We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mother's Day weekend trip”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We came to town to visit my mom for Mothers Day. Wanted to stay in Richland but no rooms on Friday Night. Chose this hotel. We had stayed here before and I don't recall any issues. This time we did. The place had a funny wet towel odor to it. The parking garage looked like it was ready to fall down. Several extended cab work vehicles were parked inside making it difficult to maneuver through. My daughter woke up Saturday morning with insect (flea) bites all over her legs. The worst of it was Sunday morning we came out of the lobby to find a dead rat in the driveway outside the door. We checked out that morning. It was not inexpensive either!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear J L,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown. I appreciate you taking time to post your review of our hotel. I must apologize to you for the experiences that you had with us. There are not enough words for me to express my sadness for the experience you had while staying with us. We do appreciate all reviews, even those that are negative. You can trust that your review has been received by management and the concerns you raised have been addressed. I can only hope that this encounter did not leave you with an overall bad impression with the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown. We certainly strive every day for 100% guest satisfaction. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again, and allow us to make up for the discontentment that you experienced during your last stay. If you would like to discuss further, you can contact me; my contact information can be found below. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Melissa R. Bird – Group Sales Manager
814-535-7777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    96
    45
    23
    13
See reviews for
69
38
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very good buffet, dinner service very slow, front desk problems, glad I was not paying. location ok , staff ok rooms older, no complete shades in room, conference rooms good. piano players at lunch, very nice touch would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear PeteJD,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown! We were thrilled to have you as a guest. Thank you also for taking time out of your busy day to post this review and share your feedback. Our management team truly does appreciate your thoughts. A helpful hint for next time – the rooms do have black-out shades behind the sheers in the windows. I’m happy to read that the buffet in our restaurant was delicious and the piano enjoyable. Our Italian buffet on Thursdays with our piano player is a true highlight of my Thursdays! Thank you again for visiting. Hope to see you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port huron
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very accommodating for our needs. The Beds were very comfortable! Front desk very friendly and helped with anything we needed. The air wasn't working and they were happy to fix it and give us a discount on our room! We would return to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neesharandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Neesharandy

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown and for sharing your feedback! We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback with us. I apologize you experienced some difficulties with the air, but am pleased our staff was able to remedy the situation to your pleasing. We hope to see you again in the future when you are in town! Enjoy a wonderful day and thank you again.

Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

To have quick and convenient walking access to the Cambria War Memorial Arena located in downtown Johnstown this hotel is a bit overpriced but it is the best choice in town. The rooms were comfortable for my three teenage family members and I that were in town for a quick one night stay for a concert at the arena. The room was clean and staff was helpful with directions and extra blankets and pillows for our room. The pool area was warm and clean with a whirlpool and sauna. Pool towels are at the front desk as locals that come to swim at the pool use all of the hand towels in the exercise area for their personal use.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J.S. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear J.S. J,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown and for sharing your feedback! We appreciate your honest opinion and your business very much. I hope you enjoyed the concert and come back to see us again soon! Thank you again!

Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Traveled to this hotel for business. It is located in the heart of downtown Johnstown. The rooms were large and clean. Walls are sound proofed well. I could not hear any noise for either the outside streets or other guest rooms. Front desk staff was prompt and courteous. I got there well before check-in time, and they allowed me to check in mid-morning for the nights stay. The only drawback is they serve breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it could easily add $10+ to your nightly expense of staying there. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWM4739XY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear DavidWM4739XY,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We appreciate your honest opinion and your business very much. The Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown takes pride in providing 100% guest satisfaction every day. It is through the feedback of our valued customers that we can perfect future guest experiences. Thank you again for taking time out of your day to help us make the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown one of the great hotels guests love!
I hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa Bird - Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night while attending a wrestling tournament at the Cambria War Memorial venue. Our room was ready, so the front desk gave us our room hours before check-in. Knowing that our belongings were stowed in our room instead of our car and that we could just relax after a long day of matches was a huge relief. The room was clean and quiet (626 at the end of the hall). We were able to walk back and forth from the arena during breaks which was incredibly convenient. We had room service one night-good food that came quickly. We had lunch in the restaurant the following day, and again the food was tasty. The prices did not seem higher than any other hotel restaurant. The forecasters were calling for an icy mess so we thought we'd better leave a night early rather than resting and taking the trip in the morning when it was expected to start. The front desk was very accommodating and reduced our bill to just the one night instead of the two we had booked. The parking garage was just across the parking lot, so we never had to move our car and it was protected from the winter weather. The next time we visit the War Memorial, we will look here first for our stay.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor at the end of the hall (626 I think). It was quiet and perfect for sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear J G,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We greatly appreciate your business, as well as the time it took to post your feedback. Everyone here values your thoughts. I’m so happy to read you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs while you were in town. Please come back and see us again soon – there are plenty of activities in Johnstown to enjoy anytime of the year. We’d love to be your host! Thanks again and hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager
www.holidayinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for a hockey tournament in February, 2014. The hotel was very nice, clean and staff was helpful and attentive. Free internet was available and the rooms had a good sized fridge and microwave. The Hotel is just a few blocks from the Cambria County War Memorial Arena, home of the Johnstown Tomahawks. The restaurant was nice, but was quickly overwhelmed when the hockey families all came down for breakfast an hour and a half before their game at CCWM. (There is apparently a buffet on the weekends that would have been quicker, but it was not offered on President's Day). They did offer "Kids Eat Free" and that was nice on the bottom line.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeFamily96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear BuckeyeFamily96,

Thank you for visiting us at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We loved having you as a guest. Thanks for taking the time to post this review, too. Our management and staff value our guests’ feedback. I’m hope your hockey team did well at the President’s Day Hockey Tournament and that you will be back next year. Hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Melisa Bird – Group Sales Manager
johnstown-dwtn.holiday-inn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnstown
Hampton Inn Johnstown
#1 of 7 in Johnstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Johnstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Johnstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Ebensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ramada Ligonier
Ramada Ligonier
#1 of 1 in Ligonier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Blairsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Address: 250 Market St, Johnstown, PA 15901-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Route 56 in downtown, the recently renovated Holiday Inn Johnstown-Downtown provides the surroundings and hospitality to make your stay a memorable one. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck offers a casual atmosphere and delectable menu of classic American & Italian cuisines. Enjoy a favorite drink and snack in Harrigan's Lounge. 159 Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites feature amenities including an in-room microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and full-size ironing board. The Holiday Inn offers a heated indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Johnstown Holiday Inn is conveniently located to: Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center, Cambria County War Memorial, Greater Johnstown Technology Park, Johnstown Flood Museum, Incline Plane and the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. Close proximity to DRS Laurel Technologies, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and Memorial Medical Center. Our experienced staff will go the distance with a 3,519 square feet Crown Ballroom of function space for banquets, receptions and meetings for groups up to 350. Four distinctive meeting rooms, catering services, and A\V equipment are available. The Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel. The Conference Center has 31,895 square feet of available space, which can accommodate many large groups visiting the Johnstown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing