We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Killeen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Right Downtown”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Well, costs 5.00 to park and you are already paying for a room. Rooms were alright but very low ceilings. The night I was there a boiler/water heater blew out so it was a hot mess for awhile. There are several eating establishments within walking distance and would stay here again all things considered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toobratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Toobratty,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business and review very much. I’m happy to read that you would stay with us again – we would love to have you back as our guest. I hope you got to eat at our on-site restaurant and lounge, Harrigan’s Café and Wine Deck, in addition to the other eateries in the area. We do charge a very nominal parking fee in order to upkeep the parking lot and garage our guests enjoy every day. The boiler has been fixed since your stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Regards,
MBird
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    99
    48
    24
    13
See reviews for
75
39
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I love staying here and it has been often lately. My only complaint is the $5.00 per day parking fee to park at the hotel which I am already paying to stay there.
Also,the female bartender who apparently knows most patrons needs to pay equal attention to all. All the women at the front desk and housekeeping go out of there way to be friendly, helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cw926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear cw926,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown and for posting this review. We greatly value our guests’ feedback and the time it takes to post. Thank you for your repeat business. In order to upkeep our secure parking lot and garage that our guests love, we do have a nominal parking fee. We do look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Have a great summer!

Warmest Regards,
MBird
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

have stayed here many times over the years when coming to visit family. very nice all around. pool is great and not to chlorinennie. this is the first time we have had to pay a parking fee though. if you know your plans ahead of time book early because it will fill up fast. very near to the Inclined Plane.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Diana H,

Thank you for staying with us again at the Holiday Inn Downtown – we are truly honored that you continually choose to make our hotel part of your vacation while visiting your family. We love our returning guests and greatly value their feedback! We hope you had fun visiting and were able to enjoy all the culture and history Johnstown offers. In order to upkeep our secure and ample parking lot/garage that our guests enjoy, we do have a minimal parking fee. Thank you again for your business and kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
MBird
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night, attended a wedding at nearby convention center, which was in walking distance from the hotel. Thank god, because there didn't appear to be many places to park in downtown Johnstown. Check-in was smooth, included complimentary water and snack. Room was clean, had a nice view of the incline. Didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Impromptu after-wedding party was in the bar on the ground floor. Two bartenders handled the crowd pretty well. Check-out was done automatically, didn't have any issues. One thing I noticed was a strong chlorine smell throughout the first floor lobby area. I'm guessing it came from the pool area. Bottom line, I'd stay here again if I'm back in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jam2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear jam2016,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown! We greatly value your feedback, as well as your business. Congratulations to your friends that got married – hope the wedding was fun. I’m glad to read that you enjoyed the time spent in your room and our check-in process was smooth. We hope you will come back to town and stay with us again. Hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
MBird, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

overall great stay, and nice staff, rooms clean, could use a little updating in the rooms but all in all would stay they anytime!! the food in the rest was great and tasted awesome. with a bike rally going on the staff did amazing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngryBirdMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear AngryBirdMSP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're happy to read you enjoyed your stay so much! We hope you come back and see us soon. Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here about 4 years ago, and we're happy when we booked on Hotwire and this hotel came up as our assigned one. Hotel is clean and beautiful. We ate dinner at the attached restaurant, and the waitress went above and beyond to be kind to our toddler son and bring him things he'd like.

The hotel is in downtown Johnstown and just minutes away from historic sites relating to the 1889 flood, which was the point of our visit.

The only downside was the $5/night parking fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mary G,

Thank you for returning to Johnstown and the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! I am thrilled you took a trip to see us and to learn about the 1889 Johnstown Flood. It is through positive reinforcement like your review that assures us that we are making a difference in the lives of our guests. I appreciate you taking the extra time out of your day to provide us with your feedback. I’m happy to read your waitress went above and beyond in Harrigan’s Café & Wine Deck – our staff is trained to ensure every guest, no matter the age, enjoys a fantastic visit in both our hotel and restaurant. In order to upkeep our secure and ample parking lot/garage that guests enjoy, we do have a minimal parking fee. Thank you again for your business and kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

MBird, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this property. It was also the second time we asked for, and received, a room which afforded us a view of the Incline...nice!

The hallway outside our room was very dirty and appeared not to have been vacuumed in some time. That was off-putting; however, once inside, our room was clean and the beds were comfortable and included an assortment of pillows for that perfect "fit." The bathroom showed signs of wear, but the rest of the room was in great shape.

We chose to eat at Harrigan's inside the hotel. Unfortunately, our waitress seemed to be in an ill humor and wasn't particularly friendly. My wife's turkey burger arrived nearly completely raw and had to be sent back. That being said, the food was tasty once fully-cooked.

We decided to try the gelato and that proved to be a mistake...not because of taste (it was delicious) but because of the serving size in relation to price. We both received what amounted to half a scoop and the cost was $6.50 each! We literally paid $13.00 for what amounted to a single scoop of gelato. That was criminal.

Finally, our waitress gave us someone else's check which resulted in a bit of confusion to finish things off. Still, I realize anyone can have a bad day, so I'll give her the benefit of the doubt...

This property is located close enough to walk to the Incline, though the neighborhood one must pass through seems a bit questionable so do keep alert...but don't let it stop you from enjoying a nighttime ride on the Incline for spectacular views of downtown Johnstown.

Overall, this Holiday Inn is a nice place to stay. The lobby is exceptionally well done and the desk staff is very pleasant, friendly and professional. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Incline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cemetery_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Cemetery_Man,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review of the Holiday Inn Downtown. We do value your feedback. I’m very pleased to read that your room location request was accommodated by our front desk staff and that they were very friendly! Our staffs are trained to be friendly and professional with our guests and I’m thrilled to see that was the case with your stay. Glad you also enjoyed the variety of pillows offered. A great hotel bed can certainly enhance your travel experience! I apologize for the condition in which you found our hallway – I am sharing your comments with our housekeeping manager to ensure we are paying extra attention to our hallways. I’m glad to read your room was in proper order, as expected, when you choose our Holiday Inn. Thank you for choosing to eat at Harrigan’s Café and Wine Deck. We know there a number of eateries downtown from which to choose, and we love that you stayed with us to dine! I am disappointed to read of your service – these comments will also be passed along to our Harrigan’s manager and chef to be improved upon. And yes, you are correct that a nighttime ride on the Inclined Place sure does give a spectacular view of Downtown Johnstown. I love to go in the winter to see all the snow we have!

Thank you again for your review. We do hope you with choose to stay with us on your next trip to Johnstown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnstown
Hampton Inn Johnstown
#1 of 7 in Johnstown
399 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Johnstown
120 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Johnstown
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Ebensburg
105 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ramada Ligonier
Ramada Ligonier
#1 of 1 in Ligonier
666 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Blairsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Address: 250 Market St, Johnstown, PA 15901-2911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Route 56 in downtown, the recently renovated Holiday Inn Johnstown-Downtown provides the surroundings and hospitality to make your stay a memorable one. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck offers a casual atmosphere and delectable menu of classic American & Italian cuisines. Enjoy a favorite drink and snack in Harrigan's Lounge. 159 Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites feature amenities including an in-room microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and full-size ironing board. The Holiday Inn offers a heated indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Johnstown Holiday Inn is conveniently located to: Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center, Cambria County War Memorial, Greater Johnstown Technology Park, Johnstown Flood Museum, Incline Plane and the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. Close proximity to DRS Laurel Technologies, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and Memorial Medical Center. Our experienced staff will go the distance with a 3,519 square feet Crown Ballroom of function space for banquets, receptions and meetings for groups up to 350. Four distinctive meeting rooms, catering services, and A\V equipment are available. The Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel. The Conference Center has 31,895 square feet of available space, which can accommodate many large groups visiting the Johnstown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing