happily answering all our questions and marking places of interest on a map. The B&B is situated in beautiful countryside, very close to Hawk Mountain (which is a must, the 1 mile walk to North Point is easy to do and a stunning piece of nature). The room was cosy and warm. Breakfast was very tasty. We wanted to stay another night, that's how welcome we felt. Thanks again Jim.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliainSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This place rocks! And is close to a rocky hiking sanctuary (Hawk Mountain Sanctuary) that will inspire you. Blood pressure drops by 20 just driving in this beautiful countryside. The owner is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area but does not "hover" around guests. The rooms are not glamorous but are well furnished and clean. During the summer, the pool is inviting after a nice hike and in the early fall, serves as a nice place to relax around. Love Jim's breakfasts - hearty and home made! A must stop for anyone who wants a nice escape!

Room Tip: All are great! The suites with the fireplaces are great in the winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Hawk Mountain B&B is a wonderful place to stay. Rooms are comfortable and clean; the common room offers a delightful place to have a cup of coffee or tea in front of a warm and inviting fire. Breakfasts, cooked by the owner, are hearty and relaxed. Very close to Hawk Mountain Sanctuary. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We just spent our 15th ( or so ) annual weekend at Hawk Mt. B&B, but who's counting!
The place keeps getting better and better. The rooms are somewhat small and practically furnished, but the setting right next to a stream more than makes up for the minor short commings.
The host, Jim Gafney, is knowledable and a big help in finding good food and entertainment. The B&B is about 8 miles from Hawk Mt. and close to many trails and vinyards! The AT crosses many local roads and it is well marked and used by day and through hikers.
Breakfast is served in the common room at two large communal tables. Eggs and bacon one day and pancakes and penna dutch sausage the next. At night, as it gets cooler, a fire is lit in the fire place and there is always a keg of beer in the cooler to encourage gests to congrigate!
2 hours from south Jersey and well worth the trip!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank epplehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

This is my second stay at Hawk Mountain B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed it again. The inn is very convenient to Hawk Mountain and is on a road that gets little traffic. Our room was a nice, well kept and up to date room. The pool and frog pond are sure to keep any children happy for your stay and we found Jim very hospitable and breakfast a nice treat to get us on our way. Our stay and accommodations were even better than my notes on this site from a year ago.

The hotel and grounds are very relaxing and for a break in the proverbial "middle of nowhere", I'd definitely recommend Hawk Mountain B&B.

Skyline Restaurant at the junction of I-78 is a plain diner style restaurant, but very inexpensive and well worth a stop if you need a meal close by. I'd go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank relambjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton
9.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hamburg
18.3 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
678 reviews
9 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Bear Creek Mountain Resort
10.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Allentown-Fogelsville
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Conference Center Lehigh Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Mountain B&B

Address: 221 Stony Run Valley Rd, Kempton, PA 19529-8747
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Kempton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kempton
Number of rooms: 221
Also Known As:
Hawk Mountain Bed And Breakfast
Hawk Mountain Hotel Kempton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing