We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not even close, the best restaurant in the area.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Door Cafe

Back Door Cafe
Ranked #5 of 171 Restaurants in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Portage, PA USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not even close, the best restaurant in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Drinks are great. Food is wonderful and the atmosphere is sophisticated and intimate. Never had a bad experience and eat here when I can. I always order the soup. There are several entree's that I favor. Quality is always foremost. Yummmm!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alibe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great find in Flood City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited based on the online reviews. Our appetizer was the shrimp, cheese, and hungary pepper puff pastry pizza. Very tasty, but needed some seasoning. The handmade pasta dinner was also good, but the noodles were over cooked and not drained well. We got the impression that the regular chef wasn't in the kitchen, so not sure what to make of the meals. Drink list is extensive. We might go back if we're in the area, but I'd be hoping for better seasoned dishes. The staff are really nice. Very courteous and able to assist with menu suggestions. Atmosphere was low key, something you'd find in a more metropolitan area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pittiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Try it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very cozy place, lots of drink options. The food is really great compared to what else is in the area. You can tell they really care about food. Next time I'm in Johnstown, I'll be there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SFTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“completely unexpected kind of wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

there are probably all kinds of small places to grab a decent bite in Johnstown, but, there are probably very few that have the ambition to match the kind of cuisine one would think only be found in major metros with enough foodies to care about quality seasonal ingredients. this is the kind of place one would hope to have at home in their own neighborhood. it was nearly impossible to resist ordering any of the delightful sounding specials, but we wanted to see how good regular menu items were - crepes, soups, salads, pizzas and the like. all exceeded expectations. there was also a nicely curated cocktail menu. the men's bathroom is a must see for those interested in historical representations of women. I was told the women's bathroom has an equally unique decorative style.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HistorianOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, caters to loyal locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I eat here when I'm in town on business, usually with at least one local. The food is great, the atmosphere is cozy and grown up with a little whimsy. Find a local who is known to the staff, and bring them along. An otherwise cool/professional interaction becomes intimate and inventive. Ask for recommendations and try them!!! Worlds best mushroom soup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 54Boomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Door Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Back Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing