We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed....”

Texas Hot Lunch / 4 Sons
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Kane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: The Texas Hot Lunch was established in 1914, and has been a family run business since 1928. We take great pride in providing the area with fast service and delicious food!We are open 7 days a week, 5:30am till 11:00pm, providing breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We serve our Famous Texas Hot - A plump, juicy hot dog with a squirt of mustard, sprinkled with onions, and smothered with our famous sauce, you wont find a better Hot Dog anywhere! Thinking of dinner, we have Roast Beef Sandwich, Fried Fish Dinner, Steak or Chicken Salad,or try our amazing Souvlaki Dinner. Or are you just hungry for desert, we have pies, soft serve ice cream, and sundaes!
Ludlow, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So disappointed....”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Texas Hot Lunch is a legend in this area (new to me...from Ct.) People here love it and go frequently! So when I went there for a hot dog, the soggy roll and mess that came with it was awful! The sauce had no discernable taste difference than a badly made Chile. Another visit for breakfast was also not great. Good service ...nice people!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Texas Hot Lunch / 4 Sons, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I'm sorry you were so disappointed with your visit. The Texas Hot Lunch has been in business since 1914 and the one product that has made us so successful is our Hot Dog. Our buns are not "soggy", they are steamed and the "mess that comes with it" is our famous Texas Hot Sauce. Unfortunately, if you did not grow up in the area there is a very slim chance you will not like our Hot Dogs. ;)
I personal messaged you concerning your complaint on our breakfast but never heard back. My offer still stands if you would like to contact me and explain the problem.
You're correct when you state we are a legend in the area, that is because we take great pride in what we do! Our customers deserve the best and that is what we strive for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good food - not gourmet, but worth the trip. Chicken was good, other entrees average. Will most likely return if in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMFlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We got lost on our way to Canada!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Your reviews are very helpful!!!! Thanks. Next time we will enjoy lunch with you. It was a beautiful drive and we stumbled upon your quaint town of Kane PA. Can't wait to return on our annual trip next year to your restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our traditional stop”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visit the area once a year and it has become a tradition to stop and get their famous Texas hot dogs. As of August of 2012 they were $1.50 each and well worth it. This is a favorite place with the locals and I see why. I know they are busy for lunch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedMapleRabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yearly Stop”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

With my father being born in Kane, we often visit the "historic" sites, the place where he was born, where cousins grew up and the great camping! Now my brothers started a tradition of going up to see Punxsutawney Phil every year and it never fails, they stop for lunch and place an order to go!! Always bring home enough for all of us!! The staff are the most hospitable and enjoyable people!! This is a must stop!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Hot Lunch / 4 Sons also viewed

 
Kane, McKean County
 

Been to Texas Hot Lunch / 4 Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing