We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was located in downtown Johnstown, but were very impressed with the hotel itself. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful - and look like new. The restaurant food was great. We normally don't eat in hotel restaurants but arrived after a long day in the car and didn't want to go out again. The rooms were well decorated and very clean and comfortable. The only downside to the hotel was that there is not really much around it downtown to walk to. The Inclined Plane is a few blocks away as is the Flood Museum and War Memorial but the area otherwise is a little too quiet for walking around in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turnturnturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for noticing the recent remodel of our hotel! In 2011 we underwent an extensive $2 million top-to-bottom renovation and are very proud of the beautiful property we have to offer! I will be sure to pass your kind words along to the restaurant/kitchen staffs as well as the housekeepers for a job well done. We are within walking distance of a variety of area attractions you listed such as the War Memorial and the Incline Plane, as well as restaurants and other businesses. Next time you are in the area please inquire to the front desk staff about things nearby to do. We would love to assist you in any way we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    96
    44
    22
    13
See reviews for
68
37
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Pretty good overall. Good service (great recpetionist, very helpful), nice staff and ok /clean accomodation. It wasn't as bad as i anticipated, so i really was pleasantly surprised.
The restaurant was nice too and judging by the international presence of their guests, it must be spoken about outside of the country.
The pool is nice and welcome after a day in the heat.
A few foreign channels would still be a plus, especially if you drag such an international clientele. (french channels at least, canada is around the corner)
All good really. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel. I enjoyed my stay so much when I came through town last year, I couldn't wait to stay here again. The facility is fairly modern and very clean and well maintained. I think my stay got off on a bad start when i realized that they assigned me the room that was next to the elevator shaft. (as a platinum priority club member I, on occasion, get a room upgrade even if it is as simple as not being on the elevator wall) My sink and toilet shared a wall with the elevator. The sink countertop shook every time an elevator went by. At night I could hear the elevator most of the night and then again in the early AM. Small details were also ignored(i.e. there were two clocks in the room, the microwave was 10 minutes fast and the alarm clock was 3 hours fast). At breakfast the room wasn't full but the staff seemed overwhelmed. The hostess sat us and asked for a drink order. My son ordered hot chocolate which is usually served in a mug with whipped cream. She came back with warmed chocolate milk served in a clear pint glass(like the ones they serve beer in) with no handle. When i asked, she said that was how it is served. She then forgot to send a waitress over to take our order. The bartender Lori was a bright spot though. She is very professional and funny and I notice her give very personal attention to each of the patrons that were there. An absolute pleasure!
The location is great, walking distance from the Johnstown flood museum, Johnstown's incline plane, and the quaint town park. What a great small town feel! Overall I'd definately recommend this place. Everyone has a bad day now and then but hopefully management continues to strive to be the best!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust-itis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the majority your time with us. I apologize for the elevator noise that you experienced and the issues that you had in the restaurant however. I will certainly pass along your feedback and we will do our best to get these issues worked out. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. It is honest feedback like yours that helps us make our hotel property the best that it can be. Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere on a lumpy mattress
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Not having frequented a full-service Holiday Inn in a very long time, I'd be hard-pressed to tell you if the Holiday Inn Johnstown-Downtown is average or above-average for the chain, but I can say it was a pleasant stay.

The facility is well-maintained, friendly, and mercifully smoke-free, with abundant on-site parking ($3/day). Rooms feature free, reliable high-speed internet and a nice flatscreen TV with dozens of channels. The bed includes clearly-marked soft and hard pillows and is a good night's sleep. Climate control is via one of those in-the-wall units that's a bit on the noisy side and blows right on you if you sit at the desk. The bathroom is spartan, with the dinkiest of soaps and shampoo, but very generous with the towels. There is no in-room safe. Curiously, there don't seem to be any “Do Not Disturb” signs anywhere in the hotel, at least on my floor; if you're a late sleeper I suggest you bring your own.

Downstairs is the oddly-named Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck, a thoroughly passable hotel restaurant; just stick to the basics and don't get adventurous and you'll be fine here. Aside from a nearby Subway shop, the three worthwhile dining establishments within walking distance are Gallina's Pizza & Restaurant, serving a really good pizza and hearty Italian entrees; Em's Original Sub Shop, with some excellent grinders and homemade snacks; and Scott's By Dam, a tidy little bar that serves meatloaf and the like but is locally renown for its gigantic (yet oddly bland) tacos. Oh, and this is the middle of fracking country; drink bottled water.

If you have business in downtown Johnstown, this is the place to stay. Just make sure your business is actually downtown...a lot of what's called Johnstown has moved up the hill into the suburbs, not an inconsiderable drive (and a nearly impossible-to-score taxi) away.

P.S.: There's a sidewalk cafe on the ground floor, in the front, that can be pretty noisy on warm summer nights. You can avoid the commotion by asking for a high-numbered room, which sit on the other end of the building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homesick_and_grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It sounds as though you were really able to experience a little bit of Johnstown while you were with us! It is great to know that you were able to frequent our restaurant Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck as well. I hope you will be back to visit us again soon! Enjoy the rest of your summer :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I had originally booked another hotel in the area. Upon reading the reviews, I decided to stay elsewhere. We are so very happy that we did. This hotel was surprisingly wonderful. The entire staff was friendly and extremely accomodating. Our room was very clean and well appointed. The lobby was comfortable and inviting. Very convenient parking.

They have a wonderful restaurant. The food was good, the atmosphere was wonderful! Maybe a bit overpriced for some travelers ( dinners going up into the $30 range), but we enjoyed it. I can't say enough about the staff. From the hostess to the manager. Very warm and friendly. It also had an adjoining bar, with an imressive wine list.

They had a very nice pool, hot tub, gym and sauna. Everything appeared to be very clean and well kept. Truly a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellerenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on our property! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! I hope you have a great summer and will return to see us again soon! Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here on a busy thursday night. There was some sort of religious convention in town so the place was packed! We checked in pretty late and checked out pretty early so it was only a quick stop but we enjoyed the time we did spend. The pool area was very nice! Very large i did not expect it to be that big and they had a sauna which you dont see too often. The whole hotel is newly renovated and they only way i could even tell it was an old hotel was the doors to the room. The rooms themselves were a decent size. We had 2 adults and 2 kids and were not cramped at all. Beds were very comfterble. I would reccomend to anyone visiting the Johnstown area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAmommyof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
PAmommyof1,
Thanks for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. I hope that next time you are in the Johnstown area, you will stop back to say hello and will be able to spend some more time with us! Have a great summer :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn - Downtown Johnstown (PA) at 250 Market Street. What a horrible stay.

Let me first say that in prior years, I have stayed there many times, with great success. Not so this time. Absolutely horrible. We were billed incorrectly, they charged us for 2 vehicles, when I specifically said we only had one (we booked 2 connecting rooms, since we have small children).

The restaurant food was greasy, and made my husband and I ill. We ordered takeout from Harrigans, and my husband had to go back three times because of mistakes on the order. THREE TIMES. They didn't include forks, knives or spoons. They forgot the children's milk. They didn't put salad dressing in my husband's salad. They didn't fully remove the shells from my shrimp Caesar salad. Part of it was removed - I never knew what I was going to get when I bit into it. The greens were limp, and not fresh. The noodles on my husband's Asian salad were dripping in grease, and therefore dripping onto his (limp) salad greens.

Don't even get me started on our rooms' cleanliness.

We were there for a family wedding, and had posted the "come back soon" sign on our door - our children's room was already serviced. I saw a maid down the hall, and asked her if it were possible for them to come back in a little while. She was very rude - blew me off - told me flat out "I don't do that room - it's not my job". Didn't point me to the correct maid, even though there were other cleaning carts in the vicinity.

I went back to the room, and started getting the children ready for the wedding. My husband came back from his third visit to the restaurant, and brought in a sign from the maid saying that our room would not be serviced, even though we had the come back soon sign. I had to call the front desk, and advise them what happened. They told me someone would be there to clean within the 1/2 hour- fine - great.

We came back late that night after the wedding to find that our beds were barely made - all she did was pull up the sheets, whereas our children had brand new linens, tucked in sheets, etc, the bathroom had not been cleaned - all the maid did was put in a few new towels, and take out the trash. The floor was dirty, and had not been vacuumed.

During the night, there were people running up and down the halls partying - at 1am! I told the front desk staff when I checked out that morning, and not even an apology!!!

The next morning was check-out. While packing up things, we checked under the beds as we normally do, to ensure we had all the children's toys. How disgusting. Bottle caps, a box of old crackers, sippy cups, crumbs, tissues, etc. Repulsive.

I am SO disgusted. Had I known the room was THAT dirty, we never would have stayed in this hotel. It makes me wonder about bedbugs, dirty sheets/pillows. As it is - we will never stay in the Holiday Inn - Downtown Johnstown hotel again. I am so upset, so disappointed. I have stayed there many times, for many years without a problem - this was disgusting, degrading, offensive, unhealthy, unsanitary. Not again.

So far, I have emailed the general manager, as well as Priority Club, and heard nothing from the gm. Just makes me even angrier.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJlovesVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I would like to apologize for the service that you received from the staff at Harrigan's, the Kitchen staff, and our Housekeeping staff members. A great guest experience should be top priority, and I assure you that is how our teams are trained, despite your recent encounter.
Because of your experience though, we have scheduled a Management meeting to discuss where we went wrong with putting the customer first and how we can change our shortcomings in the future.

I hope that you do not let this experience tarnish your faith in us. We take our customer reviews very seriously and really use them to better ourselves in the future. Because of your willingness to share your thoughts, the staff at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown can only get better from here. I hope that you will remember all of the times that you stayed with us in the past with out incident and give us another opportunity to win you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johnstown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnstown
Hampton Inn Johnstown
#1 of 7 in Johnstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#5 of 7 in Johnstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 7 in Johnstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Ebensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ramada Ligonier
Ramada Ligonier
#1 of 1 in Ligonier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Blairsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Address: 250 Market St., Johnstown, PA 15901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Route 56 in downtown, the recently renovated Holiday Inn Johnstown-Downtown provides the surroundings and hospitality to make your stay a memorable one. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck offers a casual atmosphere and delectable menu of classic American & Italian cuisines. Enjoy a favorite drink and snack in Harrigan's Lounge. 159 Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites feature amenities including an in-room microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and full-size ironing board. The Holiday Inn offers a heated indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Johnstown Holiday Inn is conveniently located to: Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center, Cambria County War Memorial, Greater Johnstown Technology Park, Johnstown Flood Museum, Incline Plane and the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. Close proximity to DRS Laurel Technologies, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and Memorial Medical Center. Our experienced staff will go the distance with a 3,519 square feet Crown Ballroom of function space for banquets, receptions and meetings for groups up to 350. Four distinctive meeting rooms, catering services, and A\V equipment are available. The Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel. The Conference Center has 31,895 square feet of available space, which can accommodate many large groups visiting the Johnstown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing